Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jewish Foundation School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 11, 2015
- a parent
There are a select few gems who do their best, despite the tough environment. Linda Edleman (no longer with the school) was the lone human voice in the administration. Morahs Shifra and Simona are also exceptional.

Jewish Foundation School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
Development of proper Midot begins at the top. You DO NOT want your kid's emulating Ehrlich's Midot!


Jewish Foundation School 1

Posted November 10, 2013
- a teacher
Rabbi Ehrlich is verbally abusive to the parents and teachers at this establishment. He has zero respect for women, and still thinks he's living in the 1960s. He takes his "disciplinary" attitude that he should be directing toward misbehaving students and directing it towards his employees and towards parents of the students. If you're thinking about sending your child to a jewish school, stay far away from this one unless you want to put them into an extremely abusive environment.

Jewish Foundation School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a community member
JFS is an an amazing school. If you're debating whether or not to send your kids here, send them! I was a student there and the teachers are great. - J

Jewish Foundation School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
This is a school for average kids. If your child is smarter then average, this school is not for them! A lot of teachers are not educated enough or don't know how to work with children who have different personalities. The school in general is not interested in your child! Fortunately public schools offer more for children and their parents!


Jewish Foundation School 1

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
the Rabbi of the school is an abusive, obnoxious being who should have been lfired a long time ago. I guess that is why they needed to bring in a special "disciplinary principal". Good reason to raise tuition. The assistant principal is unfortunately, a puppet who I believe might have a hard time sleeping at night because of who she needs to team up with.

Jewish Foundation School 5

Posted July 25, 2012
- a community member
I loved the school i was a student there and everyone was respectful so i have no idea what the other person is talking about but everyone is entitled their opinion. I have prospered so much from that school. the teachers were great and still are. I know this because I have siblings that still go there. It is a wonderful school and they provide a great education of jewish and secular subjects.

Jewish Foundation School 5

Posted December 23, 2010
- a community member
The rabbi in this school is amazing but the students are rude. Most teachers are nice but the other half are as rude as the children you will never hear the word THANK YOU \ PLEASE from these kids you must remind them "what the special word" I think that is incredible that a child could have such bad manner. i give 5 star for the principal their Rabbi Ehrlich, if it wasn't for him i would give it NO STAR whats so ever.


Jewish Foundation School 4

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
Some teachers are amazing, kids love it. But its in the basement of the shul, how much fun can that be?

Nearby schools

Jewish Foundation School
400 Caswell Ave, Staten Island, NY  10314
(718) 983-6042
Last modified Jewish Foundation School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top