Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Solvay Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 418 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Our school is just on the outskirts of Syracuse, which has horrible schools for kids. We moved to Solvay specifically so we could have the city living we love with a great school district for our 4 children. I just love the teachers at this school, they really are just amazing. They each strive to connect with each child and build bonds with them that will last a lifetime. I cannot say enough good things about this school and everything they have offered for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

I am a New York City retired principal. My grandson was a student of this poorly run elementary school. The principal of this school has absolutely no clue on how to handle certain situations. She would be dismissed in a week if she ever tried to be a principal in a NYC school. It is because of principals like her that our children do not excel. I would love to know where she studied. She is extremely uncaring and insensitive to a childs needs. If you are looking for a school with excellence this is not the school for you.


Posted October 4, 2010

The principle is a terrible person, shallow and unsuited to work in a school setting. They have no concern for the children's wellbeing or safety even though they tout how wonderful, safe, and responsible their school is. My child is a special needs child and she has gotten lost by the teachers there almost once a week. I would not recommend this school for parents who care about their children's education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My youngest daughter attends solvay elementary and they seem to really care about the kids and their needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

I dont pay attention to this 'political in-fighting' and I'm pretty sure my son doesnt either, as he's excelled at this school. His teachers have seem genuinely concerned and involved in his progress and have kept me well-informed. How they're getting 'lost' while their test scores are higher than the rest of the state, on average, is lost on me. For a public school in this area, my opinion is that they're doing a pretty good job, considering the obstacles they need to deal with in the changing (and unclear) realm of childhood education in this country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

This school does not keep up with current trends in education, and is so filled with political in-fighting that the children get lost in the shuffle.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students23%
Female22%
Male23%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities7%
General population26%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Non-migrantn/a

Math

All Students33%
Female26%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities7%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 76% 48%
Two or more races 2 11% 1%
Hispanic 2 7% 23%
Black 2 4% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 159%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 0%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULA KOPP

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 Woods Rd
Solvay, NY 13209
Phone: (315) 488-5422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT