Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yonkers Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 631 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2014

Unfortunately if your child is not an honor roll student the teachers here do not care about them ... It's sad . They were not helpful or encouraging and very inconsistent... If your child is an A student great send them here so they can get into the high school. If not PLEASE do yourself a favor and find a better school even if they are average students they will be ignored even by the principal and vice principal who could care less about helping these children ... Very sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2014

Greetings Everyone! I've been reading everyone's comments and all have been helpful, although I have been getting mixed singles with some postings. But I'm thinking of relocating to Yonkers and I'm a bit unfamiliar with choosing the right, safe neighborhoods for my two boys and not to mention I'm a bit limited because I don't have a car. I'm looking for low income rental so I figured I would base majority of my apartment search on or near a good middle school, although I have one child in college and the other in middle (nuts)..But how is the living area around Pearls Hawthorn school or any neighboring schools? And if anyone know if colleges are near as well that would be great as well.. Any suggestions or resources are welcome...


Posted July 22, 2009

I am very greatful that I chosed this school for my daughter. She is a high honor stuedent in the IB program, and will be on the 7th. grade next year. Great teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My husband and I were a little scared to send or daughter to a public middle school in Yonkers. She really wanted to try so we let her and we are very pleased with our decision. She is a high honor student and worked very hard to get there. Her teachers were very helpful and were always there on email to help us. She just finished 6th grade and we are very pleased with the school and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

i think this is a great school for me because the teachers could teach me a lot of stuff i would need to know to get into a good collage
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2006

My daughter began 6th grade here (originally a PEARLS student), then we moved out of state. She is now in 8th grade and still misses this school. Don't let the ugly building fool you. Her teachers were all very approachable by phone and e-mail. Each one of them worked tirelessly to give my daughter all the tools she needed to move on. The office staff was always polite and inviting, and the principal was tough, but fair. For a city school that will naturally face city problems...The constant threat of budget cuts, program cuts, etc., I feel this school will thrive because of the strength and character of all under its roof. The IB program is tough and not for everyone, but what a great height the bar is set at this school. This is a great Yonkers School if you can get in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

180 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

274 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

275 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 53% 23%
Black 2 25% 19%
White 2 16% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 28%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 285%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 64%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JANE WERMUTH

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Rockland Ave
Yonkers, NY 10705
Phone: (914) 376-8200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Peter's School
Yonkers, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT