Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
1 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cardinal Gibbons High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently a junior at Cardinal Gibbons high school in Raleigh, North Carolina. Her brother is a 2013 graduate of this fantastic institution. Everyone from the principal, assistant principal and entire staff members are genuine and caring people. The science department in this high school has created an environment where my daughter plans on having a career in the medical/science field. If it wasn't for them and the courses and the material that they make so exciting and interesting to her, she may not ever have had an interest in the science field. Dedicated and loving staff. Challenging classes. It's up to the student to want to succeed and work for very hard. There's no better school for a faith based academic environment in my mind.

Cardinal Gibbons High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is currently a junior at Cardinal Gibbons high school in Raleigh, North Carolina. Her brother is a 2013 graduate of this fantastic institution. Everyone from the principal, assistant principal and entire staff members are genuine and caring people. The science department in this high school has created an environment where my daughter plans on having a career in the medical/science field. If it wasn't for them and the courses and the material that they make so exciting and interesting to her, she may not ever have had an interest in the science field. Dedicated and loving staff. Challenging classes. It's up to the student to want to succeed and work for very hard. There's no better school for a faith based academic environment in my mind.


Cardinal Gibbons High School 4

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
The school is very friendly and energetic. It is a normal high school. Popular kids and not so popular kids. There are mean kids and nice kids. There are great teacher and fair teachers. I think you are going to a Catholic education so they can work on service and have a class everyday where God is discussed. Parents should be the the main disciplinarians and people should not look to a school to straighten out their kids.

Cardinal Gibbons High School 1

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
A school really shouldn't describe itself as "Catholic" if the manners and morals of the place don't fit. This isn't a voice of "self-righteousness," but just common sense. Student culture should reflect ordinary decency, not vulgarity. Conversations should be positive, about good things, not about porn, hooking up, etc. 14 year old kids from well-meaning Catholic homes should not be exposed in a few days to more than parents would've ever imagined or allowed. Once done, damage can't be taken back. And teachers and staff shouldn't sit idly by, but should intervene. There's no good reason to pay a private school price for a public school environment. Rather than pretend there's nothing wrong, a right-minded institution and diocesan leadership should work to fix what's wrong. Character matters.

Cardinal Gibbons High School 4

Posted October 30, 2013
- a community member
This school is pretty great for students trying to get the full high school experience. The teachers are extremely helpful if a student is in need. Classes are challenging only when the student wishes to make them so (the same thing goes at most other schools.), except the hospitality of the teacher who teach the classes help the student decide which ones they want to take. The theology classes are spirit strengthening, with history and philosophy intertwined in with them. Dress code is great, khaki shorts and a white polo shirt are comfortable all seasons of the year. The only thing that needs work is the school lunches, which often run out by the last lunch period.


Cardinal Gibbons High School 1

Posted April 11, 2013
- a parent
CGHS is Catholic by name only. Practically no discipline enforced by anyone on staff. No uniforms, students wear flip-flops to class and does not enforce any type of dress code. The principal there strictly for show only. No guidance counselors for issues other than academic. Very rude woman at front office as well as in attendance/lost & found office. Make sure your student brings his/her own lunch because on at least 5 ocassions in one year there was not enough food for the last lunch period. Overall dissatisfied with what you get for $12K. Sports tryouts are unfair and pre-determined, at least that was the case for the baseball team.

Cardinal Gibbons High School 3

Posted November 12, 2010
- a community member
I went to CGHS and did well. I would have done better academically, socially, and my college options would have been the same had I gone to my base public school inside the beltline. Gibbons is a fine school in a good number of ways, but when I look back, it was an expensive lesson learned about perceived quality of education. If you have a kid who on track to go to Duke, Notre Dame, etc., then CGHS is the right place, but if you live in a well-off neighborhood in the ITB and your kid is going to a public college in NC, you're better off sending your kid to public school. As posted, most of the students come from North Raleigh, Cary, and Durham. I might have also gone to CGHS to get away from the "bad news kids" at the public school. But with the good morals given at home, I would've stayed away from those kids anyway. CGHS is a good school, but not worth the extra cash. If you're a good parent with a good kid who isn't superiorly gifted academically, and if you live in a well-off neighborhood in the ITB, you should save your money for college.

Cardinal Gibbons High School 3

Posted September 16, 2010
- a student
Gibbons is a very good school, with an excellent administration, good sports teams, good kids and good teachers, but it does have it's downfalls like other schools. For example, many Honors and AP courses require certain PSAT scores in order to get into them, which is ridiculous since those tests don't indicate how well a student will do in the classes. The majority of the students are from North Raleigh, Cary and Durham, which may make students from other areas of the Triangle feel uncomfortable socially. Although CGHS is a very academic school, I don't see how it is any better than the majority of the Wake County Schools as far as placing kids into top-notch colleges and universities as well as preparing students for college. CGHS probably does do a better job at that than the Durham Schools and some of the Wake County Schools though.


Cardinal Gibbons High School 5

Posted July 28, 2010
- a parent
My sons go to Cardinal Gibbons and they would not leave for anything! The admin and teachers actually care about he kids!! It the students are happy in a place that they spend most of the day, they will do better in school. Kids stay at school until evening because the school has so much spirit.

Cardinal Gibbons High School 5

Posted May 15, 2009
- a student
I was a student at Gibbons, my brother and cousin are there now. I really believe Gibbons changed my life in a positive way. In addition to preparing me for a college education, the support of the staff helped me through some difficult times. When i was going through a tough time with my family as many teenagers do, the vice principle and other teachers took notice and stepped in to make sure i had a support system. I dont know where i would be without the school staff.

Nearby schools

Cardinal Gibbons High School
1401 Edwards Mill Road, Raleigh, NC  27607
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews.
Last modified Cardinal Gibbons High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top