Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Charlotte High 1

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
Honestly, as a parent, I felt like the schools administration was highly disrespectful. They didn't care about how we as parents of the students attending this school felt on certain situations such a school fights, horrible test scores, and the amount of people skipping school on a daily basis. I feel this this school is content with it's bad tactics, and low exceptions.

West Charlotte High
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 11, 2016
- a parent
A parent by the name of Kory Benson volunteered to be the tutor for some of the 9th grade students. She is very respectful, humble, trust-worthy, and kind. She has helped many students who WANTED help to learn the things that they needed including my son. He has improved on this math skills tremendously since then, he is now an A and B student. Sadly she got a job offer about 3 months ago but she has surely left a mark on the students that she has helped.


West Charlotte High 1

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
When you read so many post that a school "isn't that bad" or "isn't that violent" then yes...it is that bad or that violent. West Charlotte 2013 test scores in math (9.7 out of 100) and reading (24.4 out of 100) are abysmal at best. Crime is everywhere (CMPD Crime map). I attended this school and I can assure all, my child will not make that same mistake.

West Charlotte High 1

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
Teacher involvement is very high at West Charlotte, Counselors respond quickly to any communication via Internet or personal phone call. Yes, West Charlotte tend to get a negative views---this is coming from the media also. Security is great, Officer Brown is on point--just come by and watch. Has a good relationship with students. I live on the West Side, and Love it. My son attends West Charlotte--and enjoys it also. Following a legacy of past West Charlotteans. In every school you have issues going on, however at West Charlotte the outside tends to make sure they are there to report anyting negative. A School is as strong as the support it receives, and I don't mean monetary.

West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted June 20, 2009
- a student
West charlotte is a graet school. my Mama, my Brother, and my sister all graduated from here and im next. Im excited to attend WC because of all the great scholarship and community service opprutunities that are given there.


West Charlotte High 4

Posted October 03, 2008
- a student
Yes the attitude of MANY of the students at West Charlotte is undesirable, but the staff is wonderful. They are constantly checking up on you and keeping you out of trouble. The staff that teaches IB and AP courses don't play games AT ALL, unlike what people outside of the school seem to think. Extracurriculars are amazing and there is a club for EVERYONE. The principal is the most encouraging person. And as for the student survey that states only 15% percent felt safe..it's bull...The rare fights that do take place are quickly contained, and how can the staff stop fights anyway..It's student drama..it happens... so lets cut all this bad talk about West Charlotte and actually try to encourage the students.

West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted January 08, 2008
- a parent
Hey I think that west charlotte is a great high school.

West Charlotte High 4

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
My daughter is in the Emerging Leaders group. I love it!


West Charlotte High
no rating

Posted October 03, 2007
- a parent
My daughter was transferred to W Chalotte this year. What we heard was horrible. The truth? West Charlotte is as safe as other better rated schools,the staff is qualified and cares about the students.The principal seems to be a real leader,the students welcome new students.....So,do not judge before meeting the good people there! {Just for you to know,my daughter was at Providence High before.I was worried.I am not anymore.}

West Charlotte High 4

Posted October 18, 2006
- a parent
There are a lot of things about West Charlotte Senior High School that the media neglect to tell you: 1. It was the safest school in the school system in 2005-2006. 2. West Charlotte seniors earned over $3,000,000 in academic scholarships 2005-2006. 3. The JROTC Program was the Best in the school system in 2005-2006. 4. The Marching Band Program remains one of the top programs in the entire region. The faculty and students mean business. They know about all the negative media reports concerning their school and other schools in the system and they will let their results speak for themselves.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Charlotte High
2219 Senior Dr, Charlotte, NC  28216
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (980) 343-6060
Last modified West Charlotte High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top