Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Polk County Middle School 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
Needs better staff at the top. Principle utz attacked my son with a smear campaign although he has never been in trouble at the school. Never had a detention, suspension, complaint from a teacher. Oh yes that's right, Mrs. Sage said they don't like his hair and the way he expresses himself with some body art. How mature and professional they are. Maybe they should be going to school there instead of working there.

Polk County Middle School 5

Posted November 02, 2012
- a parent
Polk County Middle School is without a doubt one of, if not THE best middle school I've encountered with 4 children and 11 grandchildren. Whomever said they are not sporty....is just wrong. They're all about sports and they are GREAT. The staff and faculty is AMAZING.....LOVE YOU PCMS!!!


Polk County Middle School 5

Posted May 20, 2012
- a community member
Polk County Middle School is a wonderful school! It is a "small town" school that you gotta love! Many people make all A's and the teachers are great! Yes sometimes the food is gross but this school is safe and drama-free. There are cameras in every classroom and room except the bathrooms and locker rooms. The bus's are very safe and have cameras also. The only reason people would not like this school is because they don't like to get in trouble. The teacher's and staff are very involved with the students and the athletic department has many awards. I recommend this school! -a student

Polk County Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 07, 2010
- a community member
PCMS is a great middle school. As with all middle students, the students are going through many changes. This makes this age group of students more challenging than the elem or hs. They are coming from very small schools and sometimes have difficulty with the transition. For the most part most PCMS rise up to meet the challenge and are quite happy. Those that have parents that are more hovering may feel some apprehension. The school has a great band, athletics, bridge competition, student gov't, peer helpers, Battle of the Books and many other opportunities for students to excel. Our test scores are ranked near the top for middle schools in the state.

Polk County Middle School 4

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
My son has gone to this school for 2 years now and he seems to like it and is doing well grade wise. He likes that it is a new school and has plenty of room, and he loves the cafeteria. I have another son coming in to the school this year. I will have to see what my opinion is after he has been there for a few months. Hopefully the same!


Polk County Middle School 5

Posted July 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Polk County Middle School 2

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
My child left 5th grade at Saluda Elementary LOVING school and after half a year at Polk Middle School, she now hates school. What does that tell you? She likes most of the teachers and makes straight A's, but the drab, rigid, prison-like atmosphere and the CRUSHING load of homework has taken all the fun out of learning for her. I think it is a shame.

Polk County Middle School 3

Posted January 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Polk County Middle School 4

Posted December 04, 2008
- a community member
This school is a pretty good school besides some of the teachers at this school. The food is not that good and the education is ok. Some of the teachers have favorites and treat others different then others. So I would watch it when you come to this school. Anyway the sports are not so good because they dont really check for sporty people. So if you want to go to a school with a losing team and get treated wrong that is the school for you. But the Volleyball team was good in 2008-2009. GO WOLVERINES!

Polk County Middle School 1

Posted December 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Polk County Middle School
321 Wolverine Trail, Mill Spring, NC  28756
(828) 894-2215
Last modified Polk County Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Polk County Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top