Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Raeford, NC
Students enrolled: 680
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted November 22, 2014
- a parent
We have loved this school since my oldest daughter started 4 years ago. We occasionally hear bad reviews about the County school system in general, but I can't understand why. The Army just moved us to upstate New York, and their new school system is rated very high. My girls (kindergarten and 4th grade) are ahead of both their new classes. Kudos to Don Steed, and the faculty and staff there. Hope we can go back when we are done in New York!

Don D Steed Elementary 3

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
My child has been going to Don Steed for 2 years and I want to say I have nothing but good things to say about all of the teachers I've met there. Conversely, the office staff is a whole other matter. I was warned by several parents that bad mouthing and judging were rampant among the office staff, I had no idea the extent until I experienced it myself. The principal, Mrs. Gray is a condescending and judgemental leader. I have been bullied and threatened by staff on two seperate occasions for not conforming to her arbitrary standards and standing up for my rights as a parent. Mrs. Gray is a controlling leader behind a facade of southern hospitality. If you weren't born and raised in the area or don't fit their criteria for a "good" southern parent you will be an outsider.
1 person found this helpful


Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
Don Steed is the best school I have seen both now and in my time. Like a Don Steed Racer my daughter excelled. Mrs. Kim Gray is the best Principal ever. She has been Principal, Teacher, Mentor and Mother to all children. I wish Don Steed all the best. Congratulations to Don Steed on their 1st place in the district for Battle of the Books.

Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
My son has been attending school here for 3 years now. The staff and Principal are amazing! We attended private school before and we could not be happier with this school. They are compassionate when a student is in need for educational or health needs! If your in Hoke County, this is the Elementary you want your child to attend. We had previously had experience with one of our other children at Rockfish Elementary, and the experience was not bad but this school is exceptional compared to them!!!

Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
Are you looking to live in Hendrix Farms? Then you will love Don Steed! You are lucky to be assigned to this school!


Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
This is our 1st year at Don Steed, and so far we really like it. I really love that they are able to challenge my above average 3rd grader. The teachers, staff and principal all seem so helpful when needed. I will write another review by the end of the year so I can give more feedback.. :)

Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
Don D Steed is a very nice school, it is a very good learning environment. It has a big library and a lot of books. The principal of the school is friendly and always at the doors smiling and saying hello. It has a beautiful mural on the wall as soon as you walk in. They have a affordable after school care and tutors if your child needs help in class. They also have a mobile lab with laptop computers for the students. What I like about the school is they are always open to volunteers in the classrooms. I think it could improve by having by having after school activities and clubs.

Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
I cannot say enough good things about this school! My child attended private school before coming here, all I can say is that this school is just as good if not better than many private institutions. The teachers are very involved, the principal knows students by name. Also, the parental involvement in this school is amazing.


Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
If you live in Hoke County, this is the school you want your children to attend! The teachers personalize the information given to the students by paying close attention to what each child excels on or lacks. Then they are grouped during "on your own" time so that the teacher may focus on 2 or 3 at a time for 20 mins or so. I love the time and attention that is paid to all the children. I have visited my daughter's calssroom several times, and have always seen the teachers actively participating instead of sitting at their desk on the computer. Principal knows the children by name, they have a gifted program, and parents are involve more so than others schools in the area.

Don D Steed Elementary 5

Posted July 20, 2010
- a parent
We LOVE Don Steed! All of the teachers and staff know every child by name it seems which really helps when you have a shy child. We feel welcome from the time we walk up to the greeter at the door from the time we get back into our vehicles. We have always felt very informed about things going on in the school as a whole and in the classroom. Keep up the great work and the Family feel Mrs. Gray and everyone at Don. Steed!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Don D Steed Elementary
800 Phillipi Church Road, Raeford, NC  28376
(910) 875-1125
Last modified Don D Steed Elementary is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Don D Steed Elementary Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top