Advertisement
Advertisement

Razi School

Private | PK-12 | 279 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Woodside

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $337,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

I last attended this school about ten years ago, and I still remember what an impact it made on my formative years. Mostly, I enjoyed the environment; class sizes were not very big and every student was given individual attention if they had any difficulties. There are some really dedicated and kind teachers. However, there were also problems with how teachers interacted with the students. During class time, the humiliation, fear and stringent classroom policies did more harm than good. Although it taught me to be more disciplined, I have had to overcome a lot of difficulties on my own because those needs were never met during my time in this school. I think razi is good for kids who are able to do well in a highly structured environment, but parents need to also realize that teachers cannot do their job as well. Lastly, I wish razi had more extracurricular activities, instead of only focusing on math and science. Creativity was stunted due to the emphasis on academics, as if becoming future doctors or engineers was the only successful path in our future. of course, this is highly unrealistic and unfair for the child who is still learning about him/herself.


Posted July 15, 2012

The only reason why i would give them a two rating is because of some of the understanding and caring teachers there. The principle there is horrible and so is the college counselor. They are very bias and I will not send my child there. There is no care for your child and like I said before, the Principal does not even care to interact with the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

Razi school has poor leadership,very poor MATH teachers, school is being run like a poor third world country, principle is useless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

great school with challenging curriculum. math and science are extremely strong in this school. students who try succeed. the teachers care more about the student learning than getting paid alot.


Posted April 10, 2011

Very strong in math and sciences. There is a weak principle and the office administration is essentially not professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

very bad principal and his assistance , but very great teachers. the school have 300 students but there are 8 people work in the office inluding a useless principal and his assistance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Ohh where to start, Razi School is good. I had 2 of my children. One did good, the othere not so. The bad was more satisfied in public becouse of the well eachings they gave her and she started a satisfied life. She is in the best student in the whole 6th grade. The good one had a great time. He had 98 average in the 8th grade and left to go to Bronx Science. So if your child is good take them to Razi, if not try another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2009

One of the Best school for math, Science and Engineering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

Razi School...where to start? This school offers a good education, but the word 'Islamic' doesn't exactly describe the school. What is so Islamic about this school? Maybe the fact that there are Quran classes, religion classes, and Arabic classes. That's almost where it ends. So what? Girls have to cover their hair inside the school, and wear a long uniform. They socialize with boys. They have boyfriend-girlfriend relationships, and once they're in the higher grades, there is no telling if they will ever be 'Islamic'. Seriously, in razi there are teachers- some of which don't even teach well. My final verdict: If your child is well-rooted in Islam, then maybe Razi would be the rigth choice, but if your child is not, putting him or her in Razi may just make it worse, or stay the same. Razi school needs better Islamic standards and extra-curricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

It seems like a great school except it can use a boost in administrative staff to manage the school better. I hope the city invests more resources into it. It has tremendous potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

this school is very unorgonized and very weaq however the teachers (some) are very nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2007

The academic and religious programs at this school is very poor so is the quality of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2007

Academically the school is great. My kid has been going there for the past six years . The teachers need to have a bit more training and lot more extracurricular activities. the parents need to get more involved
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

Academically, the school is very advanced. However, there is no sports or extracurricular activities, and the administration is very disorganized.Some of the teachers are not well trained and they have zero tolerance for the kids.I recommend this school only for its excellent academics and discipline.I wish parents would have more say and more involvement within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2005

I had to pull my child out. No discipline and very poor in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2005

Academically advanced, with emphasis on math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2005

This school has poor quality involvement. Many of the teachers are unreliable and not active. I think that if they had more qualified teachers and more deparments and extracuriccular activities than i think that it would be a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Razi School is a very good school. I have a child in 8th grade and came to Razi School when she was in the 2nd grade. The most important thing to me in this school is that they are very high in discipline and teachings and it is all in an Islamic environment. The students and especially the teachers are very nice and not once has my daughter been bullied by someone. So if you are a Muslim brother or sister and wants your child to be in a well-disciplined Islamic environment, then this is the place for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 63% N/A
White 18% 52%
Black 12% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ghassan Elcheikhali
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic
Associations
  • ISLA
  • NCEA
  • NIPSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Arabic languages

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55-11 Queens Blvd
Woodside, NY 11377
Phone: (718) 779-0711

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Teresa School
Woodside, NY


P.S. 150
Long Island City, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT