Advertisement
Advertisement

La Salle Institute

Private | 6-12 | 409 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Troy

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $133,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 23, 2012

LSI - The way life should be. A very respectful, purposeful atmosphere where boys can grow to their potential. If your son does not plan to work and treat others with respect and kindness, no need to apply. Not only is this a top high school but it is a great way to go to middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2009

LaSalle's high academic standards and exemplary faculty are unlike any public school experience. No room for 'slacking off '- LaSalle's teachers care too much to let a student fall through the cracks. Beyond the classroom experience, a sense of integrity permeates the school. LaSalle makes each boy realize they are someone important. Our two oldest boys graduated from a large, suburban public high school and we regret that we did not know about LaSalle sooner! We grit our teeth @ tuition for our youngest son, but know spending it on LaSalle makes sense, as so much of who kids become happens in their teen years. Once they are off to college, it is too late to have much influence on their character development. It is an investment in who they will be as adults. Honestly, a priceless experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

La Salle Institute has been the best experience of my life. I went there for seven years, and they were undoubtedly the best years of my life. The school contains great faculty, men and women who really want you to succeed. The High School's mandatory JROTC program gives you discipline and and a leg-up on those from other schools. Drill Team, Colorguard, and the Officer Corps fosters great team building and long-lasting friendships. There is a great sports program, and the kids are really devoted to the school. Given the chance, I would choose LSI again and again. GO CADETS! -c/LTC Golden, Class of '09


Posted May 4, 2009

LaSalle Insitute is an outstanding academic instiution that has a wonderful positive atmosphere. My son has been in this school since seventh grade and is now a Junior. I have many occassions to interact with LaSalle students and parents and I cannot tell you what a difference it is from a public school. Values, discipline, respect, outstanding academic and sport programs and superior assistance when seeking college placement all add up to a great value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

good environment with teachers who truly care. When I was a student I was not very academic, but the teachers made me realize my full potential in other areas. Although the schooling is great LaSalle makes sure that the students learn about life as well.


Posted December 7, 2007

We are very proud to be part of the LaSalle family where truth,duty and honor is both learned and lived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2006

My son was a honor graduate, Class of '03. His academic potential was immediately recognized by his teachers in the first weeks of his freshman year. Consequently, he was advanced into the Honors/AP curriculum track throughout his tenure. More often than not, academically, he tried to slip by as a quiet, 'Joe Cool' type. But his teachers challenged him to excel at every opportunity. The observations they shared with me gave me some unique, unbiased insights into my son's personality. The teachers (and Christian Brothers) really care for their kids!... My only rubs against the school would be that, we, as typical, middle-class wage earners who sacrificed to pay tuition, there's a bit of a defacto 'caste system' among some of the more 'well-to-do parents'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2004

LaSalle Institute is a school where integrity and honesty are taught by dedicated teachers in a caring environment. Favorable student to teacher ratio results in some smaller class sizes and improved individual attention. Being a good student is not frowned upon by peers at this school, but is desired. By sending our sons to LaSalle we have found a learning environment which supports the values we teach at home. We highly recommend it to all young men. It is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Can't say enough good things about this school. Discipline, respect for others and great teachers, it has it all!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 52%
Black 8% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carl Malacalza
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Albany
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

174 Williams Rd
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: (518) 283-2500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gardner-Dickinson School
Wynantskill, NY



Menands School
Menands, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT