Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 68 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hopewell High 4

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Hopewell has a lot of AP classes and in general has been a good school for our child. Math teachers have all been excellent; the principal is really sharp and responds to community input. We had considered going private but am glad we didn't. If your child is an athlete, consider this: Because the school is socioeconomically diverse, every kid there hasn't been playing organized sports since they were toddlers, so there are some legit chances for kids to play on teams. There's definitely room for improvement, but it has gotten better in recent years and is a good choice.

Hopewell High 5

Posted August 29, 2015
- a parent
Great school, and a great area. This school offers a large variety of courses and parents are very supportive.


Hopewell High 4

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
Good school and the kids are getting ready to head off to college so they are on their way.

Hopewell High
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 26, 2015
- a parent
We've had a great experience with teachers helping children understand consequences of their actions and responsibility. They really care.

Hopewell High 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
This is a awesome high school. I've had both my kids graduate from this school. The classes are fairly challenging and Hopewell offers a lot of AP classes. Would definitely send my kids here over North Meck or Hough. Hopewell is known for a lot of school spirit which is cool for students. I would highly recommend this school!


Hopewell High 4

Posted February 28, 2015
- a parent
This is an amazing school! I was so scared to send my child there with all the bad stories going around about the school. With the addition of Mr. Gisiano, an amazing principal; his adminsitrative staff, and teachers who truly care about the students success he is slowly turning the school into a great place to be.. HIs hard work and dedication to the school, staff, and parents is making a difference. The academies that Hopewell offer are by far the best in the district. Don't be afraid to send your child there or buy a house that feeds into this school. As with ALL high school, there will always be problems. How those problems are handled is what is making Hopewell a great school.

Hopewell High 4

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Hopewell High is a great school! With the addition of a new principal and strong, dedicated administrative staff, this school has made immense improvements in the past two years. I have two children currently at Hopewell, and we have experienced engaging, hard-working teachers who are passionate about teaching students! The adminstrative staff is quick to respond to requests and inquiries, and any issues have been resolved quickly! The sports and extracurricular activites are well supported, and the JROTC program is the best in the district (winning the Superindentant's Cup 7 years in a row!) Communication is a priority, and involvement is highly encouraged. They do a good job of proactively managing their points of challenge to ensure an overall good environment for their students each day. Every school is going to have challenges with kids who don't want to learn, and parents that don't support those efforts or get involved. However, Hopewell provides a GREAT learning environment for kids who CHOOSE to learn, and parents that DO provide support and involvement.

Hopewell High 5

Posted May 18, 2014
- a parent
i love hopewell my daughter is going to be a junior and my son is going to be a freshman next year. Ive had a good experience with hopewell. The principal is very good and caring and the teachers are too.


Hopewell High 2

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The administration at Hopewell are unprepared for the challenges of running a school. They are more concerned with what the community thinks of them than what they actually learned. Desperate to keep staff they higher teachers who rather not teach. I am not saying that the majority of the staff are wonderful educators. It is just that a few of the them ruin the school.

Hopewell High 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
one of Our sons went on to attend an ivyleague school from hopewell our sons Benefitted from a broad range of AP classes

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopewell High
11530 Beatties Ford Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. (980) 343-5988
Last modified Hopewell High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top