Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Kipp: Charlotte 4

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
I don't understand why an administrator's personal facebook postings are an issue. That has absolutely nothing to do with their ability to perform their professional duties. Why are you stalking their Facebook page anyhow? Let's not be petty. Are things at KIPP Charlotte perfect? Absolutely not! There is much improvement needed, however let's talk about a solution to the problems and cease with the character assassination. How about parent involvement, student accountability, how about when there is an attempt to discipline our children we stop making it seem as though everything is the teacher's/administrators/schools fault. These people don't get up in the morning and decide they're going to go to work and pick on this kid or that.... Let's treat this as it is.... The future of our children. Let's invest some time and energy into being a support to the staff so they can better perform their duties. Show up and make some copies, give a teacher a bathroom break. There is so much more we can do as parents beside complain about what's wrong. HOW ABOUT WE DO SOMETHING TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT? MS. Dawson

Kipp: Charlotte
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I want to thank Mr. Eric Harmon, 5th grade teacher at KIPP Charlotte. Mr. Harmon is determined to see his students successful. He goes above and beyond, sometimes staying on campus as late as 8pm. During spring break if I'm not mistaken, Mr. Harmon was on campus every day preparing for his students' return. He was rearranging furniture, had a carpet put in and he spends alot of money out of pocket creating incentives (cash prizes) and purchasing books for his class. He is a great educator and it's obvious that he truly cares about his students and their success.


Kipp: Charlotte
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
The new Leader at Kipp Charlotte does not have the best interest for the students. Posting unauthorized pictures of students on her personal social media pages along with seductive selfies is not professional! And does not pose great leadership qualities. The teachers who want to make a difference, unfortunately are not empowered to do so. Unless the leadership changes, ratings will continue to spiral downward!

Kipp: Charlotte 1

Posted April 15, 2016
- a parent
This school's leadership is very misleading. Although they promote strong academics, they have a very high percentage of kids with behavior problems. The Police have appeared on campus on several seperate occasions and there was no communication with parents regarding either incedent. They have a high staff turnover and teachers that remain are burnt out from the constant discipline problems in the classroom. The atmosphere feels more like an alternative school, kids run around unsupervised, dress codes are not enforced and poor communication with parents. Please do your research and don't be fooled! They "DO NOT" have a waiting list, but they will make you feel as though your decision to commit to KIPP Charlotte needs to be urgent. They focus more on keeping the enrollment numbers up, rather than preparing students for success. If you don't want your child coming home talking about being bullied, I strongly suggest you look somewhere else.

Kipp: Charlotte 4

Posted October 06, 2014
- a parent
kipp is an awesome middle school located in the charlotte-mecklenburg area.. students expectations are set high and the school communicates well and keep parents informed.. my daughter attends Kipp charlotte in the six grade. it started out to be a challenge for her because its such a different school from the norm' middle schools. student are thought how to be well disciplined, organized and focus.. its might come off as a challenge at first because the kids do get a lot of homework and attends saturday schools . but in the end it will all pay off.


Kipp: Charlotte 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
My school is one that cares about the children individually and collectively. They focus on academics and making the child feel good about learning which makes them want to learn and enjoy learning. They cater to the whole child and speak positive over the children and they are very coordial and polite to the parents. There is a positive atmosphere from the parking lot to the farthest classroom and the tone in which they speak to the children is one of love and understanding. Even in correcting behavior, it is done in love. I am excited about our upcoming year with this great learning environment.

Kipp: Charlotte 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a parent
Kipp has made tremendous progress with the students. My child was a couple of grades behind when she began; now there is no stopping her. Her grade level is where it's suppose to be and continues to grow.

Kipp: Charlotte 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
This is my son's 4th and final year at KIPP Charlotte. The teachers are excellent and dedicated to providing a challenging academic foundation for the students. The expectations are set high for the students as well as the teachers. The students have worked hard and truly understand how education is the key to their future success.


Kipp: Charlotte 4

Posted July 14, 2010
- a parent
KIPP Charlotte truly has made a difference in my son s future. Now he see's how important his education is for his future. It was a tuff up hill battle for all of us, but as I look at my son now I see the man and leader he will become.

Kipp: Charlotte 2

Posted June 23, 2010
- a parent
I would also like to state how the school does provide all school supplies and the cost of the end of the year trip; which is usually to GA, DC or NY. The school would be great If the other issues were addressed that are mentioned in my below in my below posting.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kipp: Charlotte
931 Wilann Dr, Charlotte, NC  28215
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (704) 537-2044
Last modified Kipp: Charlotte is a Charter school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top