Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Joseph by the Sea High School 3

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Just an FYI so correct information is out there. No opinion here. This was from Staten island Advance January 2013: "Father Reilly said the cost of the iPad program will be included in the school's annual tuition, currently $6,630 a year. "There will be no additional fee incurred by families," he said. " Tuition did go up because of the iPads. Its over $7000 now.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
I can only conclude that recent positive ratings were written by Father Reilly himself, about himself.


St. Joseph by the Sea High School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a teacher
As a new employee of the school ( 2 years) I find that Father Reilly runs a tough tight ship. It takes this kind of a leader to produce the serious academic students that St Joseph's produces. It is 100 percent true he is demanding of his faculty and students. That is why the school is successful.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 1

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
The reason why you are seeing some differences of opinions is due to the principal change in 2009. Before Father R. took over, this school was amazing with Monsignor Ansaldi. Father R. during his first couple of years was low key but started changing things for the worse and now it is a horrible place for students. Ask all the good faculty who left. If there are any good faculty left, it is only because they need their jobs and they do not want to work in a public school.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. i have a son that graduated and was so well prepared for college. it was worth every penny. the staff is excellent. i have a senior at the school now and he has made all of his colleges with lots of scholarship money. Not only is it excellent academically, the discipline is just right for growing teenagers i would strongly recommend this school. One of the best decisions i have ever made in my children's education. never heard of anyone paying a fee for their iPods.


St. Joseph by the Sea High School 1

Posted December 04, 2013
- a parent
This school doesn't even deserve one star !!!!! Father Reilly is the worst thing that ever happened to the school, teachers, and most important our children. He bullies the faculty and threatens the parents to pay ridiculous fees by taking the children's iPads away ( which he has done ). Parents give into his indulgences because they are afraid to take a stand and their children will be embarrassed.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 4

Posted June 28, 2012
- a community member
Great school. Great teachers and staff members. All new gym and theater wing. Top notch sports. All students MUST graduate with a REGENTS DIPLOMA.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 0
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
This school takes a genuine interest in our children. They have an outstanding academic record. They encourage the children to stay involved with school activities. The teach them organization, time management and study skills....and most importantly they teach the kids respect and discipline....The children are well prepared for college when they graduate. I'm impressed with the faculty, and the athletic department too. I'm thrilled that my son attends St Joseph by the Sea high school. I highly recommend this school!! :)


St. Joseph by the Sea High School 0
no rating

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
I am a freshman in SJS, and yes, it is truly challenging. However, that is it's appeal. I earned a seat in their honors program, though maintaining it is far more difficult. I am extremely proud to attend Sea, because I know how impressive it looks on one's transcript to not only have attended such a remarkable school, but graduated with honors with two foreign languages, Spanish and Latin, under one's belt.

St. Joseph by the Sea High School 5

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
St. Joseph By-The-Sea High School is, in my opinion one of the tops schools in the area. Is it hard? Yes. Is It challenging? Yes. Does it prepare the students for life? Yes. I am proud to send my son there and I am proud that my second son is likely going there as well. It is refreshing to see in today's world, a school that holds the students accountable for their performance, much like a boss will hold his/her staff accountable. Sea is a place where academics, spirituality and athletics coexist in seamless symbiosis. Well done Monsignor! You have prepared my son well and I count on the staff to prepare the rest of my boys as well.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Joseph by the Sea High School
5150 Hylan Blvd, Staten Island, NY  10312
(718) 984-6500
Last modified St. Joseph by the Sea High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St. Joseph by the Sea High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top