Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
223 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alamance Christian School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
Teachers should care about their students and I have not seen that with this school. Compassion is unfortunately not there with some teachers.

Alamance Christian School 1

Posted June 30, 2016
- a community member
VERY upset with this school and how they treat their students/families. They do not present themselves as "Christians". To me, a Christian accepts and loves everyone no matter what differences there may be. Very very disappointed!


Alamance Christian School 1

Posted March 16, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this school if you are looking for a quality Christian education for your children. Based on former experiences, I would recommend Burlington Christian when attending a high-quality Christian education for your children.

Alamance Christian School 5

Posted November 16, 2012
- a community member
I used to be a student here and I absolutely loved it, even though the old administrator was very bland and cared more for men, which bothered me immensely, since I am a female. They have EXCELLENT teachers and wonderful people. :)

Alamance Christian School 5

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter is in the 2nd grade here and we love it. I was, however, not happy to see them loosen up the dress code, as it will enevitably lead to more and more of the same. We have found it to be far and away better than the public schools in this area. Admittedly, it is not for everyone, but if you actually READ the statement of faith and the student handbook before enrolling your child, there shouldn't be any surprises. The positions the school takes on matters of faith are pretty clear; if you don't agree, you are perfectly free to go enroll your children somewhere else. Simple as that.


Alamance Christian School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
Great changes happening at this school. I am so excited that we have a new administrator, updated technology, and discipline by grace. This school is excelling in all aspects of a place for education and fine arts! Alamance Christian is growing and going above and beyond to become the place where you will never want to leave!

Alamance Christian School 5

Posted August 15, 2012
- a parent
I have two children at ACS. I am enthusiastic about the new changes taken place. The new administrator seems to have a zest for life, love, and joy. The teachers seem to have new attitudes and I agree with the other reviewer, great phone greeting. I love that Chapel will be updated with speakers on their levels and that the school is trying to modernize their way of thinking without jeopardizing God's word. So excited that my girls can wear sleeveless tops this year, no more dresses unless they want them to, and shorts. Clothing isn't a determining factor in providing an education but what a change for the children. I believe that there will be some overwhelmingly happy children this year. Well if the kids are happy then that will make for a happy school environment, all with keeping God 1st. What a great change this school is making. Good for ACS.

Alamance Christian School 1

Posted August 23, 2011
- a parent
This school is VERY heavily "man"-based. The administrator is awful (2009) and has NO people skills! The review below describes how narrow-minded their views are and it is right on the money. Girls are nothing but second class citizens with ridiculous dress codes and the boys can wear whatever they want, including shorts! There is a 1950's feel about the school regarding equality. I did not want my children to grow up feeling inferior to men, so we left and have never looked back ~we love our new school. My youngest has just been diagnosed with a learning disability, which I suspected, but when I kept asking her teacher, she kept saying she was "fine". She had to repeat K at her new school. Guess she wasn't "fine".


Alamance Christian School 1

Posted May 23, 2011
- a community member
This school does not allow many christian faiths. Here is statement from their Student Handbook. "In addition, to prevent the child from being caught in a doctrinal crossfire between the home, the church and the school, ACS admits only those students from families where at least one parent and the child faithfully attend a Bible-preaching church whose pastor subscribes to our Statement of Faith.This would preclude membership in or attendance at Catholic, Mormon, Jehovah s Witness, Seventh Day Adventist, Christian Science, or other churches whose doctrinal positions would differ from the school s Statement of Faith (Amos 3:3; Eph. 2:8, 9; Gal. 1:6-9)."

Alamance Christian School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a community member
I have three grandchildren who have grown up in Alamance Christian School. Their education has been top notch. The quality of the fine arts and athletic programs is excellent with the school being champions in arts and athletics. Two have already graduated and were prepared for college life. One is to graduate in 2011. I highly recommend ACS and the results this fine school produces in the lives of its students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alamance Christian School
Po Box 838, Graham, NC  27253
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (336) 578-0318
Last modified Alamance Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top