Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Windward School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
Windward is absolutely the best place for kids with language-based reading differences. I wish all kids who need this type of education could go to a school such as Windward. The talent, skill and dedication of the administration, the teachers and the staff are excellent. Children learn to read and also learn how to be good students at Windward.

Windward School 5

Posted December 14, 2013
- a community member
Windward School truly is an amazing school. Having a language based learning disability, it taught me not only self confidence but to be able to learn in a different way. I was lucky to bethere when there was a high school. All the teachers were truly special individuals and some are still there. I would not be so successful in my life if it weren't for Windward and for that I truly am grateful.


Windward School 5

Posted January 02, 2013
- a parent
Windward is an exemplary school, providing children with language based learning disabilities the skills and support they need to succeed. The teachers are not only highly professional; they are also kind and nurturing. As a parent, I feel so lucky that my son with dyslexia is benefitting from an education tailored to him. Windward is amazing.

Windward School 5

Posted December 31, 2012
- a parent
Windward has made a wonderful, transformational change in my child's life. Can't say enough about Dr. Russell, the teachers, and the entire staff. I wish every child with dyslexia could go to Windward.

Windward School 5

Posted October 06, 2012
- a community member
I have visited this school to observe children from my district. The quality of the instructional program is outstanding and the teachers are trained intensely so every class benefits from high quality interesting lessons. It really is an amazing school!


Windward School 5

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
Windward is an amazing place. I only wish that it went through 12th grade. The headmaster John J. Russell is a fantastic leader. He is charismatic, truly believes in the "magic" of the school's teaching methodology, and is warm and welcoming to the entire school community (parents and children included.) The teachers are phenomenal: patient, hardworking, and very thorough. The school's emphasis is on teaching our children to properly read and write. I only wish my other 2 children could have benefitted from this stellar school.

Windward School 5

Posted December 14, 2010
- a parent
My son has been in Windward since 3rd grade and is now in 6th. He started Windward not knowing how to read correctly and with low self esteem. He now reads alone each night for pleasure. This may not seem a big deal for some of you reading this, but for those of you with a child who has language based learning difficulties it is a major deal! He is now confident at public speaking, is socially very at ease, has self esteem and is a self advocate. Windward did all this and more for my son! The teachers are the best I have ever met; dedicated, knowledgeable and supportive.

Windward School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
Both my daughters attended this school (one sixth grade through ninth, the other fifth grade through eighth). It's a wonderful place. My younger daughter, who is dyslexic and is now going off to college, said it changed her life. Windward is peerless when it comes to remediating dyslexia. For my ADD daughter, Windward stemmed the downward plunge and began to restore her self-esteem, which public school had destroyed. The Windward parent community and administration are inspiring as well.


Windward School 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
Wonderful school. I don't know what we would have done without this school to give my son the right tools to be successful.

Windward School 3

Posted November 23, 2007
- a community member
I graduated from Windward in 2004 and I was there from 6th grade- 12th grade. The school was okay. I felt like I was forced to be very dependent on the teachers because they made you write your papers in a certain way which, for me, was a lot harder. I am in college now and I feel like Windward never prepared me for the real world.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Windward School
13 Windward Avenue, White Plains, NY  10605
(914) 949-6968
Last modified Windward School is a Private school that serves grades 1-9
Windward School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top