Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Victory Christian Center School

Private | K-12 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charlotte

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $107,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 9, 2009

My son is in K4 and began in K3. The teachers at this school are the best teachers and people I have met. I fell in love with the school because of their high standards. I was skeptical about sending my son until I attended the informative meeting. By the middle of the meeting, I had made a decision my son would attend from K3 until high school graduation. The school has a strict discipline policy which I love. While they expect students to learn a lot, the teachers take the time to make sure the lessons relate to the kids. They don't just give kids worksheets and expect the students to learn. My son has already learned things that are on CMS' end of year 1st grade requirements. I am constantly amazed at the amount of material my son learns in one day, from bible stories to 'regular' items.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

VCCS is an excellent school. One of my three children attended from K3 to 12th grade and graduated last year with honors. The other two are still students here. Christian values as well as high academics are taught at every grade level the school. The sports program has many options to offer in the development of the students. The administrators and teachers practice what they preach and set the example of how to conduct yourself whether they are on the clock or not. Also they really have an interest in the success of ALL of the students. My children will attend no other elementary, middle or high school than VCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2007

My children have gone to schools in several states, Europe, and the Caribbean. Victory Christian Center surpasses any school that they have ever attended. The emphasis on rock solid Christian values and academics is an unbeatable combination. The sports programs and other extracurricular activities are icing on the cake, and the forward thinking leadership is the cherry on top. As both an educator and a parent I don't believe that it gets much better than Victory Christian Center School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

The education level at Victory is above other schools in the area. My only concern is that parents aren't allowed to visit the school, eat lunch with their children or sit in classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2007

I graduated from Victory many years ago. While I didn't always appreciate the structure, I have always felt that the school did a pretty good job preparing me to succeed after I left. The academics are solid. The graduation requirements are far ahead of normal Charlotte School system graduation requirements. Parents receive weekly grade reports that must be signed and returned to the school. There are also yearly parent-teacher conf, and even a time where parents come eat a special lunch with their kids during the school day. VCS does place a heavy emphases on athletics, especially basketball and football; and their teams regularly compete well in the Charlotte-metro area. VCS is definitely more than just a nominal Christian school. They teachers and administration really do care about the spiritual well being of the students. The school is far from perfect, but I plan on sending my kids there in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

Victory Christian School is an excellent school of for any child age 4-18 to attend. They use the Beka Book System and the children are well in advance of public school children their age. They had two students to receive the NASA summer scholarship last year. There were less than 100 recipeints to recieve this award from any US school public or private. That speaks for the school itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 32%
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 53%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Michael Pratt
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ORUEF

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 Carrier Dr. & 7224 Old Pineville Rd.
Charlotte, NC 28216
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 391-7339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

J W Seabrook Elementary
Fayetteville, NC





Central Elementary
Elizabeth City, NC


Cordova School
Cordova, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT