Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 242 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


David Cox Road Elementary
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 05, 2016
- a community member
This school is such a great school!!!The principal,assistant principal, and dean of students are very warm, loving,and caring towards the staff,children,and parents. The teachers all seem to really enjoy teaching at this school because of it.The office staff are the "MOST FRIENDLIEST" !! Lunchroom and custodial staff are amazing as well. when you child comes home begging for brussels sprouts because they have super yummy ones at school ,you already know someone is throwing down in the kitchen.They have the best teachers in CMS because they genuinly care for your children and teach and encourage parents to support their children at home. If you are a parent that helps your child at home then they will sore to great heights at this school!

David Cox Road Elementary 5

Posted February 25, 2016
- a community member
My son has attended this school since Kindergarten and he loves the staff. Every time I go to the school, as a parent I feel welcomed by administration. The teachers are wonderful and keep you informed of the daily activities etc. I would highly recommend this school.


David Cox Road Elementary 1

Posted August 10, 2015
- a community member
I was bullied. every single day I would come home crying because of the students there. the teachers were even worse my first grade teacher sat behind her desk and did nothing meanwile the students were blasting the f word and dancing on tables my second grade teacher said she would wait to present the group project that I did all the work on intill I got back from flordia and when I was gone she had them present the project that I did all the work on

David Cox Road Elementary 1

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Charlotte from Simpsonville, SC. What a complete disappointment this school was. My son begged me to be home schooled. He was at David Cox for 3 weeks and I had to put him into private school. He had nothing good to say about the school, the administration, the teachers. I went to get him out of school and there was no security in the place. You rang the door bell and they buzzed you in. You could walk around the school and no one questioned your presences. I went straight to his classroom got him out. I stopped by the office to ask what I needed to do to sign him out of school and they just waved me away. That was the last straw. After seeing all the news reports of people just walking into schools and doing all sorts of unspeakable things to helpless kids, you'd think some security would be in place. That wasn't the case for this school. When I withdrew him from the school, they continued to call me for almost 3 weeks telling me that my child was absent from school. I called the school repeatedly to talk to someone about the phone messages. Til this day almost 3 months later, they haven't called me back.

David Cox Road Elementary 5

Posted July 27, 2012
- a parent
David Cox is one of the best schools in the district. I'm so glad that my children go to this school. The teachers work so hard and thier focus is 100% on the children. Focusing on the EOG testing from the beginning of the school year really helped my children's test scores. The staff provides a warm and safe environment, that I didn't feel there previous school. I'm looking forward to the next school year.


David Cox Road Elementary
no rating

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
David Cox is a wonderful school, with a great environment conducive to learning. I wouldn't have my children be taught elsewhere.

David Cox Road Elementary
no rating

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since kindergarten and she loves it!

David Cox Road Elementary
no rating

Posted November 09, 2010
- a parent


David Cox Road Elementary 5

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
My kids have shown tremendous improvement since going to David Cox.

David Cox Road Elementary 5

Posted November 05, 2010
- a parent
They are so friendly and family oriented.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

David Cox Road Elementary
4215 David Cox Rd, Charlotte, NC  28269
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 242 reviews. (980) 343-6540
Last modified David Cox Road Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top