Advertisement

Camelot Academy

Private | K-12 | 153 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Durham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2014

This school made a big difference in our daughter's life. She had been underserved by our local elementary school, which after many months of testing could not seem to decide whether she was "gifted" or "learning disabled". Turns out she was extremely bored with English, science, and social studies, but also needed extra help learning her math facts. The individualized curriculum at Camelot easily allowed for both, with minimal testing and "labeling", and even gave her a merit scholarship based on her high test scores. The teachers are top notch, and we've found the director to be highly responsive to parent concerns and strict but fair and very observant in her assessments. A terrific experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

Camelot has been amazing for our children. They have each been challenged academically and taught to both love learning and to work hard at it. We have had our kids at other private and public schools in the area, but Camelot has become the standard by which we judge everyone else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2011

Education is highly valued in our family and we are willing to spare no expense to ensure that our children have the best education they can possibly get. We tried Duke School, but were very disappointed in the lack of individualized curriculum - our child had almost no academic progress for the year that he went. We tried our public school, but it was barely satisfactory. We were thrilled when we found this hidden gem in the Triangle. Every day our children come home from school happy and enthusiastic. Camelot is amazingly organized. The first (partial) week of school is spent on orientation, followed by a week or so of assessment. The teachers create an individual plan for each subject for each child. I assumed the curriculum would be somewhat templated and a loose fit. However, we discovered at the 2-month conference that teachers knew exactly where each of my children were at in each topic (and subtopic) and were making sure that they were growing and being challenged in each one. Our kindergartner was started started simultaneously on multiplication, 3rd grade reading, and remedial work in telling analog time and drawing. I cannot imagine a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2011

We had a GREAT experience at Camelot. Not only did my daughter get an outstanding education that taught her how to think critically and to write well but she was also mentored by the wonderful staff and given invaluable guidance as a person. The lessons that she learned at Camelot are serving her well at a very competitive college and will serve her well in life. We couldn t be happier with our experience at Camelot Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This was a bad experience for our family. The owner/director tends to develop an opinion about each student within the first few weeks, at which point, the child is labeled. If the label is unfavorable, their academic experience will be unhappy, leading to a poor education and a sad child. Director confirmed that we were free to withdraw - but of course, remain responsible for paying a full year tuition. (Honestly, I came to suspect this might have been intended from the start.) Before enrolling our daughter at Camelot Academy, 2 parents (different families) specifically warned that Camelot is a business first and second; being a school trails far behind in last place. We often thought about this throughout the year, regretting our failure to heed warnings - it turned out to be very true. I gradually came to realize that the director's primary focus is to make money. Although she is charming and will insist that she cares about the kids - this simply didn't seem to be the case. Our experience occurred a few years ago. Perhaps the school has improved, but. that the director/owner remains. I'll leave it at that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Our experience was bad. Camelot seems to have a high percentage of quirky children, and although some teachers may be good, it would be difficult to be effective in such a challenging climate. The curriculum taught to our child has not met their academic needs, and the small social cliques have only served to alienate them. After moving to a public school, our child has spent an entire year catching up on skills that were not taught at Camelot. We can not stress how dissatisfied we were with Camelot and their inability to teach grade level skills, including basic reading, writing and math. Lots of days were spent having fun, field trips, etc. but little was spent on academics. Since leaving, our child has made incredible progress academically and now has normal friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Camelot is a great school. they have a caring faculty combined with small classes and more individual attention for students as well as mastery based learning
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2009

We have not had a good experience with this school overall. Things they do well: letting kids be kids- recess for all grades- some interesting field trips- they try to involve all students in some areas of extra-curricular and teachers are very caring. That said, if you have a normal, well adjusted child this is not the school for you. They motivate by threats and have a 'one policy fits all students' philosophy- which of course works well for the unruly undisciplined child but has only served to lower the self- esteem of our child. Also this school touts a low tuition but really makes up for it in semester fees, field trip fees, extra costs here and there and before you know it it is quite an expensive education and it's hard to say exactly where your money is going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

My daughter has attended Camelot for a number of years. As a result, she is more focused, desciplined, eager to learn and has become a first class student. Thanks Camelot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I just wish we had found Camelot sooner! My daughter is in the middle grades, and you couldn't ask for two more patience teachers than Ms. Michelle and Mr. Dan. In spite of her learning disabilities that can make teaching her a challenge, they have both done an incredible job getting her to understand. We cannot believe the progress she has made in just one year. They have restored a love of learning in her that the public school she was attending had nearly driven out. She loves going to school now which is something we never thought we would see. She feels safer and is much more relaxed in the smaller setting this school provides. She has found role models in the upper school children and in turn loves mentoring the younger grades. Don t let the exterior fool you, this is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My child has been attending Camelot Academy for 2 1/2 years from Kindergarten. I have been pleased with his advancement in reading and mathematics to a level considered higher than his grade level. He has been receiving an excellent and broad exposure to music and has been given opportunities to work with the computer. Older students frequently work with younger students to help them acheive their goals. In the 25 years of its existance, 100% of Camelot graduates have entered college. On the downside, there seems to be a high rate of teacher turn-over for a small faculty of only 16, at least 5 have left in the two years, and the excellent music teacher is moving on to further his career. There is a small amount of extracurricular activity, and that is for the upper school students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

A fantastic environment for learning in the true sense of the word. As a student there I am treated to class environments where analytical thinking is not only present, but strived for and awarded on a daily basis. The only drawback to this school is that it at times feels fairly intrusive, if a student falls behind there is a sense of paranoia that one needs to be aware of his every move. While the headmaster Thelma and her main cronie Lori (science teacher) mean well they can alienate or infuriate students at times with the methods used to get a student back on schedule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2007

I'm glad that our son is going to this school. Being in KG he can read n write words like timbuktu. Ms. Beth is just awesome. Apart from academics, this schools has one of the best soccer coach for kids + an awesome music teacher. This place is worth the money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2007

Our experience is that Camelot teachers care about the students and give every student individual attention. The school overall is a supportive environment where learning happens. Along with the advantages of personal attention a small school gives, you also get the limitations. On the whole I think Camelot offers much for its small size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I do not think Camelot Academy is a very good school. The teachers are underpaid, and there are not enough extracurricular activities for the students. Stay away from here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2006

This school achieves much of it's success through pre-selection. It is primarily a school for gifted children. Although much is made of tailoring the curiculum to the child, this only applies in a limited fashion to gifted children. Children of normal or less than normal abilities are selected against, therefore the results claimed are somewhat invalid.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 53%
Black 10% 32%
Hispanic 5% 11%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Asian 3% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

809 Proctor St
Durham, NC 27707
Phone: (919) 688-3040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Camelot Academy
Durham, NC






The B E Academy
Durham, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT