Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


28 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northwood High 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Northwood high school has a wonderful arts ed department that has been growing during a time when other schools are either losing or reducing the size of their programs...I think that speaks volumes to the ability of the staff, students and the parents and community that support the program.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a student
Pretty amazing school, teachers and staff really care about the students, and improvements to the school happen regularly.
1 person found this helpful


Northwood High 5

Posted February 17, 2014
- a student
As an alumnus of Northwood, I can say that this school provided a really wonderful high school experience. The Arts Education program is top notch - it provided me with the opportunity to learn under the direction of very capable dance, choral and theatre instructors, and to pursue a desire to perform. As an honors student, I excelled, but was still challenged, and learned from teachers who were very involved in the education of their students, and who were willing to work with those who needed help or review outside of class. Under the leadership of former Principal Blice, Northwood saw a dramatic change, going from a school were fighting and drugs were a problem to a place where I felt incredibly safe. The staff truly care about the well-being of their students, both in and outside the classroom.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 4

Posted January 17, 2014
- a parent
Good solid school. Great staff. Opportunities to get involved.Principal and Staff very open and kind. Sports, Clubs wonderful knowledgeable guidance department. Every teacher in four years was great. One teacher in the English Department should be let go. Doesn't care about students. When they ask for help she shuts them down and doesn't guide the students. Junior's take this class usually. One teacher is unworthy. Thatxisca great record.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 5

Posted January 07, 2014
- a parent
Already recognized as one of the top public high schools in the country. Just won JFK Arts Award (only 3 in NC). My kids have access to every type of club, activity, academic class, and sport. Only thing that could get better is the age of the building, but I am sure that is coming soon! A wonderful community school!
1 person found this helpful


Northwood High 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a parent
My daughter goes to Northwood and it is a great school, i love the Art Education program and the many activities for the students to participate in. My daughter is in AVID program which is greart in preparing them for the University.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 5

Posted January 05, 2014
- a community member
Northwood continues to excel with balanced focus on academics, athletics, and the arts. This past year, student SAT scores increased by 15 points. Other recent highlights include Leah Smith, NHS Dance teacher, receiving the most votes nationwide in a the Teacher Shout Out contest sponsored by Herff-Jones; Senior Kelsey O'Daniel's selection as a member of the National High School Honors Ensemble to perform in Carnegie Hall in February; and for the second time, Northwood's selection as a Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts School of Excellence in North Carolina. It was one of only five NC schools recognized. Northwood previously received the award in 2002.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a community member
This was a wonderful highschool, I graduated from here in 2013 and loved every year. Some teachers were better at teaching their subjects than others, but over all, I did well. The administration was very helpful. Chris Blice is amazing. This school has many accomplishments under its belt, including being the school with the oldest dance program in the state. The arts program here is very strong and the clubs and sports available to students are very well rounded. This school has been a school of distinction multiple times in the past and continues to be the leader in the county as far as test scores.
1 person found this helpful


Northwood High 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
The quality of the teachers has skyrocketed in the past 3 years. Thank goodness for Mr. Blise, the principle. I hope he will be with us for many years to come. This community needed him right when we got him. N.W.H.S has prospered in acedemics, social awareness, school spirit, respect and sports. It's a great thing.
1 person found this helpful

Northwood High 4

Posted August 19, 2011
- a parent
We have two students now going to this school and they love it. Has a great Marching Band and director, plus, can't say enough about our principal who has turned this school around in a short period of time and make us proud of it. Thanks to all their hard work. PS. Love the art programs there.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northwood High
310 Northwood High School Road, Pittsboro, NC  27312
(919) 542-4181
Last modified Northwood High is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northwood High Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews.