Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gaston College Preparatory 1

Posted December 26, 2015
- a student
this school is nothing like it sounds to be. almost none of the teachers have any teaching experience whatsoever, there is no safety for the students in any way, shape, or form save for the cell phones of the staff, success is not an option for this school, as college acceptance is a requirement to graduate, the hours are excessive and draining on the students, the uniform-est dress code demoralizes the students and makes the entire school feel like a prison. if it ever comes down to sending my future kids to kipp or not at all, i will gladly move to make other options available. do not send your children here unless you want to see piratically nothing of them and see them exhausted and sleep-deprived when you do. if i could give a lower rating, i would.

Gaston College Preparatory 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a community member
I am very thankful that GCP is in our area. I am pleased with the instruction of education. Also I am very pleased with the teachers who are eager to teach. Bravo for middle and high school.


Gaston College Preparatory 3

Posted October 20, 2011
- a community member
My initial rating of GCP many years ago was a higher than it is now. My children no longer attend there, but I still have relatives that do. I am a former employee and a former parent. Through the years the school has changed a lot. The school is still competitive, but the public schools have stepped up their standards and teaching goals also. It comes down to personal choice. The bottom line is that ALL children everywhere needs to receive a good education.

Gaston College Preparatory
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a community member
I am a grandparent and I have observed how well my grandchildren are learning and enjoying this first year at Kipp high school. I love the dedication of the teachers and they really push all the children toward gaining knowledge. I so appreciate this school.

Gaston College Preparatory
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a community member
My little sister started this year!!!!!!She is now excited to go to school!No alarms needed to wake her!lol


Gaston College Preparatory
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Gaston College Prep is a great school because of the wonderful and dedicated staff. The hard working students. It provides students with enrichment, exposure do things some students will not get the chance to experience. It gives students the chance to become more responsible and look to a bright and better future for themselves.

Gaston College Preparatory 5

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Gaston College Prep has done for our children what other schools have not--expected the best. The kids strive to meet that expectation. Great staff and hard working kids.

Gaston College Preparatory 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The school not only teaches academics - it teaches how to suceed! My child has become more confident and sure of her abilities since she has been going to KIPP:GCP.


Gaston College Preparatory 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love GCP it is preparing my child for the future and showing her how to be responible for her actions

Gaston College Preparatory 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
I love Gaston College Prep because of the focus on education and college. It also teaches discipline and good study habits that can be used in everyday life and situations.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gaston College Preparatory
320 Pleasant Hill Road, Gaston, NC  27832
(252) 308-6932
Last modified Gaston College Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades 5-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gaston College Preparatory Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top