Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sycamore Creek Elementary

Public | K-5 | 1073 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

Our daughter moved to this school from Leesville for second grade. We were concerned that a relatively new school would be a step down from Leesville. But we have been very pleased with the teachers and staff at Sycamore Creek. Our daughter loves this school. The chorus is amazing. It seems like 1/2 the school is part of it. The music teacher is retiring but I expect the new teacher will be great. She has big shoes to fill. Consider you child lucky if they get go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This is a wonderful school! We have two children that attend, and they both love it. The teachers are supportive and encouraging. The office and admin staff have been incredible and a joy to have met. Thank you Sycamore Creek, we love you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

We just started at this school on Track 2 in July, but have thus far had a great experience with both teachers, office staff and administrators. We have a kiddo without IEP or 504 but requires classroom accommodations. His teacher is willing to tag-team daily goals. Both teachers are experienced and willing to learn whatever it takes to help our kiddos. The principal is a STRONG leader and is clearly highly involved. The expectations of children to achieve and the willingness to find tools to help them do that is unsurpassed in our experience which consists of 5 elementary schools in 2 states.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

SCES is has great teachers and leadership. The PTA is engaged and encourages involvement but doesn't bombard you with requests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2013

love this school went their and mom works their asoume school!!!! LOVED IT SO SO SOS OS OSO MUCH


Posted January 4, 2013

We are so excited to be a part of SCES. The teachers are excellent & have extremely challenging programs. I volunteer at the school every chance that I can and have always received a warm & welcoming greeting from office staff. Parents & family members are encouraged to volunteer. I love the Daily 5 curriculum that was started this year. The principal & assistant principal are amazing and show strong leadership. We had to attend another elementary before but am so happy to now be a part of this awesome/amazing school. I am very encouraged to see the way that staff interacts with each other. Again, we are very fortunate to be a part of this wonderful school. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

I agree with the other 2 parents in reference to the EOG test scores. Once my child needed extra help the environment became hostile. The principal and staff are extremely rude and act like know it alls, when they don't know anything about any family at the school. The teachers are inexperienced and forced us to transfer out of the school. The administration loves when families leave the school, because those families won't bring down the test scores. They basically run the families out of the school that need help, so this is how the school scores so high on EOG's. It is awful that a school is ran like this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

My son is in kindergarten at SCES and we love the school! His teacher is AMAZING! She is patient, kind and communicates extremely well with the parents. My son loves everything about the school and is extremely happy there. He has learned an unbelieveable amount in the time he has been there. We look forward to many more years in such an awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2012

I agree with the parent that stated that this school is focused on only EOG scores. The teachers are not top notch as advertised. The office staff is rude and unkind to students/parents. The principal and administration discourage parental involvement. It was extremely difficult to receive a volunteer schedule after multiple requests. I am disappointed with this school and have started to look for other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

If you like your child to grow up in a box, than this is your school! The teachers are not well educated on how to deal with children or parents. Most of the teachers we had the past few years were all new to the school. The principal is unwilling to work with parents. If your child has any behavioral or learning disabilities, they make the families miserable, so they switch schools. This school is only based on test scores and extremely unwilling to help children that need any assistance. We always wonder how our child received 3's all year long and the teacher recommended them for retention. This clearly shows the incompetency of the teachers. The administration only cares about test scores and if your child is unable to be successful on the EOG's, they push you out of the school. So that is how this particular school achieves the high test scores. The communication is awful with parents. Good luck to any children at this school that perform outside the box!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Incredible school !!! We've been here and I have never seen a school as good as this and I've been to a lot. Sycamore exceeds my expectations in so many ways !! Amazing staff, safe area, great teachers, great parents!!! Amazing!! We are so thankful and our kid loves it !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

SCES is a small piece of utopia for both the children who attend and the parents who have children attending this wonderful school. It is fair to say that we have very high expectations for the kind of learning environment that our children are in and SCES has exceeded our expectations on all levels. The teachers are dedicated and committed to challenging all students, the administration is responsive to inquiries, as well as the teachers. And the parents are very involved! We are so fortunate to call SCES our home! Crocks Rock!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

My son just finished his final year at his school. He loved to go to school every day. It has been the best environment for him to learn and grow. The principal and vice principal(although leaving) are a great team. The music teacher is awesome as well as the other teachers there. The extra time that the teachers put into this school is great and you can see they really care about the students. The PTA is very active and helps to make Sycamore Creek the great school that it is. Most of the teachers love to have parents help out. We will be sending our youngest to this school when the time comes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

Sycamore Creek Elementary is a great school where the students love going there and teachers are happy too. They have an awesome principal and vice principal. This school welcomes and encourages parent and community involvement. A very large percentage of students have scored at or above grade level on their End of Grade tests. And this school has a character program to reward students for displaying good character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I can't say enough wonderful things about SCES! The principal and assistant principal are both fantastic, the teachers are dedicated, seem well-supported by the administration and also happy with their work environment (NC ratings of teacher satisfaction support this), and the PTA is very strong. There's a great sense of community and it's a terrific environment for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Great school with teachers that guide their students to excellence! Thank you Sycamore Creek.... OH, I almost forgot - this school is led by a wonderful principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

To sum up Sycamore Creek in a few words... awesome school, awesome staff, awesome administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

183 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
>95%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students77%
Female76%
Male78%
Black54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial85%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities31%
Non-disabled students81%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant77%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students71%
Female77%
Male64%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial46%
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities38%
Non-disabled students74%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students89%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students72%
Female71%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities44%
Non-disabled students75%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male80%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities36%
Non-disabled students86%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students69%
Female64%
Male73%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities27%
Non-disabled students76%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Academically gifted95%

Science

All Students71%
Female64%
Male78%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities41%
Non-disabled students77%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant71%
Academically gifted-95%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Black 5% 26%
Hispanic 5% 14%
Two or more races 5% 4%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian 0% 1%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10921 Leesville Road
Raleigh, NC 27613
Website: Click here
Phone: (919) 841-4333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Goddard School
Raleigh, NC


Hilburn Academy
Raleigh, NC


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT