Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 15 Jackie Robinson

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

PS 15 is a great school. They have a awesome community of parents and teachers that come together and are lead by Dr. K'Tori. They have been on many trips including Broadway shows, dinner in Manhattan and a three day trip to DC. Dr. K'Tori cares a lot for his students and community. I wish they were more Principal like him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My son has been going to school at P.S. 15 for 2 years. This is a terrible school he is in 5th grade now and I can't wait to get him in another school. For 4th grade half the time he had a substitute teacher. The kids are doing poorly because the teacher are busy bullying then instead of teaching them. The principal is terrible... My son was suppose to go on a school trip for going to Holliday school. The morning of the trip and drop him off went to work since they weren't expected back until 9:30. Got a call saying my son can't go because he was talking in class. I work in the city and if I didn't have someone to pick him up. What would I do. I don't agree with my son talking in call but one this was holiday school and two he never gets in trouble, they could have given him a warning. It's a failing school. Save yourself the heartache and send your child to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

My child has been at P.S 15 since Pre-K and I have nothing bad to say. She immediately felt welcome and has blossomed into a little 1st grade lady. The Principal holds his ground and keeps both parents and teacher on their toes. It does take more than teacher to develop a child. I love the fact there is an after school program. My daughter also has the opportunity to participate in cheer leading, track (just started this semester) and many other enrichment programs. Great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

P.S. 15 is a small school that seems to have problems with choosing their teachers. They are not good teachers.


Posted January 25, 2013

I too am a former student of P.S. 15 as it was known when I went there back in 1955! I have many fond memories of my time there. I started there in the 4th grade, I can't remember my 4th grade teachers name now, but my 5th grade teacher was Mrs. Levine and for 6th grade I had Mrs. Stewart. I still have my class picture from 5th and 6th grade, I loved all my classmates too. I would love to connect with friends from back then, we moved to Queens from the Bronx, thanks for a chance to remember this school with people who were there then and now. Sincerely, Denise Horace John.


Posted August 20, 2012

My 71 yr old Mother and I just took a lil' trip down memory lane for her via some of the amazing map resources here on the wonderful net, ( we can't afford the air fare from here in Okla., for her to show me around her old haunts in person,) and we both delighted in seeing the old red school. We were glad to hear it is now named in honor of the great Jackie Robinson, her favorite ball player. She wanted me to help her leave a review of the home of her first educational experience. She loved walking the few blocks to learn the abc's, meet new friends etc. She said her first day of school her exuberance got the better of her, and she was too excited to sit down. To which she recieved the customary at the time form of discipline a harmless swat. She says however she wouldn't have traded a day with her beloved Mrs. Mann who taught her so much. If nothing else she learned to settle down in class, haha. She fondly remembers the holiday celebrations the staff would facilitate. She loved donning Halloween costumes with her classmates. Hope you all know what a gem you have in your neighborhood. Treasure that area, and say hi for lil' Mary O'Brien


Posted March 26, 2010

In my opinion P.S.15 is a nice school with a horrible principal! To myself and other parents he's very rude and disrespectful! I hope he doesn't last there long. We need a real leader!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

The school has been great up until the last three years. The leadership here is lacking. The teachers are treated poorly, children get away with getting punished, and I feel uncomfortable when I'm in the presence of the principal. A school should be warm and welcoming and this school under its current leadership is not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

I don't have to be a parent to know how well 15 is running right now. K'Tori blessed the halls of several schools, all of which have turned out to be great schools in the community. He is not the easiest going person, but he cares about his students. The only people that don't seem to appreciate his educator skills are those who can't have their way, or those who don't give 100%. He is a wonderful educator and Principal. Go K'Tori!


Posted May 19, 2009

I think this is the best elementary school in Queens. The principal cares about the students education and their future. He also helps parents in need. He is one of the greatest I've seen in a long time and if he goes, so will the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

once upon a time this was a good school but not anymore. the school has been tarnished by horrible leadership. the principal the great Dr. K'Tori is not so great after all.... he is mean, evil, and a control freak which makes it hard for parents, students, and teachers. the schools atmosphere is uncomfortable and most of the great teachers are gone...the principal has to go and the school will be great again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

This is a great school! I love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

As a new parent in the school, I am satisfied so far. I would like to see more done with exceptional children on an individual level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

This school is great for the student that is about learning. They give extra study lessons for state exams, and has come out with great numbers high levels on state exams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

As a former student of P.S. 15 I have nothing but good things to say, and now I am a parent of a child that is a student at P.S.15, and I still have nothing but good things to say. My son's first experience with public school was amazing and that is thanks to his wonderful kindergarten teacher, Ms. Jacko. From speaking with other parents that have older children, we all say the same thing, from the security to the parent association, this is a school that is very involoved in the welfare of your children. School aides to the assistant principal, they all make a note to learn your child's name, as well as the parent. You don't feel like just a number but like your child matters. The PTA is very involved in getting parents together and keeping the parents informed on upcoming events are far as language testing
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female25%
Male26%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities0%
General population30%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students36%
Female36%
Male38%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities0%
General population44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students15%
Female19%
Male11%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities0%
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%

Math

All Students23%
Female28%
Male19%
African American22%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities0%
General population28%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%

Science

All Students80%
Female84%
Male78%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities43%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female32%
Male16%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students28%
Female35%
Male20%
African American27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 88% 19%
Hispanic 1 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 3% 1%
White 1 3% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 284%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 18%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 36%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 290 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents26575%
Teachers2583%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ANTONIO K'TORI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

121-15 Lucas St
Springfield Gardens, NY 11413
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 525-1670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Eagle Academy for Young Men III
Springfield Gardens, NY


Ps 132 Ralph Bunche
Springfield Gardens, NY





Tracy's Day Care Center
Springfield Gardens, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT