Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Queens, NY

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kappa Vi 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a teacher
Kappa VI is a stifling environment for both the staff and students like. Students have no opportunity to mature there as they are given no chance to take responsibility for their learning. Outward appearance is of big concern and the administration will ensure that grades are boosted, students retake the same tests multiple times to ensure they pass and the dean's ideas for discipline are simply outdated and ineffective. While most students do behave, those who are consistently out of line have been that way for the three years they have been at Kappa because there are no new strategies used to deal with them. Additionally, IEP requirements are often not met and the teacher turn over rate is very high. Kappa VI will be going into the 2014-2015 school year with only five teachers from the previous school year.

Kappa Vi 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a community member
Very good school but has a bunch of rules the teachers are nice and they never give up when a cadet doesn't understand anything


Kappa Vi 5

Posted July 14, 2012
- a community member
Kappa vi is a great school,its curriculum pushes the students to try their best and the teachers are amazing and treat the kids like their ow and I should know since I just graduated. There are many friendly faces in the school and everyone knows everyone which is a good thing. Love this school and now moving on to Brooklyn technical high school thanks to it.

Kappa Vi 2

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
I thought that KAPPA was a great school at first until my son actually began attending the school. The curriculum is too difficult and the teachers do not seem to understand that students will have a difficult time learning topics that are not developmentally appropriate. The principal is very very very rude and yelled and stormed out of a meeting TWICE when trying to discuss issues relating to my son. The teachers have NO IDEA about IEPs or special needs students and do not work with parents. Teachers have been disrespectful and yelled at my son for not understanding the work, focusing, or working faster and they are well aware of his disabiltiy. The teachers are very unwilling to work with parents and seem to feel as if "It's my way or the highway" There is also a HIGH turnover rate, 7 teachers left since last year alone. I would not suggest this school to any parent with a child that has an IEP or any parent that demands their child be treated fairly.
1 person found this helpful

Kappa Vi 1

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
As a proud parent , im searching for a school for my daughter and reading the reviews i've received mixed messages and i have a very smart daughter and is looking for the right school for her to further her jhs education. There was a comment that concerned me saying the teachers are not reliable and its very disturbing.


Kappa Vi 0
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
this school is an excellent school. This is my last year and i am going to miss it very much, the circriculam, the professors and their programs. They have the best education as a middle school .They will keep you in line and help you become a better person. I will consider this school to be a spealized middle school. If you want your child to be successful in life start it by sending them to kappavi. i even wish they had a Kappa VI high school.

Kappa Vi 2

Posted January 19, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kappa Vi 4

Posted November 22, 2009
- a student
i like this school but i feel like it has a lot of bullieng between the 6th graders and 8th graders


Kappa Vi 5

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
I like this school and the professors teach excellent

Kappa Vi 0
no rating

Posted May 08, 2009
- a community member
Kappa VI is a punative and stifling 'learning' environment. It's leadership kills the love of exploration in students, and strangles teacher creativity.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kappa Vi
8-21 Bay 25th Street, Queens, NY  11691
(718) 471-6934
Last modified Kappa Vi is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Kappa Vi Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top