Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Orchard School 1

Posted September 21, 2013
- a community member
The students don't get the help they required. I am so disappointed with the staff. There are two boys that fight at least 4 times a week and they still keep them in the same classroom and cottage. They are risking their lives and the staff.

The Orchard School 1

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
In spite of a change in admin. I had an identical experience as the parent Apr.2,2004. My child was also harmed both physically & emotionally by staff due to lack of training and understanding of my child's disability. I spent 3 years working with staff. I paid for professionals to help. Every agreement regarding teaching & behavior mgmt was kept for two weeks, then they returned to threats, coercion & physical restraints. My child was told constantly that this was the last chance before prison. Against NYS regs he was sent home constantly, and isolated upon return.Related services weren't given, testing mods not followed. Serious internal breakdown between psychologists and staff working directly with students. I lost time, money, & jobs because of the amount of time admin forced me to keep my child at home. Tried medications that were recommended, admin made lots of promises of help then went behind my back and put in paperwork to have my child put into a residential facility. Teaching staff poorly trained also. Many meltdowns were actually caused by staff and could have been avoided with proper approach. Students on the spectrum do not belong here. Regrets. Should have left.
1 person found this helpful


The Orchard School 4

Posted March 15, 2011
- a parent
This program offers a safe, flexible & nurturing setting for children with special needs. The staff offers a balance of well structured programs, with much needed emotional support & a commitment to academic development. The clinical staff provide excellent family support. The Campus is peaceful, beautiful & offers a stress free environment for the children. I recommend this school . I only wish they provided a high school & an after-school program for the day treatment students.
1 person found this helpful

The Orchard School 1

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
The Orchard School was adequate, but the residential portion of the Andrus Children's Center is a disaster.
1 person found this helpful

The Orchard School 5

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
The Orchard School provides a calm, supportive environment that is tailor made to the needs of each individual child. Goals are set and when met new ones are set. This parent is a huge supporter of the Orchard School!!!


The Orchard School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2008
- a student
andrus is the bes school for children with disabilities it hels kids with there copeing skills and to get along with outher children and not throw tantrums it also teaches us to be responcible with our work and do veary good in school. for intstence if a child is good and hand in all his/her homework for three months the become an achiver. Being an achiver is a privlage u have to continue to do well in school because you are being a roll modle for the younger kids. An achiver gets to walk around the school with out staff but as long as they have permision but lets say the child stops doing there home work and class work there achiver level is suspended for two weeks . during that time student has to start to do well again to regain his/her achiver level.
1 person found this helpful

The Orchard School 1

Posted June 21, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Orchard School 2

Posted April 02, 2004
- a parent
Our child was mistreated at this school/ physically harmed by a T/A. Many aids do not have higher level educations and are not adequately informed about the children's disabilities, yet they interact with these children everyday. Our experience: the school suffers from communication problems among staff impeding the passing along of critical info and appropriate intervention. The grounds are beautiful, however that is no indication that the children are properly served. Upon placement at this school, the administration made promises they did not keep and as a result, did not follow our child's IEP. After 18 months of advocacy without results, we became jaded by lots of lip service. Rather than pinpointing the child's disability through effective evaluation, this school is rather quick to advise meds. Since this school groups children by disability, it may not be uncommon for students to be functioning across 5 grade levels in one classroom.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Orchard School
1156 North Broadway, Yonkers, NY  10701
(914) 965-3700
Last modified The Orchard School is a Private school that serves grades 1-10
The Orchard School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top