Advertisement

Heritage Hall International School

Private | K-12 | 19 students

 
 

Living in Hendersonville

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $136,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2010

Our kids spent 5 years here, which was about 4 1/2 years too long. I do believe this is a school that offers a chance to kids who have flamed out elsewhere, and I give it credit for that. But for families who have aspirations to give their kids a really rich academic challenge, remember "you get what you pay for." No athletics, a rented facility shared with a hair salon, no science labs, minimal technology, well-intentioned but underpaid teachers, no capacity to raise funds, no long term viability. HHIS has carved out a niche as a" school of last resort," but if that's not what you're looking for, keep looking. Also there are FAR fewer than 92 students left by now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

My daughter is a Junior at UNC Greensboro, and she loves Heritage Hall. She visits her old teachers as much as possible. Her father and I feel that choosing the school was one of the best decisions we have ever made. They really do make a difference in the children s lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

I love Heritage!!! The teachers are great! I am learning so much!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

I am so thankful that I decided to send my children to Heritage Hall. The faculty is like no other I have ever seen. They are the most caring group of teacher that I have ever seen. Every school should use this wonderful place as an example of how to inspire and educate the next generation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

Although the teachers and one-on-one time are amazing the school is too small to have any clubs or sports to participate in after school, and I also felt that the course rigor is not equal with that of the nearby public schools. There are no EOC's or EOG's only CAT tests, which are nowhere near as difficult as the SAT and ACT students have to take before college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

Incredible, loving environment. My son ( who is 6) has struggled for several years within other kindergarten and preschool programs. Heritage Hall creates an atomosphere that is creative and open to every learning level. We love it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2009

'Heritage Hall' totally turn my son's life around. West Henderson High School, had him believing he had many disabilities, he had lost all self-esteem. I moved him to Hertage Hall after the y past him on striaght 'D'S', his Freashman year. This small shool, has been 'great', they 'watched him carefully', and after 6 weeks, they found 'nothing was wrong!!!' He had just got lost in the system. He is a 'A & B' student. They Teachers always have time for him, and i can walk in anytime after 3 pm, and ask to speak to a Teacher, and they will say 'sure pull up a chair'. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

As a former student from the 90's I have to say, This school really gave me a chance and worked very hard with me. I remember how much the teachers cared. Now as a mom I will be considering Heritage Hall to school my kids. My husband and his brother also attended, and At my brother in law's school functions and graduation I was still very proud of Heritage Hall, and very much enjoyed conversing with my dear teachers from my past. I highly recommend.


Posted April 17, 2008

My 3rd grader went into the fourth grade with a 12th grade reading level. It's a great school to be in and the kids aren't introduced to the drinking and drug problems that litter most other schools. One reason why is everyone knows everyone and it keeps each other accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

I am going to adamantly disagree with the former student that said the Heritage does not put them on the track for a career or collage. I attended Heritage from 6th through 12th grade. I graduated from UNC Charlotte with a BA in Spanish. I work for the state of NC as a translator. I know that Heritage Hall School was a major factor in my accomplishments up to this point in my life. My bilingual children fit quite well in the traditional environment of their current schools, but if I ever move back to Hendersonville they will attend Heritage Hall. Mrs. Jones, Mrs. Marsh, and the rest of the staff work with each student in order to help them thrive. I do not consider this approach to be catering to them. I was not allowed to work at my own pace, and I certainly did not have little input. Heritage Hall School does not use the one-size-fits-all' approach to education. Until my mother enrolled me at Heritage Hall School most of my school day was spent in Spanish speaking classes. I wanted to learn more English and the teachers at Heritage Hall School helped me do accomplish my goals. I think you can see this from my successful college path and my thriving career. I did accomplish my goals, and I own much of my success to that great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2007

This is a wonderful school. The staff is amazing. They really care. My son loves being in high school there. He is getting a great education and enjoying the fact that he is learning. I feared that he was going to quit school, noe he is going to NC State. This is all due to the care, encouragement, and persistance of Heritage Hall. He still says that 'failure IS NOT an option'. The amazing teacher at this wonderful school made him beleive he was cared about-not just another number. He had never felt this before. We need more schools and caring teachers like thjis in the NC. I would highly recommend this school to all parent. If your child needs extra help or is gifted the teachers will make sure that each child knows they are special. They are also taught that their best effort is expected. A++ school!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

Heritage Hall gave my child the chance to succeed and to finally feel good about school and his capabilities. He had difficult in public school and clearly they didn't care whether as an individual he passed or failed and were unable to give him the 1-1 help he needed. At Heritage he has excelled! They truly practice their motto -- that they are family and no one gets lost! I would highly recommend this school to anyone that has had similar difficulties with their child and public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 53%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 10% N/A
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 32%
Hispanic 2% 11%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jannik Jones
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

802 South Grove Street
Hendersonville, NC 28792
Website: Click here
Phone: (828) 693-6845

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Mud Creek Christian School
Hendersonville, NC


Mud Creek Christian School
Hendersonville, NC


Immaculata Catholic School
Hendersonville, NC


Immaculata Catholic School
Hendersonville, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT