Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Blowing Rock Elementary 2

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
I agree that some teachers show favoritism to certain students and parents. They refer to students in a negative way during casual conversations with other parents. It is not a positive environment in which to learn.

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
We have four children at this school and have had a great experience. I disagree with some of the negative posts from earlier years. There is much family support from a caring community.


Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school and great community! Have had great teachers who truly care and it shows in the results of the testing!

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
Great school and amazing education. So pleased with what this school offers my children on a daily/yearly basis.

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Standards are high at this school, and teachers try very hard to help all students who are not performing up to these standards. Unfortunately, parents often view these endeavors as attempts to "label" their children. It seems as if one disgruntled parent has attempted to bring down the overall rating of this school by rating it "1 star" twice on Oct. 11, 2010. The school is great. It has amazing community support and some really caring & energetic teachers. There are a few teachers here who are not perfect, but that's the case everywhere, isn't it? The key is that parents need to remember that they are working with the teachers to serve their children's best interests.


Blowing Rock Elementary 1

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I have to aggree with all of the parents that say the teachers and administration only take care of a select few students. They don't treat the children equally.

Blowing Rock Elementary 1

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
There is a culture of arogance at this school. The teachers label the kids that they think won't score high on the state tests so that they can be kept from causing the schools rating to drop. They are not interested in the childrens success just their own reputation. Wish I could sell my house and move to another district

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
I was very worried about my child starting a new school but we have been so happy about our experience here. The teachers and staff have been very helpful. I especially like the positive reinforcement of good behavior!! Keep up the good work.


Blowing Rock Elementary 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
Our community's school deserves the best resources possible for the children of this wonderful mountain community.

Blowing Rock Elementary 1

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
The School is not one of the best. The teachers are not treating the children equally.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blowing Rock Elementary
165 Morris Street, Blowing Rock, NC  28605
(828) 295-3204
Last modified Blowing Rock Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blowing Rock Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.