Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wheeler Avenue School

Public | 1-6 | 577 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

This is an excellent school, the teachers are very good. The quality of education & attention given to each student is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Monday, April 14, 2014

This is a great school for growing kids, the Principal & teachers really do care for the students. The classes are small & the kids get the attention they need. The extraciricular programs are also great & the school has a rich culture. The staff & us parents know each other very well. The teachers are always willing to listen to our feedback. This is a very good school, I think the parents that give their kids time at home do very well in the state exams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

The scores for the assessment tests are downward pattern. I think patents are more involved when the children are young. As the children advance, the parents may be spending less time with homework. Does this mean the third graders do well because of the parents or strong school and teachers? Does this mean the older graders who rely on school don't get enough learning? Parents do homework with your fifth and sixth graders. Wheeler your teachers and programs may not be as strong as you think. Just camouflaged by parents teaching at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My Daughter graduated from Wheeler and my son will be starting. I must say yes the teachers are great and caring but they really need to focus more on learning along with teaching.. We move our kids to long island for the schools and it turns out that there are parts of the city that children are getting a better education.. They spend more time with preparing for a state examine then actually teaching children..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

The school is great! The new principal is amazing...she listens to what students and parents want and welcomes their suggestions. Same goes for the teachers and PTA. My son is starting 2nd grade and so far he loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2013

I love Wheeler Avenue School. The teachers care and work very hard. The parents are very involved and the new principal has done an excellent job. I hope this school continues to be this good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2013

This is a great school. My daughter has been in this school since first grade. The teachers are caring and helpful. My daughter told me that they make learning fun and excited. She loves Wheeler. Their Music and after school sports programs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

My son has been in this school district since Kinder. The teachers are wonderful and caring. They want to see their students excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

The teachers are wonderful. The principal is a great lady who will do anything for any student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2010

the principal knows everyone by name and all the childrens parents. i was walking to get my son one day and the principal stop me stating the my son would be in the papers and if that was okay. at first i thought does she even know who's mother it is and who was my son. yes she did!!! wow and my son was not even with me yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

I love Wheeler Avenue School. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about thier students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

wheeler Ave school is one of the greatest Elementary school from 1st grade to 6th grade in district 13. Wheeler encourages students to excel and show their talent by involving them in special activities and classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2009

I am very happy with Wheeler Avenue School. I have multiple children in the school and they are receiving an excellent education. Wheeler has wonderful programs in music, sports, extra help and for the gifted. The teachers are dedicated and communicate well with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

Wheeler has surpassed my expectations in some areas but has let me down in others. The music & WHL programs are fantastic. On the academic side I wish I saw more materials. My oldest is going into 5th gradea and I have yet to see substantial homework. Textbooks almost never come home and one math book that came home was from 1988!! We have had great experiences with most of the teachers but the pricipal seems a bit 'out there'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

Great school- Principal and staff care they are always availible for the children.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 28, 2006

I absoulty love Wheeler Ave.! I would recommend it to any one who wants a school who has a great music program including junior chorus, and childern's choior. Also they have junoir and regurlar orchestra. And they have a junior and regular and advanced and jazz bands.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2006

This school is very good. Although there are some teachers that need to be reevaluated. The principal needs to listen to the parents more and not always side with the teachers. Like I said most teachers are wonderful, but there are still some that may need a change. As far as the music program and extracurricular activities they are great. The music teachers and gym teachers are the best. Although, they should have more for the younger grades. I know my children with also like to do more plays. They only get to do a play in the 1st grade. As far as parent involvement, it is usually the same people that commit. But those parents are very committed in making it a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2006

This school is a very good school.Many children are involved in playing instruments. the have a very good hockey team called the WHL lead by the Gym teacher.Once again the school is exellent.But they should give more homework.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2006

Wheeler ave. School is a community. A community of teachers, parents and students all helping each other.This school has a great music dept. And extracurricular activities.The teachers are simply the best. They molded my daughter, gave her confidence and helped her excel. Thanks wheeler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

This is a very good school overall, but could use some improvements in a few areas. The principal, while very open to communication with parents is not always effective in all areas concerning difficulties with teachers. Some teachers are outstanding, many are very good, but a few in my experience need to go! Parents need to be more involved. It seems that the same few participate actively throughout the year. There are opportunities for students to participate in after school sports and participate in band , chorus, and orchestra. An afterschool art program would be a nice addition. The school is very safe, no concerns about safety at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

91 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 31% 48%
Hispanic 29% 23%
Black 21% 19%
Asian 19% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 88%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 W Wheeler Ave
Valley Stream, NY 11580
Phone: (516) 568-6140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Name of Mary School
Valley Stream, NY


Howell Road School
Valley Stream, NY


James A Dever School
Valley Stream, NY



Brooklyn Avenue School
Valley Stream, NY


Shaw Avenue School
Valley Stream, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT