Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Endhaven Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 739 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 17, 2014

My kids have not enjoyed going to this school. One was bullied and my other child was made to run laps (without my knowledge for weeks) for talking. This school has long hours and no homework so you never know how the kids are doing, that is until you finally had enough and pull them out and find out they are both working WELL below grade level and Endhaven doesn't really care and keeps passing them because of their age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Endhaven is an excellent school. The boys love it there and their Teachers. Thank you for your excellent teaching skills and focus on each child that comes into your rooms.


Posted October 23, 2013

Parents are very engaged in the daily basis at Endhaven. I am glad I decided to live in Endhaven neighborhood to have my children attending Endhaven Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I just love Endhaven,, the staff and curriculum is great and my daughter is very happy there. Great team and healthy enviroment. We moved from NYC 2 years ago and this is just heaven for us !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

This school is great academically and when it comes to the interaction of the teachers and staff with the students. My child also had an issue with bullying but the teachers handled everything straight away. My only issue is with the assistant principal and her lack of compassion and overzealous behavior when it comes to handing out punishments without a full investigation of situations. The new principal seems as if he will be hands on and I know that I will have no issues with the assistant principal this year. All in all, except for the assistant principal, the school is fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

great school with great teachers compromise to teach our children's the best of them but they just need more electronics that would help them work better thank you so much for help schools in need of equipment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My daughter's first year in the public school system. She loves it!!! Every one has been so sweet to her from the office staff to all Teachers. She loves feeling comfortable in a new place. Everyone works together. It's a team .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The principal is a highly visible leader, whom I believe has done an excellent job of setting expectations for staff and students. The office staff is friendly and helpful, and the teachers are excellent with the kids. I know this runs contrary to what others have written, but that has been my experience. I am concerned and disappointed to read about the bullying problem another student endured. My son is finishing first grade at Endhaven. For kindergarten, I believe the substantial effort on the part of the teachers was to get unprepared students up to speed while still trying to progress students who began school with the basic skills under their belts. First grade has been a bit more business as usual without much challenge, but I think it s transitional in the right direction. The school has a good character education program and opportunities for supplemental education at home and online. The PTA is active and contributes significantly to the school s success. The facility was built in 2003, is well maintained, clean and conducive to learning. In-school technology is progressing well with a sizable computer lab room and a smart board in almost every classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

If you are a caring parent and do not want you children being bullied at school, then this school is not the place to send your children. My child had a very bad experience at this school with being bullied that went on for months. When teachers were informed and knew of the problem, all I ever got told as a parent was "they were working on it". However this is not something that should be worked on for months especially when its physical abuse from another child. It never got resolved and still continued. Eventually it was taken out on my child for speaking up by the teachers. After contacting the principle and never getting a phone call/email/conference and basically being pushed off as a parent, the only solution was to pull my child out of the school and put into a different school. This is not something any child should have to go through, and as a parent if you have to send your child to school you expect that the teachers/ principle will protect them. Not the case at Endhaven Elem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

Parents are welcome for lunch time and volunteering. The office is always open and Ms.Susan is such a great help whenever I have needed help. She is a great listener, takes action and even remember our names. Most office staff members has been very warm and welcoming. The teachers are always smiling and I have never seen anyone mistreat a child. My child loves all the teachers. I just wish the teacher will be more proactive with communication (sometimes feedback takes a few days) , that been said, I have to say she is a great teacher and challenges the kids, my child is doing great. Carpool is well organized; parents are the ones that seem to forget is a school and like to speed a little after the pick up the kids (we never know when a child will get out of nowhere to were the cars are). I cannot say much about the principal, because I have not needed to have any direct interaction, but in the meetings she answers every questions from parents. The school is very clean and neat. The only thing that worries me, is security, but this is a concern that I have with every public school, where they don't have fences or security guards. This is something that CMS should work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

We recently relocated to Charlotte. The schools teacher are engaged and personable. The staff and principal are not on my favorite list, but is a work in progress, and the school lack of new technology compared from where my kids come from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2012

I move to Charlotte from another Country and I was very surprised with the Endhaven school, specially coming from a Country where we can't count on the public education system. My son had a hard time on the first 10 days (adapting to the new school/life) but now he loves the school and constantly say that it is the best part of our country change. The teachers are very nice with the kids and the parents. They are always smiling and engaged with the schools activities, I can tell most of them really like to work there. I guess the ladies at the front office could be more helpful and nice. The kids receive attention and I also feel the staff try to teach a lot of values too! The school has a lot of different programs to engage staff, teachers, kids and parents, which I find really great. I think the school is only part of my children education so I really like to be involved, and I feel I am at Endhaven.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2012

My children have attended Endhaven since 2007. Overall the school is professional, welcoming, committed to children and constantly strives to keep children at the center of all it does. The teaching methods reflect what current research says about how children should learn. The staff consists of highly trained teachers and the administrative staff has clear vision and appropriate goals for the future. In addition, the parents are very involved in the academic and social life of the school. Few schools exceed your expectations. This one comes close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

The staff is so rude, with the exception of the principle. The ladies in the office act mean and sirly. Not what I want for my child. The teachers don't seem prepared to handle things within the classroom, or are just not seasoned enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

Lack of compassion for the children. Staff is there just for a job and not for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

This is my daughters second year at Endhaven. I like the way all teachers support all the students, not just their class. I also like that all teachers know who I am- Not my my name but by D's Mom-lol My daughter has learned so much in the past year and this year! A lot more than I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

We just move to NC from Fl and I love Endhaven Elementary school. The teachers and the principal are very much involve with the kids. This is a very good school I recommended to anyone who is looking for an elementary school in Charlotte,NC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2009

My 1st grader are not getting any homework, we are not happy about it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

This is an excellent school. My son loves it and the staff there is great. My daughter will be starting there this year and Im so glad to have found such a great school for my children to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

Excellent school - great staff. A little over crowded with some tailers that should fixed for the '08-'09 year given the off load to Ballantyne Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students57%
Female52%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students61%
Female59%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students67%
Limited English proficiency27%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students56%
Female61%
Male53%
Black35%
Asian83%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students47%
Female55%
Male43%
Black30%
Asian58%
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students51%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically gifted92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Female63%
Male66%
Black53%
Asian71%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students71%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students51%
Female49%
Male53%
Black53%
Asian50%
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted91%

Science

All Students64%
Female58%
Male70%
Black53%
Asian50%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities8%
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 52%
Hispanic 15% 14%
Black 14% 26%
Asian 13% 3%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6815 Endhaven Lane
Charlotte, NC 28277
Website: Click here
Phone: (980) 343-5436

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mcalpine Elementary
Charlotte, NC




Chesterbrook Academy
Charlotte, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT