Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Tucker Creek Middle

Public | 6-8 | 510 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2014

I would not recommend this school. Both of my children went here. I eventually took my son out and transferred him to the less desirable Havelock middle and am so glad that I did! The6th grade teachers and counselor at tucker creek were pathetic. We requested several conferences and the teacher would just sit there like deer in head lights they never had anything prepared. We as the parents would have to do all the talking and planning. We requested our son have an IEP the first week of school and they completely dropped the ball and did nothing. Time was wasted and anyone who has ever tried to get a 504 or an IEP in place for their child knows how difficult this can be. Needless to say, we are much happier at Havelock middle and our daughter has moved onto the high school. Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

Horrible teachers. I've requested tutoring several times, my requests go unnoticed. One teacher even announced my daughters failing grade to the class and told her not to bother going back for volleyball try-outs nor student counsel. These 7th grade teachers have failed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

I like the teacher there. They will talk with you, they will help you with problems, it is a very individualized system


Posted April 3, 2011

One of the teachers from that school thought it would be a good idea to tell everyone in her neighborhood about a kid getting into trouble at the school. Apparently ethics and personal privacy do not apply to her or the school. She still works there. I would have fired her. I hear nothing but negative things about the majority of the teachers there. They are condesending and rude and smart mouthed. I can sort of understand this, but at the same time these teachers need to grow a bigger heart. I was not aware that the Grinch had cousins and other family members that work there. I will never allow my child to go there. No matter what they are rated as, the teachers are heartless and thoughtless when it comes to the kids in general.


Posted March 30, 2011

Excellent School. Excellent Teachers. My son was behind when we moved to TCMS, the teachers worked with him to get him caught up. He is now starting high school as a straight A student. We love this school! The engrade program is excellent. We are able to check our son's grades and homework from our home computer. We recommend Tucker Creek to any new family moving to the area. It is a great friendly environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Wonderful staff and facilities. I have a son who attended TCMS and now have a daughter who is in the 8th grade there. My third will begin there next year and I can't wait. My family will have a collective time of 9 years with TCMS when its all said and done and I feel blessed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

I was a TCMS student and I love this school. The teachers are great and I would recommend this school to ANYONE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I really enjoy this school, this is my second year here. The dress code is too strict and the teachers are too hard on the sixth graders. But overall, its a great school. I also think that there arent enough extra credit chances. That has really effected my grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

This is my daughters first year attending TCM and although impressed with every aspect,when it came time to get my daughter some extra help and tutoring. I got the total run around. I made the request in person at the guidance office in Feb. and it is now the end of May. I have been in person,emailed, and called. None of those worked. My daughters grade is a reflection of the lack of support and concern. Even her teacher never contacted me or let anyone know that her grade in math was slipping. He just left her to struggle on her own. I can only help so much at home b/c this isn't the math I did in school. I am angry and frustrated that they have not only failed me as a concerned parent but my daughter as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

This is our child's first year at TCM and our son is enjoying it. I as a parent like the structure and guidelines that the school has. The teachers are available to the parents as well as the students. Tucker Creek Middle is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

The teachers and faculty stress order and dicipline and do enforce the dress code. This is needed at the middle school level and is the reason this school is so successful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2004

The children at Tucker Creek were made to adhere to excessively stringent dress and discipline codes. This made for an unhealthy,stressful environment as opposed to a relaxed,friendly learning atmosphere. My child along with many other's needed theropy after attending this school last year. I understand new,even more ridiculous dress codes have been implemented this year. Let's focus a little more on a calm, pleasent school so the kid's can enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female55%
Male48%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracial80%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students59%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted89%

Reading

All Students55%
Female55%
Male56%
Black41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities13%
Non-disabled students62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students51%
Female51%
Male52%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English51%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant51%
Academically gifted88%

Reading

All Students55%
Female63%
Male47%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities6%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Academically gifted88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female35%
Male54%
Black16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically gifted89%

Reading

All Students53%
Female53%
Male53%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial60%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students56%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Academically gifted91%

Science

All Students75%
Female71%
Male78%
Black58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial73%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities30%
Non-disabled students78%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-95%
Female-95%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-95%
Academically gifted-95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 52%
Black 15% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Two or more races 6% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Angela Franks
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (252) 444-7206

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 Sermons Boulevard
Havelock, NC 28532
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 444-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Havelock Middle
Havelock, NC


Methodist Home
New Bern, NC





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT