Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 124 Osmond A Church

Public | K-8 | 1227 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2013

From pre k to 8th grade.. this school is excellent academically. . I would recommend this sschool to any parent who have thought about private school vs public school.. this school mmeets all the require ments.. only thing I would change is they include some more extra curriculum courses for the kids. . More shows for the parents to attend.. otherwise I am very pleased with the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2011

P.S. M.S. 124 If your looking for the best school in the south ozone park area I recommend this school.Evryone the staff,the teachers are geared to give your child the most excellent academic learning.I had to move from this area and realized how wonderful this school is .My son is devastated since we came into the Brooklyn area bc even the catholic schools were behind in the teaching.I am going to make sure my son gets into a school that has the potential to excel like MS 124 did.Keep up the wonderful work you are doing you are opening doors in these kids future,I want to thank the staff and the teachers for all the wonderful and loving way you treated my boy QUENTIN you will always live in our hearts THANKS again ;((I am crying)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2010

great school im a 7th grader and love it there there are alot of students who take bus just to come to this school everyone excels in their class and their so much activities i wish their was cheerleading and MORE art but overalll its a great school:]


Posted March 28, 2010

i have two kids going to this school. the school activities are too good. the environment is friendly. the security is very good , i am very relax about my kids safety. the homeworks is too much and the kids didnt get enough time to do the homework. thats all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I have a eight year old daughter in this school.The teachers are well prepare and they are excellent teachers. They help their students to give their best in all their school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2008

I have a kindergardner who has significantly improved in many areas since september. Not only are his teachers wonderful, but the entire staff seems to pull together to help out any way they can. The Core Knowlege curriculum is awsome. It allows you to follow along with what your child is learning so that you can stay on top of things. There are frequent feild trips and other school activities. Also, another A+ is the school is very diverse which is very celebrated in the school. However, there is no jungle gym, which is typical for queens. Also, getting your child to and from school can be quite an effort and as a matter of fact quite dangerous. People double and tripple park, sometimes in crosswalks despite many efforts by the school to correct th situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

I have three children who attend this school and all of them have excellent teachers who do a great job preparing them for the next grade. This is a core knowledge school in which my children are learning about things that I didn't learn until high school. In my opinion Ms. Diglio, and Ms. Garone are probably the most caring and effective teachers that I have met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

The school boasts a Core Knowledge program that is wonderful and which is being adopted by other public schools. Some teachers are excellent; others need a child psychology class or two. There is not enough art education. The schools surprises us with excellent music and dance classes. Parent involvement is stifled by a very clique-ish group of PTA and non-PTA parents who seems to be there all day long. The Parent Coordinator is friendly but so swamped rarely are calls returned. Maybe other parents have had a better experience. The Principal is efficient but no organization is perfect. The school chose empowerment. We can hope this is for the better. Experience is that it's improper to question the status-quo. Better to be non-thinking beings, you'll get more friends there that way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

My child is attending PS 124 and I do like the standard. My child is in the aster class k218 and his teacher is wonderful, I could not have believe that the things my chld is doing righ now and that a kendergardener could handle all these things. I always recommend ps 124 to my friends and family. I would like for my child to continue his education in the aster class. I went to ps 124 few days ago and the security is very high because i didnt took an identification card with me and they didnt let me in, so i also do appreciate that. The penny harvest was the best my child and i sert all our pennies and donated it. It was the best experience. I also do appreciate that kids are encouraged by grading them for student of the month. My child did had that opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

137 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

149 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

148 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

178 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 44% 9%
Black 2 31% 19%
Hispanic 2 22% 23%
White 2 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 197%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 62%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 998 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents50459%
Students429100%
Teachers6588%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. VALARIE LEWIS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

129-15 150th Ave
South Ozone Park, NY 11420
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 529-2580

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 96
South Ozone Park, NY



Al-Ihsan Academy
Queens, NY



Ps 155
South Ozone Park, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT