Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 5

Posted June 13, 2011
- a community member
the day i stepped my foot into i.s.49 was the best day of my life because, i can tell that when i start school here i was going to be a better person. Also i.s.49 is a good school for all children to come there but their parents always say that 49 is a bad school but now it is 2011 49 is a very good school for kids people always say and i always say when you come to 49 u mine your own business nobody will not bother you i love i.s.49...................

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus
no rating

Posted May 19, 2010
- a parent
I.S. 49 is full of caring Teachers and Staff. Everyone...including the Principal go over and beyond for the students!!!


Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
It is a caring wonderful school and environment for any child.

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 5

Posted February 19, 2010
- a student
This is my third year in the school and it's sad to be departing from it. From the instant I stepped in those double doors in the sixth grade, I knew I would like this school, and I did. I have really learned more than I ever have these past few years. I just love it here.

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus
no rating

Posted August 08, 2009
- a student
I.S.49 is great. I am going to be an 8th grader on 9/9/09. I love it there, because the teachers and students re nice and fun.


Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 4

Posted May 18, 2009
- a student
i am an 8th grader in I.S 49 enviromental studies and in a magnet class when i heard i was going to I.S 49 i kind of thought it was a bad idea but after a couple of weeks at this school i was having the best time any 8th grader will want to have their teachers are real cool the most or majority of the students are nice and fun to be with keep up the good work and keep the flag flying

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
My child is really benefiting from this school. I also enjoy the meetings.

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 5

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
I am currently going to this school and I have to say that this school is pretty good. They have great teachers and thye have installed 5 large televisions in the lunchroom and its nice too, overall this school is great.


Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 4

Posted November 01, 2008
- a student
I am a student in IS 49 and i believe the teachers here are a great help. Although the teachers are always there for us, I still pretty much dislike it here. The students here are always fighting and I get made fun of often. Thank god i will be graduating this year, but i will miss some of my teachers cause' they helped me a lot!

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus 4

Posted May 19, 2008
- a student
I am a student at IS 49 and in the eighth grade. I really do think that this school deserves more credit than it gets. The teachers are always there for extra help if you need it like during 37 and a half afterschool. There are after school programs, and minors like gym, drama, art, scanTEK, robotics, etc. And there are clubs you can join as well like the Journalism book club. I really do think I've learned a lot in 49. I am going to SI Tech this September and didn't take any extra classes to pass the SHSAT. Your child can really benefit from going to this school

Nearby schools

Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus
101 Warren Street, Staten Island, NY  10304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (718) 727-6040
Last modified Is 49 Bertha A Dreyfus is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top