Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public
Huntersville, NC
Students enrolled: 1,669

3 stars
Based on 43 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hopewell High 4

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
Hopewell High is a great school! With the addition of a new principal and strong, dedicated administrative staff, this school has made immense improvements in the past two years. I have two children currently at Hopewell, and we have experienced engaging, hard-working teachers who are passionate about teaching students! The adminstrative staff is quick to respond to requests and inquiries, and any issues have been resolved quickly! The sports and extracurricular activites are well supported, and the JROTC program is the best in the district (winning the Superindentant's Cup 7 years in a row!) Communication is a priority, and involvement is highly encouraged. They do a good job of proactively managing their points of challenge to ensure an overall good environment for their students each day. Every school is going to have challenges with kids who don't want to learn, and parents that don't support those efforts or get involved. However, Hopewell provides a GREAT learning environment for kids who CHOOSE to learn, and parents that DO provide support and involvement.

Hopewell High 2

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The administration at Hopewell are unprepared for the challenges of running a school. They are more concerned with what the community thinks of them than what they actually learned. Desperate to keep staff they higher teachers who rather not teach. I am not saying that the majority of the staff are wonderful educators. It is just that a few of the them ruin the school.


Hopewell High 4

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
one of Our sons went on to attend an ivyleague school from hopewell our sons Benefitted from a broad range of AP classes

Hopewell High 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
great school with good teachers and staff classes are not overcrowded and teachers are loving and caring

Hopewell High 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2010
- a parent
great school with loving teachers and students classes are not overcrowded and students are safe


Hopewell High 1

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
I moved here from Southern California and would rate this school on par with the worst of LAUSD. The teachers are comfortable sharing their socio-economic and political beliefs. There is little in the way of education based extracurricular activies but a lot of emphasis on politically correct and special interest clubs. Fighting is constant and good students are lumped in with those who are indifferent, when it comes to almost everything. This school needs a new principal because this one doesn't engender the respect of anyone. My student will be attending another school next year.

Hopewell High 1

Posted November 19, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hopewell High 4

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
Hopewell has been our school for the past six years. My older son had a fantastic experience each of the four years. I could compare his experience with mine 30 years ago. However, when the boundaries were changed and more kids came in from Charlotte, the school became overcrowded and those coming from Charlotte most likely resented being bused so far. The biggest thing to remember about Hopewell is this: If you are a good student; well behaved; study and have good support from home, you will do very well and have a good chance at getting into a good college. However, if you are smart but not well directed and have transporation issues, you may get lost in the crowd. It takes a village, and even the best kid can get in serious trouble due to easy access to drugs and by hanging around with the 'wrong crowd'.


Hopewell High 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
Our school works together in ouit clubs and try to help out with the community, for example Habitat for Humanity.

Hopewell High 0
no rating

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
I agree Hopewell has academics, but what about the students that aren't meeting the academic goals through the eyes of CMS? There are some great teachers there, like at any other school, but those teachers need to step up to the plate and demand recognition and respect. Where's there trouble, you don't find out until it's too late. Overcrowding and discipline is a major concern and safety as well. You can't watch 2,589 students, so how can you weed out trouble?

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hopewell High
11530 Beatties Ford Road, Huntersville, NC  28078
(980) 343-5988
Last modified Hopewell High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hopewell High Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top