Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
China Grove, NC
Students enrolled: 1,134

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jesse C Carson High School 4

Posted November 02, 2014
- a parent
I have had one child graduate and now another child there as a freshman. My oldest son was very popular among the students and the teachers. He played 3 sports and graduated with honors. He did not have to smoke, drink or do drugs to be popular. High School is about what you make it to be. Although we lost a great principle in Mrs Withers, I am optimistic that the new principle will do good things.

Jesse C Carson High School 4

Posted March 08, 2014
- a teacher
I have been at JCHS since we opened in 2006. We have been blessed with fine kids, teachers, and principals. As a staff, we are constantly working to get better. We strive for continuous improvement in all areas of school life. I know that my professional growth has been enhanced during my time at Jesse Carson.


Jesse C Carson High School 2

Posted January 26, 2014
- a community member
Being a student here I will say it's somewhat of a good place to learn things. Then I can turn around and say this school is terrible for everything else. Tons of people here dip everywhere and ask for bottles all the time. Then the "popular" kids are so stuck up that they don't care for anyone but themselves. If you're not willing to go to a party and smoke or drink, you're not going to be popular at all. Since I am not that type of person, I pretty much sit by myself at lunch. It's definitely safe to say that(me being a junior), I can't wait until I graduate from this school.

Jesse C Carson High School 4

Posted July 18, 2013
- a student
As a student going into my senior year I love this school it is great and i have had a great time i am really into the fine arts programs like art , chorus , and dance. It saddens me that dance may not be available to students this year and years to come. I think that ruins our Fine Arts vibe.

Jesse C Carson High School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a student
This school is amazing! I have been a student here for the past 2 years, transitioning from middle school to highschool was such an ease here. The teachers are phenomenal, who like to personally interact with each student and be more of a teacher-friend than a strict authority figure. Shows students that they care about them. As a school that is concentrated around the arts, we have an outstanding theatre program along with band, dance, chorus, art, folk art & more! The principal as of 2013 is nice and does a great job of running the school. AP classes are available here at school and although it take extra work and brain usage, kids who excel in any honors/gifted programs would pass with a high B. Only downside to AP classes is that the course is only one semester long, so it's cramming a one year college course into a semester. I would advice taking only one a semester so you don't get too overwhelmed with work. Out of the county schools, I think Carson is the best because of the teachers/staff. It has evolved already in the past two-years and I'm excited to see how it will end up being by the time I graduate. I give this school a 10 out of 10!


Jesse C Carson High School 4

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
I have had a son graduate from JC Carson in 2010 and have a son that is currently a 10th grader. I have been pleased with the school as a whole! My boys have been very happy there!

Jesse C Carson High School 5

Posted August 06, 2011
- a community member
NC School of Distinction, met High Growth, and only traditional high school to meet AYP! What more can I say!? In five years, this school is doing what all others in the district haven't in 50 years! Amazing students!

Jesse C Carson High School 1

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
Carson is a very beautiful school but seems to be more interested in overall test scores than individual learning. This is my child's last year there. He will be better educated at home.


Jesse C Carson High School 0
no rating

Posted April 04, 2010
- a student
Carson Is a Graet School I could not imagine going any where eslse.

Jesse C Carson High School 4

Posted October 26, 2009
- a student
I graduated from this institution of learning, Jesse Carson High School in 2009. It was decent the 3 years that I graced that school with my presence. The teachers were modest, you did not know really what to expect some were great teachers and others didnt even know what subject they were teaching. I did enjoy the athletics and the administration was good. Overall I enjoyed my time there... but there is some things Carson could work on.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jesse C Carson High School
290 Kress Venture Drive, China Grove, NC  28023
(704) 855-7297
Last modified Jesse C Carson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jesse C Carson High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top