Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Charlotte, NC
Students enrolled: 1,696
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Charlotte High 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
When you read so many post that a school "isn't that bad" or "isn't that violent" then yes...it is that bad or that violent. West Charlotte 2013 test scores in math (9.7 out of 100) and reading (24.4 out of 100) are abysmal at best. Crime is everywhere (CMPD Crime map). I attended this school and I can assure all, my child will not make that same mistake.
1 person found this helpful

West Charlotte High 1

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
Teacher involvement is very high at West Charlotte, Counselors respond quickly to any communication via Internet or personal phone call. Yes, West Charlotte tend to get a negative views---this is coming from the media also. Security is great, Officer Brown is on point--just come by and watch. Has a good relationship with students. I live on the West Side, and Love it. My son attends West Charlotte--and enjoys it also. Following a legacy of past West Charlotteans. In every school you have issues going on, however at West Charlotte the outside tends to make sure they are there to report anyting negative. A School is as strong as the support it receives, and I don't mean monetary.


West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted June 20, 2009
- a student
West charlotte is a graet school. my Mama, my Brother, and my sister all graduated from here and im next. Im excited to attend WC because of all the great scholarship and community service opprutunities that are given there.

West Charlotte High 4

Posted October 03, 2008
- a student
Yes the attitude of MANY of the students at West Charlotte is undesirable, but the staff is wonderful. They are constantly checking up on you and keeping you out of trouble. The staff that teaches IB and AP courses don't play games AT ALL, unlike what people outside of the school seem to think. Extracurriculars are amazing and there is a club for EVERYONE. The principal is the most encouraging person. And as for the student survey that states only 15% percent felt safe..it's bull...The rare fights that do take place are quickly contained, and how can the staff stop fights anyway..It's student drama..it happens... so lets cut all this bad talk about West Charlotte and actually try to encourage the students.

West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
Hey I think that west charlotte is a great high school.


West Charlotte High 4

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in the Emerging Leaders group. I love it!

West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to W Chalotte this year. What we heard was horrible. The truth? West Charlotte is as safe as other better rated schools,the staff is qualified and cares about the students.The principal seems to be a real leader,the students welcome new students.....So,do not judge before meeting the good people there! {Just for you to know,my daughter was at Providence High before.I was worried.I am not anymore.}

West Charlotte High 4

Posted October 18, 2006
- a parent
There are a lot of things about West Charlotte Senior High School that the media neglect to tell you: 1. It was the safest school in the school system in 2005-2006. 2. West Charlotte seniors earned over $3,000,000 in academic scholarships 2005-2006. 3. The JROTC Program was the Best in the school system in 2005-2006. 4. The Marching Band Program remains one of the top programs in the entire region. The faculty and students mean business. They know about all the negative media reports concerning their school and other schools in the system and they will let their results speak for themselves.


West Charlotte High 5

Posted July 10, 2006
- a student
West Charlotte Senior High School is truly a blessing from God. Its rich history, alumnae association, and Lion Pride will never keep this school down too long. WCHS has produced too many scholars, athletes, and community leaders to be considered a school of failure. WCHS is probably one of the few high schools in Charlotte where the staff truly cares about you and your future. I can remember the day Dr. Lee (former principal) called every senior with at least a 3.0 out of class to apply for the Charlotte Post top senior awards. Believe it or not, everyone was accepted. WCHS had the most students honored as Charlotte Post top seniors in 2003. West Charlotte is truly a wonderful school. Through academics, student activities, and athletics, WCHS will prepare your child for the future. -Class of 2003, President

West Charlotte High 5

Posted May 21, 2005
- a student
West Charlotte is a GREAT school. There is no way that the media, or test scores can reflect the true West Charlotte Senior High School. I believe that in the 2003-2004 school year, West Charlotte brought in more scholarship money ($2.7 million dollars) than all CMS schools. I think that is pretty good for a low-performing school. Before you start judging my school, maybe you should spend some time on the campus first. Then you can form you own opinion, instead of believing what everyone tells you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Charlotte High
2219 Senior Drive, Charlotte, NC  28216
(980) 343-6060
Last modified West Charlotte High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Charlotte High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top