Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 36 J C Drumgoole

Public | PK-5 | 937 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

i went to this school when i was in kindergarden - 3rd grade it was a great school im not a parent but i was in that school a couple years ago in 2009 i had to move and it was a hard for me to move


Posted May 23, 2013

I graduated from here over 40 years ago, my brother and sisters attended as well as my son and daughter and now my grandson. The teachers are dedicated to the kids and their education. Although the population has exploded there is still a small town feel here, and it's always a good sign when parents become involved


Posted January 30, 2012

i WOULD RATE THIS SCHOOL 5 STARS BECAUSE OF MRS. FERTEL, MY GRANDAUGHTER'S THIRD GRADE TEACHER. ALL HER PAST TEACHERS WERE VERY GOOD TOO BUT SHE NEVER WANTED TO PICK UP A BOOK AND READ ON HER OWN. THAT CHANGED WHEN SHE GOT MRS. FERTEL AS A TEACHER WHO MADE HER FEEL SO COMFORTABLE AND MADE READING FUN. NOW SHE HAS IMPROVED ON HER READING AND ALWAYS PICKS UP BOOKS ALL OVER AND LOVES READING. I THOUGHT I WOULD NEVER SEE THIS DAY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

My son started with PreKG and now in first grade. He has made amazing progress,thanks to the the dedication and commitment of teachers in last three years. I can not comment on principal since I do not know much about her. I saw bad review about her from some parents but I believe she is doing her job OK. You have to realize she is in the final phase of her career. I am man and I must admit very few dads show up. It looks like only women are carrying the burden of education in this country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

I love the teachers at this school! My son graduated last year and my daughter is in pre-k this year. I will say however like as some previously commented the principal needs to go. It took me 2 years to get the assistance my son needed. She never took my calls never replied to letters written. She is lacking in many areas and sho be given a pink slip. She perhaps be more qualified as a janitor or kitchen staff in my opinion!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

I am in highschool now and i have to say that i am in love with that school. I miss all of my teachers!!! They changed the school since i was there i wish my teachers remembered me though


Posted November 17, 2010

Wonderful Teachers, JUST WONDERFUL, The Principal is a JOKE, She needs to go ASAP. my child has been assaulted twice in the lunchroom and SHE WONT EVEN TAKE our CAlls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

My son has attended PS 36 since kindergarten and is now a fourth grader. My son is getting a top notch education and all the teachers truly care about the children. I know they will use the money wisely.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

It is a good school as long as your child does not need extra help. The teachers are good, but the administration/principal are lacking. It is about saving money and not giving your child what he or she is legally entitled to. Don't even bother trying to contact the principal she is busy or just not there, she earns 0 stars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

administration is very unfriendly. no communication with the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Walking into the building makes the hair on my neck stand up. The administration and the office staff should be more welcoming to parents. You don't get that warm fuzzy feeling. It is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2009

My daughter had Ms. Rampulla last year and it doesn't suprise me that she is an A plus teacher. We love and really miss her, and I'm sure you will too. Our kids were very lucky to have her, especially when their so fragile at this age. She really set a nice foundation for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I will give this school 5 stars . all 5 are due to thier hiring of the best kindergarden teacher in the world Ms Rampulla .When my daughter was to start kindergarden she was very nervous.The first day of school,which I thought would be hard turned out to be the best thing that has every happened to my Alexandra.She loves her teacher and has learned so much from her .If only every student was lucky enough to get the most loving caring teacher there first year ,every child would love going to school.With this year coming to an end ,It will be hard for us to leave Ms Rampulla .She has been so patient,kind ,loving all year long and I am sure all the other mothers will agree that she is the best teacher in the world! So I will give this school 5 stars just for the hiring of her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

I am not a fan of this school.. I feel there is a huge lack of communication. They do not commuicate in this school at all. You never see the teachers and good luck getting them on the phone.. I am looking to take my child out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

I love my school .Its a great place to grow up .There are great teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2009

Both my boys went to this school. My older son excelled and my younger one was lost in the shuffle. Glad we moved when we did.


Posted May 1, 2008

p.s. 36 is an excellent school and the principal is so personable and concerned about her children. She has put into place many activites for the kids. my children did very well in this school. I would reccommend this schoolover catholic school anyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

ps 36 seems to be sinking. i will be taking my boys out at the end of the year. its not the ''F''' either. i think the teachers are losing the umph they once had. what a shame!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

This is my child's fourth year in this school. The teachers are wonderful and care about the kids, and I am amazed at how much my daughter is learning. She goes to school and comes home every day with a smile on her face, feels supported and safe in school, and that is due largely to the wonderful teachers she's had. The principal is new and has had a hard time fitting in so far, hopefully things will gel better between her and the staff and faculty. Overall a great school, and I'm happy my child gets to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

Principal has her own agenda and is not interested in the children. Teachers are ok, school aides are militant. Special Ed program is not up to par. The office staff is not friendly. Parents are afraid to voice their opinions as it is taken out on the child, a lot of problems here, this school should be better than it is, great neighborhood, great kids, unfortunate that the parents are dismissed and treated like children. We need a principal who respects education, loves children and is dedicated to creating an enjoyable rewarding learning environment that children want to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Female56%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities10%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant49%

Math

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities20%
General population60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students40%
Female46%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities7%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant40%

Math

All Students38%
Female41%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities7%
General population48%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%

Science

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities83%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Female57%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities9%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Math

All Students34%
Female43%
Male26%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities6%
General population42%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 87% 48%
Hispanic 1 7% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Black 2 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 88%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 592 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents54777%
Teachers4578%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

255 Ionia Ave
Staten Island, NY 10312
Phone: (718) 984-1422

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Star of the Sea
Staten Island, NY


Ps 42 Eltingville
Staten Island, NY


Ps 4 Maurice Wollin
Staten Island, NY


Ps 5 Huguenot
Staten Island, NY


Oakdale Academy
Staten Island, NY


Eltingville Lutheran School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT