Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Westchester Country Day School

Private | K-12 | 374 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in High Point

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $136,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 14, 2013

We love Westchester. Our child was here from Kindergarden through 6th grade. She wanted to try a different school for middle school. A year and a half and she was ready to come right back to Westchester. She did not feel challenged at the other school nor did she feel that the teachers cared as much. The relationships between the kids and the teachers is the key. They are stellar teachers that genuinely care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2010

Westchester is the best school at teaching my children. The classes are small, the teachers are dedicated and their teaching methods show in the utmost performance of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

Westchester has great academic program. The classes are small and the kids are close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Westchester provides a well-rounded education where students learn to think for themselves, while enjoying the opportunity to be involved in a strong academic program as well as outstanding extracurricular opportunities. As a parent of two alumni and two current students, I have experienced first-hand the value of a Westchester education from many perspectives. I know that our students are well prepared to succeed in college and in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

There is an incredible faculty-student-parent relationship at our school. It is open and honest and respectful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2010

Westchester is a diverse independent school that offers an excellent education. The faculty nurtures a zest for learning as they challenge students to think critically and to care about the world and the people around them. I am grateful that my children have an opportunity to learn multiple languages including Mandarin Chinese and to gain an appreciation for art as a part of their educational experience. I think a Westchester education prepares them to compete with anyone in the world. Westchester helps fulfill one of my responsibilities as a parent, and that is to provide my children with the best education available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Love it! My kids have had a fabulous experience here. Teachers are stellar, as well as the administration. Like having a second family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

We love Westchester. My son started two months into the school year, and he truly loves the school. Westchester has provided him with a exceptional academic, fun-filled and social environment. The staff has been extremely helpful and supportive since our first visit to the school. We are looking forward to having two kids at Westchester next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I love this school because of the small number of students in the classrooms. My son has a better chance to succeed at school getting the personal attention he needs and deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Incredible teachers, advanced academically, wonderful extracurricular options, safe and nurturing environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

We love WCDS for so many reasons, the enthusiasm of and for the school, the love and care they show the students, the campus, the academics, the athletics, the arts, the faculty, the respect...We love WCDS b/c our child loves WCDS! (as does his little brother who will be a kindergarten wildcat next year!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

Wonderful teachers! Dedicated staff! Devoted volunteers! My children are so happy at WCDS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

fabulous teachers, great kids, nurturing atmosphere, fun athletics, impressive college admissions
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

My daughter is in the 10th grade and has been at WCDS since Kindergarten. I would not change a thing. The Best School and Teachers in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

WCDS is family! Our kids are very well rounded and confident. Adjusting to middle school this year has been a breeze!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The campus is beautiful. The staff is excellent and kind. The children truly thrive in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is such a great family environment. The faculty is outstanding!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

I think Weschester is a great school it try to encourage the kids to do in school so that they can be successful in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The school focuses on learning and making it fun in the process - at WCDS it's cool to be smart! The smaller classes allow for more interaction between the teacher and the students as well as between students. They have great sports programs and extra curricular activities that enhance the fun learning experience. Our son moved over to WCDS in 6th grade so we ve been there for 3 years now. We wish we had moved him sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Our son spent k-12 at WCDS. Small classes and the oportunity to interact with teachers gave him the confidence to be successful in college and beyond!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 53%
Black 8% 32%
Asian 7% N/A
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Triad schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 a.m.
School end time
  • 3:00 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Cobb Atkinson
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (336) 869-6685

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Westchester all parents association, board of trustees, fundraising opportunities
More from this school
  • 100% of graduates are accepted at 4-year colleges and universities. Values:Westchester Country Day cultivates a caring, learning environment that fosters a strong sense of self-discovery. Supportive relationships among peers and a dedicated, accessible, and highly qualified faculty form important parts of the Westchester Country Day experience. The school provides a challenging college-preparatory academic program in core subjects and technology. Strong fine arts and athletic programs offer students a variety of ways to define their unique talents. The school’s faculty deems critical the integration of moral growth with that of the intellectual and the physical. Finally, Westchester Country Day strives to instill students, staff, and parents with a sense of school community as well as the community at large. The school is committed to enrolling young men and women of strong character and academic promise who come from families of varied social, economic, religious, ethnic, and racial backgrounds.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Triad schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UNC-Chapel Hill
NC State
Duke
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

523 Wildcat Trail
High Point, NC 27265
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 869-2128

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

J W Seabrook Elementary
Fayetteville, NC





Central Elementary
Elizabeth City, NC


Cordova School
Cordova, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT