Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
And absolutely NO favoritism....that parent obviosly has some parenting issues....discipline your child to do their best in school, respect teachers, principals and those in authority. Quit blaming others for your childs short-comings in the classroom and start taking some blame yourself.

Blowing Rock Elementary 2

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
I agree that some teachers show favoritism to certain students and parents. They refer to students in a negative way during casual conversations with other parents. It is not a positive environment in which to learn.


Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted September 07, 2013
- a parent
We have four children at this school and have had a great experience. I disagree with some of the negative posts from earlier years. There is much family support from a caring community.

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted December 07, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school and great community! Have had great teachers who truly care and it shows in the results of the testing!

Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted January 02, 2012
- a parent
Great school and amazing education. So pleased with what this school offers my children on a daily/yearly basis.


Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted January 10, 2011
- a parent
Standards are high at this school, and teachers try very hard to help all students who are not performing up to these standards. Unfortunately, parents often view these endeavors as attempts to "label" their children. It seems as if one disgruntled parent has attempted to bring down the overall rating of this school by rating it "1 star" twice on Oct. 11, 2010. The school is great. It has amazing community support and some really caring & energetic teachers. There are a few teachers here who are not perfect, but that's the case everywhere, isn't it? The key is that parents need to remember that they are working with the teachers to serve their children's best interests.

Blowing Rock Elementary 1

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I have to aggree with all of the parents that say the teachers and administration only take care of a select few students. They don't treat the children equally.

Blowing Rock Elementary 1

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
There is a culture of arogance at this school. The teachers label the kids that they think won't score high on the state tests so that they can be kept from causing the schools rating to drop. They are not interested in the childrens success just their own reputation. Wish I could sell my house and move to another district


Blowing Rock Elementary 5

Posted September 10, 2010
- a parent
I was very worried about my child starting a new school but we have been so happy about our experience here. The teachers and staff have been very helpful. I especially like the positive reinforcement of good behavior!! Keep up the good work.

Blowing Rock Elementary
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a community member
Our community's school deserves the best resources possible for the children of this wonderful mountain community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Blowing Rock Elementary
165 Morris Street, Blowing Rock, NC  28605
(828) 295-3204
Last modified Blowing Rock Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Blowing Rock Elementary Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top