Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Tuckahoe, NY
Students enrolled: 514
 

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Annunciation School 2

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
I sent my 5 yr old to Annunciation for the full day pre-k program. Bottom line it was a waste of money- after spending almost $7,000 she doesn't even know her vowels or complete alphabet. She does know her Hail Mary though (sarcasm added). Don't waste your money here- the principal is a cold hearted woman and evidently the academics stink

Annunciation School 1

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
teh skool is rlly bad. People are like, so crazy. My kindergartner came home today knowing everything about the birds and the bees, not the animal kind! Warning to those considering.


Annunciation School 2

Posted July 24, 2014
- a parent
While there are a few dedicated professionals; the education is sub-par and antiquated. The principal's main objective is to collect as much money as possible from families, while she blatantly caters to those with deep pockets and fund raising abilities. It is difficult economic times. However, for all those fees she should be working on being more informed, and embracing the ideas and methodologies needed in education in 2014, in order for all students to be academically successful. Behaviors in general --of staff, parents and even some students, are a direct contradiction with the Christian values supposedly instilled and taught in the school. What a shame !

Annunciation School 3

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My children attend this school and since the arrival of the new principal (going on 2nd year), it is steadily going downhill. A FEW of the teachers and support staff have left and for the first time in 5 years I am actually considering sending my children elsewhere. The principal has no interest in outside input from her staff (I've been told) or from the parents (witnessed first hand). Her communication skills are lacking - she is very cold and curt and is truly of the mindset it's her way or the highway. The ONLY thing keeping my children there right now are their teachers and if any more of them leave, so will my children. I've seen some reviews complaining that the parents are unwelcoming to outsiders of the Crestwood community. I moved to Yonkers almost 6 years ago and from day 1 was welcomed to the school and invited to Crestwood area events. The parents are VERY involved with everything.

Annunciation School 1

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
when my daughter attended this school she was bullied and the teachers did not take the proper action needed. she was very unhappy and ignored. she will definitely not be going to AES next year.


Annunciation School 5

Posted December 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Annunciation School 5

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
I find the school to be excellent, the parents are involved and volunteer with many of the activitys. There is a womans guild and a mens club. I find the teachers to be good and push my daughter to be her best. It's not perfect and some parents can be clichy and shun out the outsiders of thecrestwood society, however that is not why you send your child to school. The academics are very good and after school activities are great.

Annunciation School 4

Posted November 08, 2007
- a parent
Overall I have been happy at this school. However, the Crestwood parents are 'clicky' leading to an initial unwelcome feeling. Also, it would be nice if there were more activities and the children were allowed to run at recess!!


Annunciation School 5

Posted January 22, 2007
- a student
Great school. Very safe and caring. It is the heart of the community.

Annunciation School 5

Posted December 06, 2006
- a parent
Annunciation School is the heart of the Crestwood Community. It is a unique Catholic School in that the level of parental involvment is tremendous. It is a very safe school in which the principle and the assistant principle know each individual student by name as well as their family. The school has a strict discipline policy which many of the public schools should adopt! Academically it is outstanding and the students who graduate have their choice of attending the best high schools. The extracurricular activities keep increasing and varying in fields of interest from sports to mock trial! Annunciation School is a model school and it is a shame that the Yonkers Public Schools fall so far short of Annunciation's accomplishments. The principle is caring and concerned for each student and their respective family.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Annunciation School
465 Westchester Avenue, Tuckahoe, NY  10707
(914) 337-8760
Last modified Annunciation School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Annunciation School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top