Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Northwest School Of The Arts 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
My daughter is a student at this school. The class sizes are too large for many classes (44 in her math class). She did not have an English teacher for the first 2 months of school. The teachers that she had her previous year were horrible at communication-I had to get the principal involved just to get a response from a teacher when my child was absent due to a broken bone. We are moving at the end of this year-CMS schools are horrible-underfunded. Some of the teachers are great-but they are starting to leave for higher paying states.

Northwest School Of The Arts
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
The teachers my son had were a waste of a degree. How do you take an incoming honor roll student, that tests with the highest IQ at your school and one of the highest in the country, let him fall to a C and D student and not wonder what happened? And when he took the EOG's he was almost perfect on all of them. Obviously he's not a C and D student.


Northwest School Of The Arts
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
There was a lot of homework. So much so that our son was constantly playing catch up even though he was doing work from the time he got home until 10pm.

Northwest School Of The Arts
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
This school has developed nothing in our son. I am just thankful we were able to get him out and into Piedmont.

Northwest School Of The Arts
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
I really don't feel one way or another about this question. We developed respect in our child before sending him off to school.


Northwest School Of The Arts
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
My child was hospitalized and the teachers could care less about helping him get caught up.

Northwest School Of The Arts 4

Posted August 24, 2014
- a student
I am a graduate of the class of 2015 and I must say I am very impressed with this school! It's arts classes are among the best in the county. And I am always impressed by the great diversity of the school. Now the academics are not always the best, but comparatively speaking they are very good for CMS. That being said, if your child is not very interested in the arts, performing arts, music, or dance they might not enjoy it as much since there is emphasis placed on the arts. But overall, it is still a pretty good school academically, and with it's arts program and communities it's among the best in the state! However, be for a long commute if you live far from the school. Or plan on using the shuttle bus system if that is not possible.

Northwest School Of The Arts 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a student
I've been a student at NWSA since 6th grade and will be graduating with the class of 2015 from NWSA. My overall experience at this school has been a journey. The staff is so hilarious/diverse and welcoming of each and every student. This is the school any child/teen should go to if they want to perfect their art. Somehow and someway the academic staff can always find a way to incorporate a students art into academics. We all get a huge amount of opportunities to become professionals at what we love to do. If you send you kid to this marvelous school, you will not regret it. Northwest is simply the BEST!


Northwest School Of The Arts 4

Posted July 19, 2014
- a student
This is a very diverse and cultured place! Many different kinds of people and personalities. Core classes are good, but could be improved. Arts classes are EXCELLENT! Band is my major and we are still growing, but each individual has phenominal musical abilities! Theater programs have had some tallented actors/actresses! NWSA won 9 out of the 12 blumey awards in 2014 (BEST MUSICAl, Best actor, best actress, Best supporting actor, Best supporting actress, Best featured preformer, Best overall direction, Best ensemble/chorus, Best choreography execution.) Ms.Saigon in london this year is staring a NWSA 2014 graduate. Many other major accomplishments have been made by NWSA students! Overall great school!

Northwest School Of The Arts 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
This is in rebuttle to the post below. This is clearly false information and is slanderous to the school. If this person truly knew anything about NWSA, they would know that the middle school has a very strong theater department. All someone has to do, is pick up a monthly school calender or view the calender online. NWSA also provides opportunities outside of the school to help students in middle and high school further their theater career. The school has a rigorous and challenging academic program which may be what this person is chaffing at. There is a great blend of academics and art which is a rare find in today's public schools. And the teachers that I have come in contact with are passionate about their students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwest School Of The Arts
1415 Beatties Ford Rd, Charlotte, NC  28216
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (980) 343-5500
Last modified Northwest School Of The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top