Advertisement

Cardinal Gibbons High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Raleigh

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $300,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

The school is very friendly and energetic. It is a normal high school. Popular kids and not so popular kids. There are mean kids and nice kids. There are great teacher and fair teachers. I think you are going to a Catholic education so they can work on service and have a class everyday where God is discussed. Parents should be the the main disciplinarians and people should not look to a school to straighten out their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2013

A school really shouldn't describe itself as "Catholic" if the manners and morals of the place don't fit. This isn't a voice of "self-righteousness," but just common sense. Student culture should reflect ordinary decency, not vulgarity. Conversations should be positive, about good things, not about porn, hooking up, etc. 14 year old kids from well-meaning Catholic homes should not be exposed in a few days to more than parents would've ever imagined or allowed. Once done, damage can't be taken back. And teachers and staff shouldn't sit idly by, but should intervene. There's no good reason to pay a private school price for a public school environment. Rather than pretend there's nothing wrong, a right-minded institution and diocesan leadership should work to fix what's wrong. Character matters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

This school is pretty great for students trying to get the full high school experience. The teachers are extremely helpful if a student is in need. Classes are challenging only when the student wishes to make them so (the same thing goes at most other schools.), except the hospitality of the teacher who teach the classes help the student decide which ones they want to take. The theology classes are spirit strengthening, with history and philosophy intertwined in with them. Dress code is great, khaki shorts and a white polo shirt are comfortable all seasons of the year. The only thing that needs work is the school lunches, which often run out by the last lunch period.


Posted April 11, 2013

CGHS is Catholic by name only. Practically no discipline enforced by anyone on staff. No uniforms, students wear flip-flops to class and does not enforce any type of dress code. The principal there strictly for show only. No guidance counselors for issues other than academic. Very rude woman at front office as well as in attendance/lost & found office. Make sure your student brings his/her own lunch because on at least 5 ocassions in one year there was not enough food for the last lunch period. Overall dissatisfied with what you get for $12K. Sports tryouts are unfair and pre-determined, at least that was the case for the baseball team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I went to CGHS and did well. I would have done better academically, socially, and my college options would have been the same had I gone to my base public school inside the beltline. Gibbons is a fine school in a good number of ways, but when I look back, it was an expensive lesson learned about perceived quality of education. If you have a kid who on track to go to Duke, Notre Dame, etc., then CGHS is the right place, but if you live in a well-off neighborhood in the ITB and your kid is going to a public college in NC, you're better off sending your kid to public school. As posted, most of the students come from North Raleigh, Cary, and Durham. I might have also gone to CGHS to get away from the "bad news kids" at the public school. But with the good morals given at home, I would've stayed away from those kids anyway. CGHS is a good school, but not worth the extra cash. If you're a good parent with a good kid who isn't superiorly gifted academically, and if you live in a well-off neighborhood in the ITB, you should save your money for college.


Posted September 16, 2010

Gibbons is a very good school, with an excellent administration, good sports teams, good kids and good teachers, but it does have it's downfalls like other schools. For example, many Honors and AP courses require certain PSAT scores in order to get into them, which is ridiculous since those tests don't indicate how well a student will do in the classes. The majority of the students are from North Raleigh, Cary and Durham, which may make students from other areas of the Triangle feel uncomfortable socially. Although CGHS is a very academic school, I don't see how it is any better than the majority of the Wake County Schools as far as placing kids into top-notch colleges and universities as well as preparing students for college. CGHS probably does do a better job at that than the Durham Schools and some of the Wake County Schools though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2010

My sons go to Cardinal Gibbons and they would not leave for anything! The admin and teachers actually care about he kids!! It the students are happy in a place that they spend most of the day, they will do better in school. Kids stay at school until evening because the school has so much spirit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

I was a student at Gibbons, my brother and cousin are there now. I really believe Gibbons changed my life in a positive way. In addition to preparing me for a college education, the support of the staff helped me through some difficult times. When i was going through a tough time with my family as many teenagers do, the vice principle and other teachers took notice and stepped in to make sure i had a support system. I dont know where i would be without the school staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2008

I attended Cardinal Gibbons for high school. My sister is there now along with two of my cousins and I have 2 more cousins that will enter next year. The school is outstanding. My classes were limited to about 20 students and many of my teachers were former professionals. Many of my government/history professors were former lawyers. The school places a strong emphasis on preparing students for college. Many of the AP classes are taught in college format as a college professor would. All my teachers knew both me and my family and took a strong interest in seeing me do well. The school felt like a family and allowed me to grow as a person.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

High schools do not get better than this one. My two sons thrived at CGHS. The caring environment, the academic structure and the parental involvement is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 53%
Hispanic 4% 11%
Black 3% 32%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaskan Native 1% 2%
Asian 1% N/A
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Raleigh
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1401 Edwards Mill Rd
Raleigh, NC 27607
Phone: (919) 834-1625

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Athens Drive High
Raleigh, NC



Rejoice Academy
Raleigh, NC



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT