Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Huntersville, NC
Students enrolled: 1,669
 

3 stars
Based on 46 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

38 reviews of this school


Hopewell High 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
This is a awesome high school. I've had both my kids graduate from this school. The classes are fairly challenging and Hopewell offers a lot of AP classes. Would definitely send my kids here over North Meck or Hough. Hopewell is known for a lot of school spirit which is cool for students. I would highly recommend this school!

Hopewell High 4

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
This is an amazing school! I was so scared to send my child there with all the bad stories going around about the school. With the addition of Mr. Gisiano, an amazing principal; his adminsitrative staff, and teachers who truly care about the students success he is slowly turning the school into a great place to be.. HIs hard work and dedication to the school, staff, and parents is making a difference. The academies that Hopewell offer are by far the best in the district. Don't be afraid to send your child there or buy a house that feeds into this school. As with ALL high school, there will always be problems. How those problems are handled is what is making Hopewell a great school.


Hopewell High 4

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Hopewell High is a great school! With the addition of a new principal and strong, dedicated administrative staff, this school has made immense improvements in the past two years. I have two children currently at Hopewell, and we have experienced engaging, hard-working teachers who are passionate about teaching students! The adminstrative staff is quick to respond to requests and inquiries, and any issues have been resolved quickly! The sports and extracurricular activites are well supported, and the JROTC program is the best in the district (winning the Superindentant's Cup 7 years in a row!) Communication is a priority, and involvement is highly encouraged. They do a good job of proactively managing their points of challenge to ensure an overall good environment for their students each day. Every school is going to have challenges with kids who don't want to learn, and parents that don't support those efforts or get involved. However, Hopewell provides a GREAT learning environment for kids who CHOOSE to learn, and parents that DO provide support and involvement.

Hopewell High 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
i love hopewell my daughter is going to be a junior and my son is going to be a freshman next year. Ive had a good experience with hopewell. The principal is very good and caring and the teachers are too.

Hopewell High 2

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The administration at Hopewell are unprepared for the challenges of running a school. They are more concerned with what the community thinks of them than what they actually learned. Desperate to keep staff they higher teachers who rather not teach. I am not saying that the majority of the staff are wonderful educators. It is just that a few of the them ruin the school.


Hopewell High 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
one of Our sons went on to attend an ivyleague school from hopewell our sons Benefitted from a broad range of AP classes

Hopewell High
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
great school with good teachers and staff classes are not overcrowded and teachers are loving and caring

Hopewell High
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
great school with loving teachers and students classes are not overcrowded and students are safe


Hopewell High 1

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
I moved here from Southern California and would rate this school on par with the worst of LAUSD. The teachers are comfortable sharing their socio-economic and political beliefs. There is little in the way of education based extracurricular activies but a lot of emphasis on politically correct and special interest clubs. Fighting is constant and good students are lumped in with those who are indifferent, when it comes to almost everything. This school needs a new principal because this one doesn't engender the respect of anyone. My student will be attending another school next year.

Hopewell High 4

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Hopewell has been our school for the past six years. My older son had a fantastic experience each of the four years. I could compare his experience with mine 30 years ago. However, when the boundaries were changed and more kids came in from Charlotte, the school became overcrowded and those coming from Charlotte most likely resented being bused so far. The biggest thing to remember about Hopewell is this: If you are a good student; well behaved; study and have good support from home, you will do very well and have a good chance at getting into a good college. However, if you are smart but not well directed and have transporation issues, you may get lost in the crowd. It takes a village, and even the best kid can get in serious trouble due to easy access to drugs and by hanging around with the 'wrong crowd'.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopewell High
11530 Beatties Ford Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
(980) 343-5988
Last modified Hopewell High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hopewell High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top