Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 100 Glen Morris

Public | K-5 | 989 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2013

PS100 has always had a clique. The administrative staff there now is the practically the same as it was 10 years ago. The school does not cater to parent involvement and is not ready to assist when an issue arise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

When my older child attended PS100 (08 grad), Ms. Betancourt was principal and I was not a fan of hers, nor the clique/extremely non-inclusive group that was the PA (along with the parent coordinator who is still there). Even then the teachers were great, my child had individual attention from his teachers as well as Ms. Fromberg who is now the principal. Ms. Fromberg can come off at first glance as unapproachable, but she is as dedicated to her job and these children as any principal I've seen. She's hired an incredibly strong and talented staff and the school is run so much better. At the teacher level, I could not have asked for a better kindergarten teacher for my child. She partners with the parents and expects the same the other way. She's always available for questions and knows my child and how he learns extremely well. The art and music teachers are all fantastic and I love the environment the entire staff has created for our kids. My single complaint is this - the PA has many events, but they hold them during school hours which makes it very difficult for working parents to be more involved. I'd love the opportunity to attend events and help, but I can't do that at 10am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2012

Graduated 1947. I was head of the color guard during assembly, as well As a school crossing guard during after school. Wonderful memories of My teachers and fellow students. I saw the new addition in the old school Yard. During the summer, we planted a victory garden to help grow food. Please my typing as I'm a 73 year old computer ignorant adult. By the Way, I still have several group class pictures from PS 100.


Posted September 24, 2012

I was a little skeptical when I enrolled my daughter to this school. But I must say this school is great, the principal and the teachers work really hard to make it a better school. My child learned how to read in Kindergarten and now that she is in first grade I know that she will be even better under the great teacher she has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

this school is a great school i realy love it and my son loved it so much the teachers are great and i really think they should have less kids in the classroom now the over book kids into one class and need more assistant teachers to help out
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

My son did so good at this school , he move on to middle school and he is now moving on to high school,because of the great help from teachers and a very excellent invironment and most of all of the leadership this school possesses Ms Frameborg and Mr Misrock ,they are the best,my daughter is presently attendind this school and she is excelling ,i am so thankful to this school,all teachers are very cooperative.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

i love this school it is the greatest school ever ..it also has great activities....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I am very proud of this school I had three children that attend this school and they all had excellent teacher.My oldest move onto the Frank Sinatra High School and my son went onto the Bronx of Science High School and my third had relocate to PS 207 where she is in the honor roll class. Due to our relocation in our new home
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

We were fortunate to have great teachers...Ms Isen (K), Ms Lowenhaupt (1st grade) and Ms Yaccarino (K) for our two kids. They were great and my kids love going to school, not to mention how well they are doing in the public school system. We know there are many more wonderful and dedicated teachers in this school whom our kids will meet as they progress from class to class! Keep up the good job teachers and principals..... The Sattrohan Family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

The school is a great school! My daughter has attended PS 100; since she was in Kindergarten, and she's currently in the fifth grade. The teachers and the administration is great at the school. The children are cared for greatly and the school is very organized compared to others in the neighborhood. The children at PS 100 do great academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

great teachers with a great administration realyy give their all for the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2007

I liked the school but I had some problems. I dont think that the dicipline was good.


Posted August 10, 2003

Teachers go all out and give their very best for every student in P.S. 100Q. I had four children at P.S. 100Q and estatic my grandchildren will be going!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

166 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

164 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 63% 9%
Hispanic 22% 23%
Black 10% 19%
White 4% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 752 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents69988%
Teachers5382%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LAUREEN FROMBERG

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111-11 118th St
South Ozone Park, NY 11420
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 843-8390

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


P.S. 121
South Ozone Park, NY


P.S. 108 Capt Vincent G Fowler
South Ozone Park, NY


P.S. 155
South Ozone Park, NY


St. Anthony of Padua School
South Ozone Park, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT