Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Monroeton Elementary

Public | PK-5 | 486 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2012

Monroetone is an EXCELLENT school! I have 2 children that currently attend one in 2nd grade and the other in 4th. This school has been the best school out of the other 2 they have attended, The staff know all my kids by name and tell them to have a great day as we are leaving! Parent/Teacher connection is awesome as well! They keep me highly informed about my childrens progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

My husband and I moved specifically so we could be in Monroeton's district. Our son is finishing up 3rd grade at Monroeton, and this is the 3rd elementary school he has attended (all 3 in Rockingham county) since 4 year Kindergarten. Monroeton is far and away superior to either of the other 2 schools. We have had no problems with bullies (a major issue when he was at Douglass) his teachers are wonderful. There is a great sense of community, and it seems that the staff actually care about the kids. When my son switched to Monroeton at the end of the 1st 6 weeks of 2nd grade, his grades were very low. He was reading at a 1st grade level and had a D in math. By the end of the 2nd 6 weeks, he was reading on a 3rd grade level and had all A's & B's. He also won the 2nd grade Art prize at the end of the year! The school often has activities for parental involvement. Parents are welcome to volunteer, or come and eat lunch with students. Now at the end of the 3rd grade, he is still making A's and B's, and is reading at a 6th grade level! My four year old will be going to Kindergarten this fall and I am very excited for him to be joining his big brother at this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

My children attended a different elem. school before this one and excelled. They both have had issues with teachers at this school and discipline problems--other children's discipline problems. Bullies galore. My oldest son has moved on to middle school and is once again loving school. I hope that after this year my other child will also have the same success. I regret ever moving them to this school. The administration has lost control of the students, and since the last principal left, there is little compassion. It's just business.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

Almost all of the staff at Monroeton is wonderful. They care for the students and have wonderful technology in place for the kids. I think it's a beautiful school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

My son is now in the third grade at Monroeton and I have enjoyed every years so far. The teachers are wonderful, and the rest of the staff as well. I am impressed, and has been, with the security in the school. My middle child started Monroeton this year and I felt really secure about her going to school. I would recommend Monroeton out of all the schools in Reidsville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Monroeton Elementary school is a very good school. This school provides alot of good incenatives for the students. It is a safe school, but my daughter will not be attending this school year. ONLY due to us moving into Caswell County. I think it is the best elementary school in Rockingham County. The teachers are nice and try to get to know you on a one on one basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

I am a lesbian mother w/ a lesbian partner and this school makes it so easy on us! They do not look at us like we are alien and they make sure that our children are not treated any different! They have several after school activities. My children love this school.. and they are glad to be at Monroeton vs. there old school (Lawsonville) The school is very clean and it is overall a Wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 44% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 40% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students39%
Female53%
Male27%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically giftedn/a

Reading

All Students41%
Female59%
Male27%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities-5%
Non-disabled students50%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Academically giftedn/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students43%
Female38%
Male48%
Black25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students46%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted-95%

Reading

All Students41%
Female49%
Male34%
Black33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Academically gifted83%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female74%
Male48%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students65%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant60%
Academically gifted90%

Reading

All Students43%
Female51%
Male35%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students45%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%
Academically gifted77%

Science

All Students39%
Female39%
Male40%
Black36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Non-disabled students41%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English40%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Academically gifted65%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 North Carolina used End-of-Grade (EOG) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and grades 5 and 8 in science. The EOG is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of North Carolina. Students must pass the grade 8 EOG test in order to graduate from high school. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, data for that group is not reported.

Source: North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 52%
Black 15% 26%
Hispanic 9% 14%
Two or more races 4% 4%
American Indian 0% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A56%
Source: NCDPI, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of Distinction (2005)
  • School of Distinction (2004)
  • School of Excellence (2003)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mr Cecil Kemp
Fax number
  • (336) 634-3043

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8081 U.S. 158
Reidsville, NC 27320
Website: Click here
Phone: (336) 634-3280

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT