Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Covington Street Elementary

Public | K-5 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2011

What i is feel there should be curriculum books given to students starting from kindergarten so that they study and work at home also for best result. If student miss his/her class he or she cannot study that topic and it effect on report card.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Had to laugh a little at last post...this school welcomes parents and community voluneers, although a criminal record check is mandatory. My child has worked with student interns from nearby colleges and a parent volunteer helps her every morning. I am unable to volunteer because of I work long hours. This school does the best at treating the kids like they are their own. They will do everything they can to help you in a bind and always help kids with learning problems. These teachers make sure the high kids are really pushed. They don't just put kids to the side when they reach grade level. Our family is growing and I will not buy a house outside of Covington Street School District. My children are blessed to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

I heard so much about this school but i am not impressed. No parental involvment. They don't like it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2009

Covington Street Elementary School is an outstanding school. In the last 2 years there have been many much needed changes. As a parent, I am very pleased to have my son being taught by the teachers who have come on board since his arrival in kindergarten. The principal at Covington Street have one objective and that is to put the children first. She is there to see that my child gets the education he deserves and for that I am greatful. The dicipline & security that she has emplimented is a bonus. Thank you Mrs. Wilcher and staff for all that you do for the children at Covington Street School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

Covington Street has the potential to be a great school. Most of the teachers at the school work extremely hard to meet the needs of their students. However, there is a very big emphasis on standardized testing. Five or more full weeks of testing are included during the year which equals a huge waste of time. The principal at the school presents a good face for the community and parents, but one only needs to look at the low teacher retention rate to know that she is not an effective leader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Covington Steet has new leadership and several new teachers that are wonderful. I am very impressed with the school and the caring nature of always putting children first. The new prinicpal is in her second term this year and is doing an excellent job. There is no school like Covington. Education is certainly personalized and all I hear is good from the soon to be # 1 school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Academically this is one of the better schools in the district right now, but they are struggling. This county has a large teacher turnover. All that matters is the test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2006

Covington Street is an awesome school! I loved the school, the teachers, and the students. I was always made to feel welcomed when I stopped in for an unexpected visit. I was always adressed by my name!(for my daghter and I do not share the same last name) The teachers express a genuine concern for their students. If they feel there is a problem at home or scholastic wise they will reach out to the parents. There are no barriers formed between the well-to-do or the poor nor the smart and the challenged. I was very upset that my district changed and my child had to transfer schools. The schools she did attend afterwards all felt that my child has had an excellent start at Covington Street Elementary School and I pray she carries what she has learned there with her! Thank you Ms Ocean, Carlisle, and Eury!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2005

I have been more than pleased with Covington Street school. My children have always come home from school excited and full of interesting things they have learned throughout the day. The principal who has been at the school for a few years now has added some rigorous acedemic programs and has very high expectations for students. There are monthly skating parties, monthly evening library reading events, and other sporatic events. The fall carnival is the biggest hit with the kids. I work in my child's classroom, when I can and feel accepted by the teachers. They seem to welcome parents help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

Covington Street Elementary needs to use their benchmark testing as a tool and not as an activity. When a student consistently scores below 70 on a practice reading or math test, then a red flag should show up. Why doesn't this school have a reading or math recovery program where students who score low are given necessary help? The Scholars Program just isn't the answer for all students! 'No Child Left Behind' really does mean 'NO CHILD!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

i don't think parents are involved enough.They need more afternoon classes.Students are having trouble in reading.They also need help preparing for the EOG test.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students31%
Female15%
Male44%
Black6%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students34%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English31%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female25%
Male40%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students37%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students50%
Female39%
Male63%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female56%
Male63%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students47%
Female32%
Male57%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students19%
Female32%
Male11%
Black13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White24%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students23%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English19%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Academically giftedn/a

Science

All Students45%
Female26%
Male57%
Black35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 26%
White 39% 52%
American Indian 10% 1%
Hispanic 3% 14%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Jamie Synan
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (910) 277-4315

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

615 West Covington Street
Laurinburg, NC 28352
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 277-4312

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT