Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kappa Vi 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
The school is a whole lot better than it's rated. The principal and AP's care about each cadet. Every staff know each child my name and have several meeting during the year with the administration to discuss the students progress. My child pass 3 regent exams in the 8th grade. I highly recommend the school. The con about the school is the location, however administration/ staff make security a priority and keep KAPPA student separate from the other schools and the neighborhood.

Kappa Vi
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Everyone in the school is held accountable in action and results, staff and administration included.


Kappa Vi 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a teacher
Kappa VI is a stifling environment for both the staff and students like. Students have no opportunity to mature there as they are given no chance to take responsibility for their learning. Outward appearance is of big concern and the administration will ensure that grades are boosted, students retake the same tests multiple times to ensure they pass and the dean's ideas for discipline are simply outdated and ineffective. While most students do behave, those who are consistently out of line have been that way for the three years they have been at Kappa because there are no new strategies used to deal with them. Additionally, IEP requirements are often not met and the teacher turn over rate is very high. Kappa VI will be going into the 2014-2015 school year with only five teachers from the previous school year.

Kappa Vi 4

Posted August 05, 2014
- a community member
Very good school but has a bunch of rules the teachers are nice and they never give up when a cadet doesn't understand anything

Kappa Vi 5

Posted July 14, 2012
- a community member
Kappa vi is a great school,its curriculum pushes the students to try their best and the teachers are amazing and treat the kids like their ow and I should know since I just graduated. There are many friendly faces in the school and everyone knows everyone which is a good thing. Love this school and now moving on to Brooklyn technical high school thanks to it.


Kappa Vi 2

Posted June 14, 2012
- a parent
I thought that KAPPA was a great school at first until my son actually began attending the school. The curriculum is too difficult and the teachers do not seem to understand that students will have a difficult time learning topics that are not developmentally appropriate. The principal is very very very rude and yelled and stormed out of a meeting TWICE when trying to discuss issues relating to my son. The teachers have NO IDEA about IEPs or special needs students and do not work with parents. Teachers have been disrespectful and yelled at my son for not understanding the work, focusing, or working faster and they are well aware of his disabiltiy. The teachers are very unwilling to work with parents and seem to feel as if "It's my way or the highway" There is also a HIGH turnover rate, 7 teachers left since last year alone. I would not suggest this school to any parent with a child that has an IEP or any parent that demands their child be treated fairly.

Kappa Vi 1

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
As a proud parent , im searching for a school for my daughter and reading the reviews i've received mixed messages and i have a very smart daughter and is looking for the right school for her to further her jhs education. There was a comment that concerned me saying the teachers are not reliable and its very disturbing.

Kappa Vi
no rating

Posted April 23, 2010
- a student
this school is an excellent school. This is my last year and i am going to miss it very much, the circriculam, the professors and their programs. They have the best education as a middle school .They will keep you in line and help you become a better person. I will consider this school to be a spealized middle school. If you want your child to be successful in life start it by sending them to kappavi. i even wish they had a Kappa VI high school.


Kappa Vi 4

Posted November 22, 2009
- a student
i like this school but i feel like it has a lot of bullieng between the 6th graders and 8th graders

Kappa Vi 5

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
I like this school and the professors teach excellent

Nearby schools

Kappa Vi
8-21 Bay 25th Street, Queens, NY  11691
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (718) 471-6934
Last modified Kappa Vi is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top