Advertisement

Alamance Christian School

Private | K-12 | 223 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Graham

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2014

I would not recommend this school if you are looking for a quality Christian education for your children. Based on former experiences, I would recommend Burlington Christian when attending a high-quality Christian education for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I used to be a student here and I absolutely loved it, even though the old administrator was very bland and cared more for men, which bothered me immensely, since I am a female. They have EXCELLENT teachers and wonderful people. :)


Posted September 10, 2012

Our daughter is in the 2nd grade here and we love it. I was, however, not happy to see them loosen up the dress code, as it will enevitably lead to more and more of the same. We have found it to be far and away better than the public schools in this area. Admittedly, it is not for everyone, but if you actually READ the statement of faith and the student handbook before enrolling your child, there shouldn't be any surprises. The positions the school takes on matters of faith are pretty clear; if you don't agree, you are perfectly free to go enroll your children somewhere else. Simple as that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

Great changes happening at this school. I am so excited that we have a new administrator, updated technology, and discipline by grace. This school is excelling in all aspects of a place for education and fine arts! Alamance Christian is growing and going above and beyond to become the place where you will never want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

I have two children at ACS. I am enthusiastic about the new changes taken place. The new administrator seems to have a zest for life, love, and joy. The teachers seem to have new attitudes and I agree with the other reviewer, great phone greeting. I love that Chapel will be updated with speakers on their levels and that the school is trying to modernize their way of thinking without jeopardizing God's word. So excited that my girls can wear sleeveless tops this year, no more dresses unless they want them to, and shorts. Clothing isn't a determining factor in providing an education but what a change for the children. I believe that there will be some overwhelmingly happy children this year. Well if the kids are happy then that will make for a happy school environment, all with keeping God 1st. What a great change this school is making. Good for ACS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2011

This school is VERY heavily "man"-based. The administrator is awful (2009) and has NO people skills! The review below describes how narrow-minded their views are and it is right on the money. Girls are nothing but second class citizens with ridiculous dress codes and the boys can wear whatever they want, including shorts! There is a 1950's feel about the school regarding equality. I did not want my children to grow up feeling inferior to men, so we left and have never looked back ~we love our new school. My youngest has just been diagnosed with a learning disability, which I suspected, but when I kept asking her teacher, she kept saying she was "fine". She had to repeat K at her new school. Guess she wasn't "fine".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

This school does not allow many christian faiths. Here is statement from their Student Handbook. "In addition, to prevent the child from being caught in a doctrinal crossfire between the home, the church and the school, ACS admits only those students from families where at least one parent and the child faithfully attend a Bible-preaching church whose pastor subscribes to our Statement of Faith.This would preclude membership in or attendance at Catholic, Mormon, Jehovah s Witness, Seventh Day Adventist, Christian Science, or other churches whose doctrinal positions would differ from the school s Statement of Faith (Amos 3:3; Eph. 2:8, 9; Gal. 1:6-9)."


Posted May 26, 2010

I have three grandchildren who have grown up in Alamance Christian School. Their education has been top notch. The quality of the fine arts and athletic programs is excellent with the school being champions in arts and athletics. Two have already graduated and were prepared for college life. One is to graduate in 2011. I highly recommend ACS and the results this fine school produces in the lives of its students.


Posted March 10, 2009

My two children graduated from ACS. Both have gone on to the university level. One graduated last year and the other is in the second year. They both said they were well prepared by ACS for college level material. ACS did an excellent job educating my children and preparing them for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

i have had 2 children graduate from this school after being in public schools their whole life. I am not wealthy but it was worth every penny spent. was very cost effective and one of the least expensive in the extended area. they were alot better prepared for college, the teachers actually care, excellent fine arts program, and the athletic program is top notch with state championships in almost all sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 53%
Black 2% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Daniel Freeman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (336) 578-7200

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1336 Townbranch Road
Graham, NC 27253
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 578-0318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Haw River Elementary
Haw River, NC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT