Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 90 Horace Mann

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 878 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

omg , I miss PS.90 sooo much ! I miss all the teachers I had. I remember Ms. Decristino , Ms. Ammarati , Ms. Sabia , and Mrs. Talia ! I miss them all very much. I did very well on their class as well. I can't wait to go visit them. 2008-2012


Posted December 20, 2013

pretty good school considering the neightborhood is a wreck. The principal Ms. Ubertini is very good. She knows every student by name and really cares. She works long hours. My experience with the teachers has been good too. I am a PTA mother. I feel my daughter is getting a good education at this school. I just wish the school was on a better block. The streets are small and picking up my child is sometimes a chore dodging the school buses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

P.S. 90 and I had Mr. Zimler as my 5ht and 6th grade teacher in 1963 and 1964. He was the best teacher I ever had. I learned more in the two years with him than I did in college. I have a B.A. in English and two Masters. His teaching and the discipline I acquired in has class was the foundation for all my future education!


Posted August 26, 2013

One of the fondest memories of going to PS 90 was my sixth grade teacher . He was a very caring and interested teacher. On my final report card he gave me some good advice which I should have listened to then back in the 1970's .


Posted August 22, 2013

I attended this school as a kid and now my own daughter is attending as well as our two foster children. They love this school because it's very diverse and there are cultural events to celebrate and learn each others customs. I am a PTA mom and bake cupcakes for the fundraisers whenever I can. The school bathrooms are old and could use some updating. There are many trips scheduled and there is always plenty of supervision. The principal is great and she handles things very quickly and is very attentive to parents' concerns. For september 2013, the school day will start at 8am and breakfast will start at 7:35 am. So parents can drop their kids off early and catch the train or bus closeby. School will dismiss at 2:20pm. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

I fully agree with the parent review below. I took my child out of this school for several reasons. The bedbug problem they once had back in 2010 and her teachers emotionally abused my child as well as myself. It was the best move I have ever made. Since I transfered her she became student of the month 2 years in a row and countinues to move up a grade. And to think these teachers tell me she is not capable of ever doing these things. I will not knock her Kindergarten and first grade teachers they was wonderful. But her second grade teachers was a nightmare and there was no lines of communication anymore. All I know they handled my child and myself very badly and I had to get her out. ASAP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

PS 90 is an ok school. Not the worst but definitely not anywhere close to the top. The main problems I see with this school are; a lack of communication between teachers and parents about teaching methods and where students need additional help, not enough of a variety in what is being taught-- kids need art and music, not just math, reading and science, not enough time during the day for kids to be kids. This might seem unimportant but not all children have the capacity to sit quietly for 6-7 hours out of the day. Having programs like art and music, as well as having enough time to interact with other kids socially during reccess and getting exercise allows them to have a break from the boredom many of them feel and helps them to be able to focus when they are given monotonous tasks. Also, many public elementary schools have after school programs, why doesn't this one? Also I must add, a few of the teachers were quite rude, uncooperative and condescending when I tried to get information about what and how they teach. PTA- a waste of time, unless you want to spend an hour and a half a month talking about money and what to with it instead of the quality of education in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2012

Granted, I was a student at P.S. 90 many years ago, but I had to take this opportunity to recognize Mr. Isadore Zimler, my 6th grade teacher, who was THE best teacher I ever had. I think about him often, and still use what I learned in his class. We didn't memorize, we LEARNED. What a remarkable educator! I still remember the day he paid for a Thanksgiving party for our entire class out of his own pocket. I now have a Ph.D., and I am and will be eternally grateful to Mr. Zimler for all he taught me.


Posted September 25, 2012

You know what slays me is when the facts are presented and people want to hush it away and pretend like everything is fine. Stop with the awesome principals and teacher routine. Wake up people they are playing with your kids lives here. Would it matter to have a sick and dirty educated kid? Is that what real parents want? WAKE UP already.


Posted September 14, 2012

I have my two children in this school and both have learned at a very fast pace thanks to the teachers. The staff in this school are very friendly and very helpful. I only wish they had a bigger place for the school to excersice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Hey Mr. Former Military Pilot. Thanks for doing your 2 tours in Vietnam. The PS 90 you are referring to is located in Brooklyn, not the PS 90 in Queens. 2 totally different schools and 2 totally different principals!!! Please be careful before you post misinformation on the web!!! The PS 90 located in Queens has nothing to do with your comments. And again, thanks for your 2 tours of duty!


Posted June 12, 2012

As a former Military Pilot with two tours in VietNam, I am so sad that this school does not want it's students to Respect the USA! When banning a patriotic song about American Military persons and the love of the USA for young pop artis's song "Baby, baby" is appaling to this former military defender of the USA. The lack of leadership and support of all the USA gives students should not be condoned!!!!!


Posted March 4, 2012

My son has been in PS 90 since Pre-K. He is in 4th grade this year and doing very well. If you do your part as a parent your child will succeed in PS 90. This school welcome parents with open arms. As far as bed bugs concern I never had any problems with the school. No one should point finger unless you had real evidence, after all there are parents that are quite happy with this school with heart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

PS 90 is a great school with a welcoming staff. When you take the time to be active in your childs learning environment you see the hard work that goes into the job. My daughter has been here since kindergarten and has needed additional services that have been provided. Now as a 5th grader, she does not require all the help because she has improved. I credit the school for this and am grateful. The PTA also works hard to have activies for the school and this is a plus. Unfortunatley bed bugs is a problem in NYC schools, I have not experienced it in this school but instead of blaming the school I do feel as parents we should be watching out more effectively that we do not bring it to school. Also the Principal takes the time to know the kids, a few years ago I heard her for the first time greet my child by name I was impressed because out of so many children, her taking the time to do this is remarkable. Prior to this I had no personal interaction with her besides just knowing her position.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

P.S. 90 does not impress me anymore. My son was struggling and his so called teachers tell me they are doing their best to help him. But for 7 months they have set him him up to fail and bragged to me that they will be teaching him again next fall before he got his final report card. I am dealing with this and their bedbug problem they sent my son home from school with. I have spent over $5,000.00 fixing their problem in my home. This school is just upsetting and my son will never go back their this September!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My daughter really like going to school. I like the teachers and other staff. Everyone are friendly and kind. Please keep up the good work. Thank you...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

i really like p.s. 90 the teachers are great and my son always like to go school and learn so much
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2009

Love this school highly educated teachers with masters and beyond, can't say that about private school teachers. Free after school, tennis lessons available,girls scouts,karate, it is a small school but there is always an activity to look forward to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This is an average school. My daughter goes there for pre-K and she hasn't learned much. She learned much more in her 3-year-olds school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Hi there reader, Ps 90 is a school in continuous progress. It is indeed a school with a heart especially for the kids the Administration and staff really does a terrific job, and is always seeking was for improvement. The school has received the best progress report and has for four consecutive years received awards for continuous academic achievement. My son loves his school, class mates and teacher. I am always involve in my school and they always make me feel very welcome. The principal and staff creates an atmosphere that encourages parent and community involvement.I give my school, principal and staff an A and wishes them a happy summer.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students29%
Female35%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander38%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities15%
General population32%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English37%
Non-migrant29%

Math

All Students26%
Female33%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander31%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities11%
General population29%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English33%
Non-migrant26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female36%
Male24%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islander41%
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities0%
General population36%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students36%
Female33%
Male39%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities12%
General population40%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Science

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
African American93%
Asian/Pacific Islander96%
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities100%
General population91%
English language learners76%
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students38%
Female27%
Male47%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities15%
General population42%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%

Math

All Students20%
Female10%
Male28%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islander29%
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities0%
General population24%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 55% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 32% 9%
Black 1 8% 19%
White 2 4% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 223%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 286%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 525 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents49268%
Teachers3356%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. ADRIENNE UBERTINI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

86-50 109th St
Richmond Hill, NY 11418
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 847-3370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Theatre Street School
Richmond Hill, NY



Ps 56 Harry Eichler
Richmond Hill, NY


Ps 273
Richmond Hill, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT