Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 22 Graniteville

Public | PK-5 | 1074 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

This school is AMAZING!I LOVE the teacher,staff,PTA,administrators,assistant principals,and principal!They are doing a AMAZING job on keeping kids intersted in learning,safe in school,and keeping learning FUN letting kids WANT to learn!I was just about to graduate from this school and be the seniors.Until my dad has to work somewhere else.I kept on BEGGING my dad to stay.!!!Now I am graduating from another school.It was a great school but not as good as PS22.I kept on wondering did the school change?


Posted December 3, 2013

It isn't a terrible school I did love the teachers they really love what they do and it shows! The negatives about this school are overcrowding, the principal isn't the greatest she's very sweet and cares about the kids but doesn't have the backbone required for such a school the assistant principals aren't helpful and actually rude to parents. I won't say our experience was terrible here but the school needs an overhaul in administration to make it better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2013

Principal needs to go!!!! She is very sloppy and seems discombobulated at times. She always let the PTA steals the money from the school and they get away with because she just completely sweeps it under the rug. Shameful!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

I think the school has a good PTA, and a good staff in spite of the administration. The principal and some of the assistant principals do not belong there. The school still ranks a "C." This would not have occurred with the former principal, Mrs. C.


Posted November 17, 2012

Boy do miss this school i went here form 2000-2004 before i moved to Virginia to finish my 5th grade year I DO MISS THIS SCHOOL. one thing i do miss is the chorus mr.B was an amazing teacher and even today seeing the current kids come out from the Adele commercial to singing for artist and singer he such an amazing teacher. Its not just him they are other teachers that are so caring and helpful at graniteville. I really wish i could had finished. Most of friends I have today came out of this school alot of good memories But. The staff and teachers are amazing IN ROLL your child here you will never regret it


Posted June 3, 2011

OLPH provides top notch quality private school education for over one hundred years at an extremely affordable cost. All are welcomed here. It is a close knit school that provides cutting edge technology, language programs, strong academics and unique after school programs to truly tap into a child's potential. The faculty and parents are amazing and are the key ingredients to its success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

Both of my kids went to this school for pre-k and WE LOVED IT! The school is a safe, happy place. The teachers are all approachable and friendly, as are the secretaries and principal. Both my kids adore the pre-K teachers. We only left because we are zoned for another school and got into 22's pre-K by lottery.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

because my girls became a good students and specialy readers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

THE STAFF IS EXCELLANT AND CARING. THE SCHOOL IS VERY DIVERSE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

What I love most about P.S. 22 are the teachers and administrators, they know each child by name and let each of them feel as if 22 is a family not a cold building with kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

i have 2 kids in this school and i do feel the the school safety officers keep the school real safe. but i do feel the school staff it self makes small problems into big ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

security is very tight in this school which gives me a peace of mind that my child is safe at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2008

I have 2 children in this school and they r both in the 4th grade and they are doing so well and they love to go to school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2008

My rating on this school is a 7. I love the school and so does my kindergardener. She has Ms Paribello and she loves her. I like her as well. My daughter is doing very well in her class and she loves going to school everyday. Some of the teachers need to dress more proffesional and not like they just rolled out of bed. That is my only issue so far with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My child attends P.S. 22 and I absolutely love the school. Mrs. Hartnett and Mrs. Spirocostas and Mrs. Cortez are amazing!! They have made my child into a wonderful reader who loves to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

my daughter was transferred from private school to PS22 She is doing excellent I love the school environment, pta coordinator is amazing , principal and staff are totally dedicaded to our children , Mrs. Knemoler, Mrs. Francen and Mrs. Manning are awsome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I now have two children attending PS 22. There is such a difference in their abilities to learn one is well advanced and the other is in need of assistance. While the social environ ment is excellent academics needs improvement. There needs to be a separate class for the gifted and additional help for the remedial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

My kids and me were part of this great school for 4 yrs. They loved every minute of school and the teachers are best. My son was reading midway thru grade K ! What an amazing feat and now his way of killing time is to read. Kudos to Ms. Constantino n the wonderful staff n teachers. Go Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

My children have been a part of ps 22 family for more than 10 years. The faculty has always been very nice and helpful. The school and grounds are always well kept by the maintenance dept. The security guards love the students. Mrs. Constantino and the rest of the staff always look professional while maintaining an orderly yet fun environment for the children. I will miss the school after my son graduates in June.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

My child is new to the school. However, I have heard nothing but really positive things about the teachers, principle and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

155 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

171 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

179 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
Black 2 25% 19%
White 2 15% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 281%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 65%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 355 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents31537%
Teachers4058%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELISSA LAMB-DONATH

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1860 Forest Ave
Staten Island, NY 10303
Phone: (718) 442-2219

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Adalbert School
Staten Island, NY



Ps 44 Thomas C Brown
Staten Island, NY


Jewish Foundation School
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT