Advertisement

Adventist Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 95 students

We are best known for quality Christian program.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $319,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

ACA is a GREAT school with wonderful caring Christian teachers. Both of my children have attended for many years and my wife and I have both been on the school board at different times throughout the years. The school provides a safe place for our children to learn and grow spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

This school is a wonderful mix of traditional values and moral training with cutting edge educational techniques and service oriented, projects based, instruction.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2009

This is a great school and will have my daughter stay here. It is a safe and loving school. My child has done so well in the school. I tell my friends and co-workers how great the school and teachers are
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

The other reviews tell it all. My child started last year at aca and she is going back this year. She truly looks foward to going to school. I highly recommend ACA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

This is a wonderful, loving, academically challenging and Christ-centered school for children of all faiths and nationalities. My son went there through 10th grade, and now my youngest is there. 11th grade is being added, and I know they will be a full day-academy by the time she enters high school. Highly recommended if you want a Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I don't think I could have said it better myself! I love this school but only wish it did not stop at the 10th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have two students in this school. Two and a half years ago I was looking for a school when we visited ACA. The teachers, students, secretary and principal greeted us with the same warmth then that we receive today. We are not Adventists, but their demonstration of all that is right with Christianity almost persuades us. The school is diverse. The teachers are professionals with high expectations. The safety and discipline is top-notch. Every single thing I expected for my children can be found at ACA. My one regret is that ACA stops at 10th grade!Call Ms. Barbara Forquier, a sweet wonderful first introduction to the school. Speak with Mr. Caswell, principal and musician. Don't miss a meeting with Mr. Carleton, the sixth grade teacher with a list of rules that all 6th graders love. Even now I wonder what my life would have been like if I hadn't met Ms. Ritterscamp and Ms. McCoy. These ladies redefine teacher. ACA is like having a home school that you don't have to teach yourself. The school provides nuturing of the mind and spirit, intense study, community service, and fun. I couldn't tell you all this if I had more children because I wouldn't want it to get much larger. My 10th grader will have to leave after this year and my 9th grader has one more year. They LOVE it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 11%
White 36% 53%
Black 16% 32%
Two or more races 8% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gerard Ban
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Southern Adventist University
Southwestern Adventist University
Andrews University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Emory Ln
Charlotte, NC 28211
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 366-4351

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Randolph Ib Middle
Charlotte, NC


Cotswold Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Rama Road Elementary
Charlotte, NC


Philips Academy
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT