Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Selden, NY
Students enrolled: 1,637
 

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Newfield High School 3

Posted August 27, 2014
- a student
I have been there for a few years now, and its really not as bad as people make it seem. Yes there are pot heads and stupid fights but all schools have that. What i got from going here is helpful and supportive teachers, who dont put alot of pressure on you to be an a+ student, great electives and fair rules. Granted yes the schools a bit crammed, ecspecially in the halls. But all in all its a pretty nice place to be.

Newfield High School 1

Posted August 24, 2014
- a student
Please do your family a favor and don't send your children here. As a former student, let me tell you, all this school is 60% wanna-be thugs, 20% drug addicts, and the rest are the normal students who barely get by as it is. THERE ARE SECURITY GUARDS EVERYWHERE. Why? because they're fights almost every week, if not every two weeks. There was once a day when 4-8 fights happened in one school day alone, nicknamed "fight day". more than half of the fights are staged because they "want to go home early" seriously. not a fan of this school, glad i moved.


Newfield High School 1

Posted August 02, 2014
- a community member
No air conditioning and lots of students do drugs. Not a fan. School needs serious updating. The hallways are cramped and classes are overcrowded. Teachers emphasize on getting by instead of excelling. No motivation..

Newfield High School 5

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
This High School provides the sports, education and challenging academic programs that creates a rich environment for a kids to succeed.

Newfield High School 5

Posted January 24, 2011
- a parent
I have to say I love Newfield High School. My son is a straight A student and was often not challenged in the past. He is doing wonderfully now. The teachers are great.


Newfield High School 5

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
the staff and teachers here really care and do much for the community,

Newfield High School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
this school is very unorganized and it's punishmets for student's in my opinion is not acceptable

Newfield High School 2

Posted February 05, 2009
- a parent
My son was in school here, and wasn't doing well. There is too much emphasis on getting by and discipline, and not enough emphasis on excelling and goals. He is now in a different district and is doing great. Midlle Country District is not one that I will miss.


Newfield High School
no rating

Posted October 15, 2008
- a student
I love newfield its a fun safe enviornment every school has the problems but newfields problems are nothing compared to other schools in the area!..GO WOLVERINES

Newfield High School
no rating

Posted March 15, 2008
- a student
nice small classes? thats a good joke. theres about 32 kids in many of my classes. this school is a joke it looks terrible, we have no money, the kids are higher then the grades. no pride or motivation whatsoever

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newfield High School
145 Marshall Drive, Selden, NY  11784
(631) 285-8300
Last modified Newfield High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newfield High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top