Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Asheville High 1

Posted July 14, 2014
- a parent
They will take a good care of their own! Politics and low integrity can lead to low motivation and self-esteem, which is the opposite of what they promise. It is bad that we entrust the most precious in our lives - our children whom they can inflict life long damage.
1 person found this helpful

Asheville High 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a Freshman at AHS. She absolutely love it here and say her teachers are the best she has ever had. There is a strong sense of comrodery amoungst this diverse group of kids and they truly care for each other. She has never seen bullying, is academically challenged (she takes honors level classes) and really appreaciates how hard the faculty and staff work to accomodate each kid's needs. As a parent, I can't help but think what this (and other NC) schools could do if there hadn't budget cuts by the governor and legislature.


Asheville High 2

Posted January 05, 2014
- a student
I'm sorry but I gotta give this a lower rating just because my time there wasn't all that great. Of course, There were some students that went there and had the time of there life, couldn't be happier. It's just that some of those students aren't the best kids in the whole world. What I mean was there was a lot of bullying. Mostly these were kids from I'd say the ghetto, and it just seemed like they had nothing better to do than tease other kids for no good reason. And the reason why there are so many police officers there is just because of the amount of fights that go on there. By the time I left, there was a cop around every corner because a fight happened pretty much everyday. The only reason I'm rating it as high as two stars is because everything else about it is amazon. The faculty, education, and programs they had were pretty awesome.

Asheville High 2

Posted May 27, 2012
- a community member
I liked the school but a lot of the classes are below average and I was just not impressed.

Asheville High 5

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
I absolutely agree with the review below, Asheville High is the best combination of diversity and quality I have ever experienced. It's a microcosm offering students a taste of the real world, those who have and those who have not; but with educational choices including AP offerings that beat the regions top private schools, Mandarin Chinese with a journey to Beijing and Shanghai. Yet kids who are going straight into the workforce have amazing opportunities as well through connections with the local hospital and 2 year college. As a parent of a sophomore, I could not be happier. Asheville High is an American treasure!


Asheville High 5

Posted July 29, 2011
- a parent
The point to remember when looking at the ratings, is that some schools are simply more diverse than others. Asheville High is one of those schools. They track your kids, meaning, if you have a super bright kid, they will be in classes with other bright kids. If your kid has special needs, they will be in a class with other special needs classes. If your child is gifted and scholarly, very college minded, this is the place for you. Lots of AP classes. If your child is handy and wants a trade background with no plans for college, this is the place for you. Great training and preparation. I sent three kids here. One was bookish and went to the Ivy League, one was a jock and went on to Carolina, one wasn't academic, but went to a cooking school and is happy owning her own cafe. They were each well-served by this gorgeous diverse school. The reason the scores are lower (it's ranked a 4) is because ALL types of kids go here. It's not a warehouse for rich kids, or poor kids, like other high schools in the county. ALL types of kids attend here. They end up getting together in the extra curricular areas. Racial diverse, just terrific. It's what public school should be, the great equalizer.

Asheville High 5

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
Faculty is wonderful. An extraordinary array of Advanced Placement classes. Bill Sanderson's AP biology class is reason enough by itself to attend Asheville High. Guidance Department, however, seems overwhelmed and listless, although there are exceptions (Mrs. Walker; Ms. Gilliam)

Asheville High 5

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
Abundance of AP classes offered. Amazing theatre department. Strong, supportive and creative inner city school.


Asheville High 5

Posted May 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Asheville High 5

Posted August 27, 2008
- a student
I am a student recently graduated from AHS and couldn't have imagined going to any other school in Western North Carolina. The teachers are amazing, helpful, and engaging. The school itself is one of the most beautiful, and the city surrounding it is one of the best to raise a child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Asheville High
419 McDowell Street, Asheville, NC  28803
(828) 255-5352
Last modified Asheville High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Asheville High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.