Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sun Valley Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1327 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2012

Academically my son did well and we had no problems. The teachers were all very nice. The issue I have is at this age range theres need to be a lot of communication between the school and the parents. If there is a trend that is alarming among the student body I feel the school has the responsibility to inform the parents. I approached the school about a cutting situation that I knew several students were involved in. They told me they were aware but not much they could do. This is an issue that should have been alerted to the parents. I never heard of this as a teenager and never would have thought. It is an issue that is not being addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I am being very kind when I say, I am already looking at private school for my son who is only in the 4th grade. While I love the K6 and 9-12 programs, the middle school leaves a lot to be desired. My 9th grader went to SVMS after Weddington Middle - it's like leaving the Hilton and going to the emergency shelter. The stories that she came home with every day sounded like made for TV movies. There is very little enforcement of the rules, and it seems like a dumping ground for the last, the least and the left out. While she did well academically, she struggled in other areas which spilled over into our home. We sent her there well rounded and she came home with and attitude that made our home very tense. My son will NOT go there if we can help it. If he does - I WILL BE THERE EVERY CHANCE I GET TO MAKE SURE HE STAYS ON TRACK!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

I am an educator and had the choice of a few schools to send my children. I am consistently pleased that I sent my children to SVMS. One child is entering the 8th grade and has been provided with many opportunities to develop as a person and a scholar. The drama and music department alone make SVMS stand out. My son will be attending this year and cannot wait to begin. I am a firm believer that the school is only as good as the parents and their involvement. The PTO has become increasingly involved, and that has also brought a very positive atmosphere to the school. Overall, I love SVMS and am thankful my children attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

Sun Valley Middle School is a wonderful school. The focus is on student success, academics, and instruction. The principal has done an incredible job making it a learner-centered school. School spirit and pride is at an all-time high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

My daughter is just about to complete 8th grade, she has attended SVMS for 3 years and loved it. I have been very happy with her experience both academically and socially. She is in BETA club and is taking advanced classes. There are lots of opportunities for the kids to get involved and there is a lot of school spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2011

i think sun valley middle school is the worst school my child ever attended its horrible. there have been numurous fights and horrible test scores!!!!! My child is now attending roy romer middle school it is wonderful!!!!1
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

We have had two children attend school at SVMS. The average rating I gave it was generous at best. Both of my children have had issues with theft at this school. Like all schools, there are some students here that are well behaved and all around nice students but the majority are not. If you have a choice of schools or are thinking of moving into an area where this school serves your family, my suggestion would be to reconsider. If your child is above average academic wise, he/she will not be challenged at this school. Also, as a side note...this school does have a dress code that is strictly enforced, but not by the principal (visible tattoos, short skirts...).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

The school spirit at SVMS is unbelievable! The principal is involved with the students and the teachers are there to help when you need them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

My son attends SVMS and loves it. The Administration and teachers are wonderful. The basketball team has really improved from last year. It's all info the coaching. SVMS strives to help the student acheive what their goals, and to get them ready for SVHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

I am not sure what I am missing at this school. My daughter does do well there. However, there seems to be a disconnect in policy and enforcing written policy. Every day my child comes home, there is a new story about how unruly the 8th grade is. Behavior starts in the home and the attitude is brought to the school. The administration is wonderful, the teachers are great - they take way too much from the kids. Follow your written policy and send the problems back home to their parents or require the parents to come in with their kid
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

My granddaughter loves this school. She thought she was going to Weddington, which is higher, but I am very well pleased with Sun Valley. She is an AIG student, A/B honor roll or A honor roll since small. and in band.. very bright and mature for her age. She enjoys most of her teachers. The teachers need to know the biggest failure in a child's life is NOT trying to be likable to them. They need structure and guidance, but they also need to like their teachers, the people they spend, the majority of the time of day with. Linda Williams, grandmother
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

Sun Valley Middle School is an excellent school. The principal has worked dilligently to make it a learner-centered school. The teachers and staff are caring and have the best interest of students at heart. The physical campus is over 34 years old, but is being updated by expansion and upgrades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

The educational staff at the school is very focused on preparing the children for the future by including globalization and technology in the curriculum. The administrative staff is very effective in communicating with the parents their goals for the future of our students. We as parents, also want to participate in the helping the staff make our childrens learning a success by voting Sun Valley Middle School a Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

My son is very happy at Sun Valley Middle. He is involved with sports, music and all the great programs the school has to offer. Both Teachers & Administration work together to keep parents well informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Great educational program. Administrators and teachers communicate effectively with the parents to make sure the educational needs of the students are being met. Expectations are set high and my educational goals for my children and reinforced at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Faculty seems to be working towards a common goal and our son enjoys his teachers and is doing well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Sun Valley Middle has been a great school. The teachers have been informative by keeping the parents informed of what is going on. Any concerns I have had, have been addressed right away in a professional manner. Conflicts between students have been kept at a minimum and the teachers make themselves accessible for tutoring when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Sun Valley Middle School teachers & staff are great. My son likes going to school - what more can I ask for?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

the teachers are very caring and interact well with the students from what I've seen. Haven't dealt much with the principal. The school is older and does need some updates to compare with Porter Ridge and Weddington. They are building a new addition as well as expanding the cafeteria/auditorium area. As always, we have to stand in line to get any of the budget while some of the other schools seems to get whatever is needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I also think that the school needs alot of work. Why can't they paint the lockers?? Give the kids a little bit of something nice. I agree teachers are good, but the principal could use some help. Not responsive to a lot of things. Of all the schools around this school needs an update to compare to porter ridge and even monroe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 41% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 59% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female46%
Male43%
Black22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students56%
Female62%
Male50%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracial50%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities10%
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant56%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students44%
Female38%
Male50%
Black31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial30%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities16%
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant44%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students58%
Female55%
Male61%
Black49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial65%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities18%
Non-disabled students64%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female52%
Male46%
Black32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracial31%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities5%
Non-disabled students54%
Limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students54%
Female62%
Male48%
Black34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities20%
Non-disabled students58%
Limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant54%
Academically gifted90%

Science

All Students65%
Female64%
Male66%
Black42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracial54%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities23%
Non-disabled students70%
Limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 36% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
-95%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
>95%
Biology

The state average for Biology was 46% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students-95%
Female-95%
Male-95%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White-95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged-95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students-95%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English-95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant-95%
Academically gifted-95%

Biology

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled studentsn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Course (EOC) tests to assess high school students in Algebra I, English II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 52%
Hispanic 16% 14%
Black 13% 26%
Two or more races 4% 4%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian 1% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Vicki Merritt
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (704) 296-3045
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1409 Wesley Chapel Road
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Website: Click here
Phone: (704) 296-3009

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Merit Academy
Indian Trail, NC






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT