Advertisement

Lawrence Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Merry Hill

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $79,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $584.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

Would never recommenced this school to anybody. It is nothing but a two-face school. So much lying and the learning just be prepared to behind where ever you may attend school next.


Posted January 26, 2013

My son attended Lawrence for Pre-K and Kindergarten. Preschool was great but he had a really bad experience in Kindergarten as he has trouble focusing and is ADHD and the teachers would constantly get annoyed with him. The school constantly sends letters home asking for money; the tuition is outrageous and, frankly, as a previous reviewer said, it seems to be more of a school for "doctors' and lawyers' kids" because if your child doesn't have the best of everything, they aren't "cool" and as a parent I was looked down on by the teachers as well as other parents just because my child didn't wear name-brand clothing and I drove an 8-year-old car. I don't want my child raised in that kind of uppity environment, which is why we switched to public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My child went to Lawrence Academy from the 6th grade through the 12th. We had a very positive experience. The teachers expected the students to take resposibility for their work, but they were there for them if there was a need. This is how it should be. My child is attending a large university and is doing very well (4.0 GPA) and a friend of hers that is going to a different university also has a 4.0. I would highly recommend Lawrence Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Lawrence is a great school which our family has been a part of for approx. 8 Years. Students are academically prepared for any college when they graduate. We are proud to be a part of lawrence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I went to Lawrence from Pre-K to 8th grade. I'm left with very mixed feelings. The teachers I had were mostly wonderful. But many of the strong traditional teachers have left. It's really up to the child how much he/she learns. Some brilliant kids have grown up and graduated at that school and gone on to universities, but if your child needs motivation and maybe a little help, Lawrence is not the place for him/her. A lot of money goes into the school and it definitely doesn't come back to the kids. The elementary school is outstanding. Close-knit classes make for really good relationships and learning. But the high school is a joke. I honestly believe LAW would be a better school if it focused on just being an elementary school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2007

LA is very overrated. My son is now attending public school now and is having to work really hard to stay on top because the work is much harder. He says academically it is much harder than LA. So don't always think private school has a harder work load because that is not true.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

My daughter attended LA for two years. I think the school is overrated. I think that LA does not help a childs self esteem. If you do not have the best clothes, bookbags, cars etc, you just don't fit in. I would consider LA a prep school for doctors and lawyers children. They constantly increase tuition which makes it hard for middle income families to afford to send their children there. Comparing LA to other private schools, you can receive the same education from other private schools in the area for less money and your children do not feel out of place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

Overall, law meets the need of my daughter, whom is a A-B student. Parent particpation is evident especially at sports events. I love being a part. I'm totally confident that my daughter is safe staying after school for various sports/practices. Most teachers are willing to help if there is a problem. It reminds me of how school use to be and should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2003

My son is in the second grade this year at Lawrence. He has learned so many things over the past few years. Students are not only taught academically but they are also instilled with an immense sense of self-worth. I am proud to be the mother of a Lawrence Academy Student!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 53%
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 32%
Hispanic 0% 11%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (252) 482-2215

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 Avoca Farm Road
Merry Hill, NC 27957
Website: Click here
Phone: (252) 482-4748

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lawrence Academy
Merry Hill, NC



Windsor Elementary
Windsor, NC


Plymouth High
Plymouth, NC


John A Holmes High
Edenton, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT