Advertisement

The O'Neal School

Private | PK-12 | 443 students

Our school is best known for it's college preparatory academic program.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2014

As first-year O'Neal parents of a middle schooler, we have been very pleased with our experience thus far. Having had our daughter at other local schools in the area, the academic experience at O'Neal has been superior, with faculty providing challenging material in a supportive environment. The only reason issue we have had was there were a few unexpected mid-year faculty/staff transitions, however, the headmaster stepped in and handled them in a manner that created minimal impact for students and day-to-day school functioning. Additionally, as a middle-class military family, we were concerned about the potential of the school tending to be too "elitist", however, the faculty, staff, and administration have treated not only us, but all members of the community with dignity, and in a very welcoming manner. Our child has also experienced a positive social transition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

We are lower school parents and are very impressed by the quality of O'Neal. Having been to other similar sized private schools out of state I will not hesitate to say that O'Neal is at least as good if not better. We feel it was definitely the best choice for this area. In particular I am satisfied by the Lower School leadership and the overall sense of discipline that we see. Our teacher is very responsive and really knows our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

It reads that some people have had a bad experience at The O'Neal School. Maybe it wasn't the right fit for them. Not every school is a good fit for everyone. The O'Neal School has high expectations of students and parents. It teaches my child a strong sense of value and independence. I am very happy with my experience at the school. No, not everyone gets their way with the principals. Sometimes people say no to you. It is a good lesson for my child to learn that you do not get everything you want in life. I hope everyone who attends O'Neal has as good an experience as my family has now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

There was a mass exodus from the school this past year. As has been said from other reviews, the leadership is terrible and is starting to show by the number of students and teachers leaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2013

Unless you want to pay a lot of money just for a safe environment, the public schools in the area are better. The principal is terrible - zero social skills, zero character, and zero care for alumni. The teachers are good and do the best they can with this true lack of leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2013

O'Neal offers small class sizes and caring teachers.Emphasis is placed on learning not testing. The teachers know your child and will help them to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

Teachers are great, and the environment at the school is safe. I give the teachers 5 stars and the principal 1. The school really does have a lot of potential under the right leader. The Board of the school will eventually get the school back on track if they replace him with a positive, inspirational, and ethical principal. The area is starting to have private school alternatives. I would definitely check them out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2013

Learning how to learn is what I feel Middle School is all about. Teaching our kids to how to readjust their study style for different subjects, handle failure (or just not getting the grade they though they deserved), learning how to ask questions to make sure they are clear on assignments or understand concepts, and giving themselves time to process a new or challenging topic. These are all skills that extend way beyond the classroom and what I feel O'Neal's teachers pass on to their students on a regular basis. I think that says a lot about the school because it is teaching the kids to dig a little deeper into themselves for answers. In essence, to become a bit more responsible for their learning than perhaps they have been before. That, in turn, builds self confidence in their own ability and character. Something all kids today can use a little more of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

All of our children attend The O'Neal School and we've been very pleased with the education they're receiving. We appreciate that staff has been able to juggle schedules to ensure our children are being educated based on their abilities rather than making them follow a model for all students. Our kids are very happy and are appropriately challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

We as parents have the great fortune to be able to provide our daughters the ability to go to the O Neal School. Beginning with the administration office, the consistence and relative ease offered gives unmatched results and a comfortable environment for both parents and students. The principles that we have met through our daughters in both the high school and middle school exhibit the characteristics of adept role models and affective leaders. Ready to take of all challenges, the O Neal School has provided a wonderful institute of learning for students. As many things, improvement is also a requirement as well. The Parents Association undoubtedly makes a great effort to engage families. However, at times the option of change will go unwanted in favor of more rigid ideals. As a parent, striving for change and growth is an understood quest for optimal results are of high priority, but through the PA it seems as though attempts at change and enhancement have gone lax. They as an association must focus more on the children they are ultimately attempting to benefit, rather than creating an organized social club for parents (part 1)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2012

I have been very disappointed in Oneal. It is not worth the money and the principal did not solve the problems that were pin pointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2011

When I first moved to the area I looked into the O'Neal school as a place to enroll my kids. They were not helpful at all, and when I asked about the tuition rates, they acted as if they were no longer interested in talking with me. Like the old saying "If you have to ask, you can't afford it".


Posted March 9, 2010

For 5 years now I have had 3 children in school at The O'Neal School. Needless to day the school was a real let down so much so that I took my kids out in the middle of school. I am a very young mom and the kids in the upper school became close to me and would come to me with all their problems. It became a real eye opener to me when I found out the high school dances where dropped because they didn't know how to deal with the kids. For one year of school it cost me $40,000.00 for my 3 kids to go to school their. When I see all these great teachers leaving The O'Neal School to teach at a public school because they get paid more I knew there was something wrong. Great buildings poor education. Submitted by a parent of former students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

All three of my children have gone all the way through The O'Neal School and have attended the first college of their choice. My oldest was totally involved in every aspect of school from clubs to sports and continued that in college, where she graduated with degrees in math and computer technology. My second child is a Marine Biologist who graduated top of her class, and my 'baby' is a junior in college already working in her field of Social Services. They were given, and accepted, opportunities at The O'Neal School that prepared them not only for university life, but for life itself. My wife and I can't imagine them ever having gone to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My daughter started attending O'Neal last year in PreK and is currently enrolled in Kindergarten. This school is excellent and addresses the needs of the whole child. My daughter thoroughly enjoys school and is academically ahead of her peers in many other schools; both in and out of NC. She can already read and attends Spanish class regularly. This school teaches in a creative academic environment where children are thirsty for more and their individual needs are met due to the smaller classroom sizes. My daughter has so much fun learning that she doesn't realize she did a science experiment, read a map, graphed a chart, enjoyed music class and spent time building strong friendships all in one day of Kindergarten. The environment is extremely safe and nurturing; O'Neal is like a second family and has helped my daughter not survive, but thrive during the hardships of military deployments.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

Not only am I a parent of three children who attend the school, but also a graduate of O'Neal. I am very pleased with the school as a whole. My children are very happy and enjoy school. I am also pleased with the curriculum and the willingness of the teachers to help the students whenever needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

As a parent who has been at The O'Neal School for ten years, we are very pleased with the school. It is a wonderful environment to bring my children to every day. There is nothing in the area which can compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2009

My daughter graduated from the O'Neal School two years ago and because of the small class size, the personal attention given by the faculty, and the attention given to developing an independent 'whole' child, she was more than well-prepared for college and continues to blossom every day. I now have a senior at the school who wakes up with a smile on his face every morning and goes to school early even if it is not required. Anyone who has a high school senior knows what a joy it is for a parent to see his/her 18 year old this happy. It tells me the O'Neal School is doing things right. I can't imagine my kids at another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

this school is wonderfull in the following. . . *Achademics *A balance between sports and school work *Sports *Keeping the enviroment save and clean
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2008

Outstanding school! You willl not find any better in the Sandhills.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 53%
Black 4% 32%
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 1% 11%
American Indian/Alaskan Native 0% 2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 8% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 92% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UNC-Chapel Hill
NC State University
Appalachian State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Alan Barr
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $16000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Academic Scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UNC-Chapel Hill
NC State University
Appalachian State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 8%
4 year college - 92%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 Airport Rd
Southern Pines, NC 28388
Website: Click here
Phone: (910) 692-6920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

O'neal School
Southern Pines, NC







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT