Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
This school is already extraordinary given the heart-breakingly thin funding, and the teachers are nothing if not devoted. The new principal, however, seems to be struggling to shoulder the legacy of the visionary that left for a swankier job :( and needs to be better informed on how to advocate for and improve on the innovative programs the school is offering. Otherwise they will wither on the vine. Need standards and performance monitoring for the Chinese immersion program, as well as the standard ed component within it! Finally, not enough resources exist to offer individualized assistance to students who excel (or struggle) in any particular academic, athletic or social endeavor. If there is only enough money for one part-time teacher to teach several classfuls of kids, advancing individual talent won't happen no matter how dedicated the teacher is. Yes, that means taxes might need to be a little higher than than the current $3 per year or so. Most families in this district are far north of the poverty line.
1 person found this helpful

Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Marvin Elementary School 3

Posted April 08, 2009
- a parent
Overall I have enjoyed having my children (3) attend this school. I think it has the potential to be a fantastic school but needs to control the turnover, which the school has had a tremendous amount of. The parent involvement is great and the general feel is very positive. Having new teachers and shifting teachers each year is beginning to pose a challenge. We are beginning to feel the brunt of the lack of experience, structure and knowledge a seasoned teacher provides to a classroom/school. I sincerely hope the school establishes stability among it's teachers, consistency from year to year and an established way of measuring and producing results (we have seen how widely it can vary depending on the teacher).

Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
The parent involvement is extremely high, the principal and the teachers are all very good. My daughter enjoys learning and has advanced very quickly in her math and reading capabilities. Unfortunately there was high turnover at the 1st grade level going into 2008, which was indicative of higher pay in Mecklenburg County. A teacher's dream to work at this school will keep the good teachers who are truly teachers versus young teachers chasing higher pay.

Marvin Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 18, 2008
- a parent
I couldn't be happier. My son is flourishing & actually loves school since he started going to Marvin Elementary. His teacher is amazing... spends so much time one-on-one with her students as she has a full-time TA. J has improved so much in his reading, writing, math, etc., in just the few months he's been there. We hope he can stay in this school for the remainder of his elementary school years.


Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2007
- a parent
The school has been through some changes in the last couple of years, but has come out even better and stronger. The new administration is highly dedicated and involved with the teachers, students and parents regularly. We are looking forward to another great year!

Marvin Elementary School 2

Posted June 01, 2007
- a parent
I have to agree with the parent writing on April 2006. With a new principal coming in I can only hope things improve.

Marvin Elementary School 3

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
We've had childern at Marvin since it opened and were proud to be Marvin parents. Sadly, the founding principal moved on in 11/05 and this school has changed. The new principal is seldom visible to the students and grudgingly available to parents - a stark contrast to her predecessor. We fear the quality of teachers will go down because of the administration. The administration lacks experience and it shows. What's happened to this school is sad. We're now considering private school for our kids!


Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Marvin Elementary School 5

Posted September 25, 2005
- a parent
My son has attended Marvin Elementary for the past three years and I enjoy it more and more each year. The school has the most enthusiastic principal who is always challenging the kids to beter themselves and parent involvement surpasses my expectations. Music, computer lab and art are one to two times a week class and teachers are of high caliber.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marvin Elementary School
9700 Marvin School Rd, Marvin, NC  28173
(704) 843-5399
Last modified Marvin Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marvin Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top