Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Carolina Forest Elementary 5

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
My son attends CFIE and we enjoy the school. The principal is great. The teacher my son has for 3rd grade is wonderful, she is caring and goes over and beyond for her students. I love all the work she puts into the kids assignments, and homework. My son rides the bus from CP and so I haven't had to deal with the traffic. My son loves this school.

Carolina Forest Elementary
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Boschert is an excellent teacher. She cares for her students. She is very patient.


Carolina Forest Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
My sons 3rd grade teacher goes over and beyond. She takes so much time on their assignments and correcting homework. She has been a blessing for my son.

Carolina Forest Elementary 2

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
Teachers do not care!! It is so sad that it is like this! I am moving my child out of the school!!

Carolina Forest Elementary 3

Posted March 03, 2015
- a parent
Some teachers seem very friendly and really care but most don't care. It is extremely unorganized in the morning. The drop off line is very long and if you wait long will be counted tardy. With the amount of student drop off they really need to start a bit earlier. You are counted tardy if not in your seat by 8 am and they start after 740 unloading the cars. You never know if the guard is holding traffic. It is very stressful as a parent. You never know especially when the weather is bad or you get behind traffic or a bus etc. The school should consider how this reflect on the children. Go look down the street at the traffic it's horrible. It's not fun! I bet they would have a lot less tardies and see a big improvement. If they would allow the extra 5 or so minutes. This school is an exception because there are so many drop-offs. It may improve a lot next year. There are a lot walkers who wait outside until they open the doors. Don't get there too early because you will stand in the cold waiting for the doors to open. No hallways or caf opens until 740am. I am surprised no one speaks out. My child loves the teacher this year.


Carolina Forest Elementary 1

Posted November 20, 2014
- a parent
Your child has no value beyond their report cards at this overpopulated school. Principal will back the teacher EVERY TIME, no matter what the situation is.

Carolina Forest Elementary 3

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
My 2nd and 5th grader attend Carolina Forest International Elementary School. We moved back to NC and I was very excited for my children to attend CFE since the school was excellent in the past. I cannot speak about every teacher at CFE however, the teachers that my children received this year are substandard. My daughter's 5th grade teacher is extremely unorganized, will not answer questions in class and is known as the teacher that yells a lot. It takes weeks to find out a test grade and we never have the opportunity to see the incorrect answers. My child cried the entire first week of school. My son's 2nd grade teacher does not seem to be able to communicate with parents. The only feedback I receive is he is on grade level. At the end of each report card period he receives a pile a work without feedback. Since returning to CFE I feel this school has become so focused on end of the year test scores and their image as an "international" school that they have lost track of the the importance of teaching within the classroom. Our family has experienced many schools and from personal experience this school does not meet the standard of 8/10 school.

Carolina Forest Elementary 5

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
I just read all of the comments below and I think people need to realize that common core has reared its ugly head, and the teachers are having to bend over backwards to meet all of the requirements. To blame test score solely on the teacher is just ridiculous. We have been at this school for 3 years. We love the CFIE family and have been very pleased. Parents have to step up and fill in the gaps at home.. sometimes it is hard to do, I get it... but there is only so much a teacher can do. "They really need to step up their test scores".. Come on! This is by far the best elementary school in town! I do agree that the traffic is a little ridiculous, but once you figure out what works for you (walker, car rider, etc..) it's doable.


Carolina Forest Elementary 3

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
What happen to these tests scores? Did you they fire the best teachers or something? 2012 G-3 (95%) to 2013 G-3 (55%). What happen? Carolina Forest is the best school in these area. They just really need to step up there test scores. Or have teachers work a lot harder to get test scores up.

Carolina Forest Elementary 5

Posted January 03, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school! Wonderful neighborhood too! The teachers are amazing (that doesn't mean everybody is amazing but 80% of the staff is good!!!) and that's really hard to find in jacksonville town! Principal is wonderful too! She is the rock of that school. And that is why she won the award as "The principal of the year". This is the second year for my children to attend CFE. And I can just tell you that you would not regret it. Is not any private or public school that match this school quality. I'm a proud mom to have my children's and this amazing school! Go Eagles!!!!!!!

Nearby schools

Carolina Forest Elementary
141 Carolina Forest Blvd, Jacksonville, NC  28546
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (910) 346-1778
Last modified Carolina Forest Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top